Business Unit 2

Regenerative Medicine: The Challenge of Qualified Biobanking and Controlled Self-Healing

Overview

All phases of tissue growth have a particular meaning for the body’s own self-healing powers. Researchers in the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences have managed to influence all these phases – from the stem cell and its differentiation to a specific cell structure, to tissue and through to the implant – by systematic stimulation and control mechanisms. For each stage of this process, the Group can utilize research and development results on novel therapeutic approaches, its own methods, and its specialist know-how. Particularly good results have been obtained with adult glandular stem cells. After targeted differentiation, these are currently being tested in cardiac infarction and skin replacement models. Complex cell-therapeutic concepts have proven beneficial, for example, to control immunological processes and to treat tissue damage after stroke.

To support healing processes or as a replacement in case of extensive tissue loss, the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences can grow biological tissue, in particular cartilage and skin, in its own GMP laboratories where all necessary regulatory expertise is available. Up to now, this has been a manual process for the most part, but the development of novel, fully automated tissue engineering plants is already well advanced.

Biomarkers play a key role in the life sciences. They can be successfully identified and validated by comparing as many samples and case cohorts as possible. A prototype of networked biobanking is the CRIP bio-database (Central Research Infrastructure for molecular Pathology), which is used to store data obtained by standardized sampling and sample asservation procedures. Actual samples are stored and preserved for future use in EUROCRYO, the European research database maintained by the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. The Group thus has at its disposal a biobank which is unrivaled worldwide regarding its system and content.

 

-> Back to top of page

 

The cell is the basis

Regenerative medicine aims to copy the healing and repair processes which continually take place in the human body. These natural healing and defense mechanisms may perform differently in every individual body. If a body has reached the limits of its own natural capabilities for dealing with a particular lesion, further healing processes can be stimulated or mimicked with the means provided by regenerative medicine. Biological replacement cells or tissues are used and the body’s own repair processes are stimulated so as to restore tissue or organ functions.

The core expertise of the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences includes work with stem cells, and in particular adult stem cells. The extensive experience of the Group with these systems forms the basis for the development of novel handling systems and devices for the transfer, differentiation, and dedifferentiation as well as for the cloning of single cells.

Qualified biobanking

The Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences has worldwide unique expertise in the technology and processes of cryoconservation of cells and small tissue segments. Cells may thus be stored without loss of quality and subsequently used for research, biotechnological applications, or therapeutic purposes. In the European research cryobank of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, EUROCRYO, valuable and unique collections of cells (live samples) are stored in a way designed to meet the requirements of modern biotechnology. Retrospective investigation of samples, therefore, provides relevant information even after decades. Core elements of the underlying concept are miniaturization and highly parallel sample storage. Thanks to novel storage substrates, the microsystem-based cryotechnology developed for this purpose allows the number of possible cryosamples to be increased by a factor of 100 during the first miniaturization step. To rule out any risk of sample confusion, an electronic storage unit with a capacity of up to 1 GB and which is readable and writable even at temperatures around -180 °C, is kept together with the samples. The methods developed are characterized by high vitality rates and are thus particularly well suited to stem cell research and preservation. The services offered by the Group based on this expertise include the design, construction monitoring, and setting up of cryobanks and cryo-specific equipment for medical, biology, and drug research applications right up to industrial scaling.

New strategies for targeted stem cell differentiation

Recent findings in stem cell research have provided evidence that a very efficient method for making stem cells differentiate into a particular cell type is the coculturing of stem cells with other cells or tissue biopsies. The hypothesis is that important external signals controlling the identity of a cell are given locally by the target tissue; which means, for example, that an adult stem cell penetrating into an injured heart will receive the decisive signals to differentiate into a heart cell from the heart tissue itself.

In this research area, the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences benefits from the results and experience gained during many years of stem cell research. Glandular stem cells are cocultured in direct or indirect contact with tissue biopsies – depending on the type of cell and tissue. In the case of direct coculture, tissue biopsies are added to adherently growing cells in the culture containers. For indirect coculture, tissue biopsies and stem cells are placed in separate coculturing containers to enable spatial separation. This system allows an exchange of messenger substances and signals, however, at the same time it prevents the biopsy cells from getting through to the stem cells. This method has up until now been successfully used to induce an accumulation of nerve cells via brain biopsies and an accumulation of cardiomyocytes via heart biopsies. First results of these investigations are already being implemented in the development of strategies for heart tissue regeneration. To this end, stem cells are cultured on biodegradable meshes and induced to differentiate into cells similar to cardiomyocytes. These meshes are currently being tested in a model of myocardial infarction.

