Fair  /  06/03/2019  -  06/06/2019

BIO International Convention

The BIO International Convention, the world's largest biotechnology trade fair, will take place in Philadelphia, USA from June 3 – 6, 2019. The Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences will present its research in the area of therapeutic development, medical engineering, healthy foods, environmental research, and biobased economy at the »German Pavilion«. A special focus this year will be on »preclinical models«. In-silico, in-vitro, and in-vivo models are available to clarify specific questions on mechanisms of action or safety issues.

The Fraunhofer institutes mentioned below will present their research at the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft’s booth. The focus in 2019 will be on the following topics:

Fraunhofer ITEM
Focus lung and airway diseases and infectious diseases

  • Process development and manufacturing of active biopharmaceutical ingredients and IMPs according to GMP
  • Preclinical models
  • Early-phase clinical trials

Also discover more about the Fraunhofer Institute for Toxicology and Experimental Medicine’s ITEM, Hannover Medical School’s (MHH), and the Institute for Glycomics (IfG) of Griffith University in Gold Coast, Australia‘s iCAIR® (Fraunhofer International Consortium for Anti-Infective Research) project. This research alliance has the goal to close the gap between the discovery of new substances and the further development of drug candidates by pharmaceutical industry. The focus is on infectious diseases that are caused by antibiotic-resistant pathogens.

https://www.item.fraunhofer.de/en/lighthouse-projects/icair-project.html

Fraunhofer IZI-BB

The Bioanalytics and Bioprocesses Branch of the Fraunhofer Institute for Cell Therapy and Immunology IZI-BB focusses on the development of platform technologies and biotechnological applications in agriculture, food safety and environmental testing as well as drug development and diagnostics. Fraunhofer IZI-BB has been developing point-of-care diagnostics for more than a decade. Our goal is to provide new technology platforms that deliver fast and accurate results based on our customer needs. Among those developments are e.g. a quantitative 15-sec Immunoassay format with multiple body fluids as specimens, or an in-vitro diagnostic (ivD) platform containing a handy cartridge and suitable for the detection of DNA, RNA and proteins. Furthermore, we have developed a platform for expressing hard to obtain proteins via cell-free synthesis. Products such as membrane proteins, site specific modifications as well as antibodies have been implemented successfully into the platform.

Booth number: 2008 at the German Pavilion

More information:

BIO International Convention
German Pavilion

Messe  /  3.6.2019  -  6.6.2019

BIO International Convention

Die BIO International Convention, die weltweit größte Messe für Biotechnologie, findet in diesem Jahr vom 3. bis zum 6. Juni in Philadelphia, USA, statt. Der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences präsentiert seine Forschung in den Bereichen Therapeutika-Entwicklung, Medizintechnik, gesunde Lebensmittel, Umweltforschung und Bioökonomie am »German Pavilion«. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt in diesem Jahr auf dem Thema »präklinische Modelle«. Es stehen In-silico-, In-vitro- und In-vivo-Modelle zur Verfügung, insbesondere zur Klärung spezifischer Fragestellungen zu Wirkmechanismen oder Sicherheitsfragen.

Am Stand der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft präsentieren folgende Fraunhofer-Institute ihre Forschung. Diese Themen stehen in 2019 im Mittelpunkt:

Fraunhofer ITEM
Schwerpunkt Erkrankungen der Lunge und Atemwege sowie Infektionserkrankungen

  • Prozessentwicklung und GMP-konforme Herstellung biopharmazeutischer Wirkstoffe
  • Präklinische Modelle
  • Frühe klinische Studien

Erfahren Sie ebenfalls mehr zum Projekt iCAIR® (Fraunhofer International Consortium for Anti-Infective Research) des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Toxikologie und Experimentelle Medizin ITEM, der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover (MHH) und des Institute for Glycomics (IfG) der Griffith University in Gold Coast, Australien. Diese Forschungsallianz hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die Lücke zwischen der Entdeckung neuer Substanzen und der Weiterentwicklung zu Arzneimittelkandidaten durch die pharmazeutische Industrie zu schließen. Im Fokus stehen Infektionserkrankungen, die durch antibiotikaresistente Erreger verursacht werden.

https://www.item.fraunhofer.de/de/leuchtturm-projekte/icair-project.html

Fraunhofer IZI-BB
Der Institutsteil für Bioanalytik und Bioprozesse des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Zelltherapie und Immunologie IZI-BB entwickelt Innovationen in den Bereichen Lebensmittel- und Umweltanalytik, Diagnostik, Wirkstoffentwicklung und Verfahrenstechnik. Dazu zählt auch die Erforschung verschiedenster Point-of-Care Technologien. Neben der Entwicklung neuer diagnostischer Verfahren bietet das Institut Kunden und Partnern den Transfer bestehender Tests (z.B. ELISAs, DNA-Microarrays, etc.) auf miniaturisierte Formate an. Dafür steht bspw. ein quantitativer 15-Sek. Immunoassay für multiple Körperflüssigkeiten zur Verfügung, sowie eine in-vitro-Diagnostik (ivD)-Plattform für die Detektion von DNA, RNA oder Proteinen. Außerdem bieten wir eine Plattform für die Synthese schwer zugänglicher Proteine über die zellfreie Proteinsynthese an. Verschiedene Proteine wie bspw. Membranproteine, Antikörper oder auch Proteinmodifizierungen können über diese Technologie effizient und schnell dargestellt werden.

Stand Nummer 2008 am German Pavilion

Weiterführende Links:

BIO International Convention
German Pavilion auf der BIO