Reprogramming of cells

Not only stem cells, but all therapeutically relevant cell populations in general bear the hope of enabling successful treatment of diseases which so far have been considered untreatable. This holds true in particular for diseases involving a loss of cells and thus of functionality. The possibilities for therapeutic use, however, go far beyond the actual replacement of cells. Benefits have also been demonstrated for the prevention or mitigation of degenerative processes.

A major challenge for biomedicine in this context is to make adult stem cells available in sufficient quality and quantity for therapeutic purposes. The Fraunhofer scientists have developed a method for producing patient-specific, individualized stem cell lines from somatic cells without viral integration or genetic modification (induced pluripotent stem cells – iPS). These iPS cells display the typical characteristics of embryonic stem cells without, however, engendering ethical controversy.

A special focus in this research work is the generation of iPS without the use of viruses. Different types of reprogramming, including those with specially developed media compositions, can be explored, for example fusion, nuclear transfer, and stem cell extracts.

Immunodiagnostics and cellular diagnostics

For the demonstration of cells and cell functions in tissues and the prediction of therapeutic responsiveness, the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences offers a variety of analytical and diagnostic techniques: cell-imaging diagnostics and follow-up, cell function analysis, innovative tissue typing, and pharmacogenomic investigations on inflammatory processes. Using the cells and tissue cultures developed in the Group, the Fraunhofer scientists can investigate the functionality of diagnostic and therapeutic concepts in complex systems close to the real-life situation.

Immunomodulation and cell therapy

The scientists of the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences develop strategies for immunological tolerance induction, tolerance monitoring, and controlling the functions of the immunological system. These enable successful immunological management of tissue rejection reactions. Through cell isolation and preparation, cell apheresis, and cell proliferation in vitro, the Group further develops therapeutic concepts. To this end, the scientists of the Group use cell suspensions, mainly with progenitor and stem cells. A focus of research in this area is on new cell-therapeutic approaches to treat tissue damage resulting from stroke. With its possibilities for low-temperature conservation and a standardized and patented isolation method the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences has at its disposal a variety of stem cell cultures which are available nowhere else in the world. These are cultures of different tissues from widely differing animal sources right through to human stem cell cultures, with excellent growth rates, good differentiation possibilities, and suitable for long-term culturing.

Manufacture of cellular therapeutic agents

The clinical testing of medications for novel therapies requires top-quality clinical investigational drug products, which must be manufactured in compliance with GMP regulations. The Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences not only has clean-room facilities for the production of biopharmaceuticals, but also clean-room facilities specially designed for the manufacture of cellular and tissue preparations and complying with the most recent technical and regulatory standards. A special feature of these facilities is the subdivision into separately accessible clean-room suites, meaning that individual cellular products for each client can be continuously provided. A consistently high quality level is ensured by an excellently equipped quality laboratory, highly qualified staff, and a comprehensive quality management system.

The treatment of oncological diseases with cellular therapeutic agents is one of the most recent treatment strategies, which is currently being tested worldwide in clinical studies. The Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences has the capability to produce and optimize both cytokine-induced killer cells and dendritic cells specifically for each patient. All steps from process development through to acquiring the manufacturing license are accomplished by the same organization.

An advanced stage has been reached in the development and practical implementation of a GMP manufacturing process for an autologous cellular therapy for ischemic stroke.

Risk analysis for regenerative strategies

The development of novel regenerative strategies requires the biocompatibility of the products to be tested as comprehensively as possible in murine and human systems. This assures speedy development of the products up to their preclinical and clinical application. In the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences, risk profiles of products are being generated by using in vitro and in vivo analyses. They take into account, for example, immunological tolerability, cytotoxic, proliferative, and stimulating effects on primary, stem, or tumor cells, as well as thrombogenic, hemolytic, or genotoxic activity. A large variety of specialized mouse models are employed for complementing in vivo experiments.

In addition, the Group collaborates with a competent partner who has an accredited diagnostic laboratory in order to carry out clinical studies.

The bio-database CRIP – “Central Research Infrastructure for molecular Pathology”

“Bio-bases” are collections of biological materials and corresponding data.

An infrastructure across different biobases and institutions – also referred to as “bio-database” – is gaining more and more importance in biomedical research and development for tasks such as the identification and validation of biomarkers. The “Central Research Infrastructure for molecular Pathology” CRIP is such a bio-database, which has been operated inside the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences since 2007 and is being further developed as a prototype for other research areas. The rights of the partner bio-bases regarding the respective data and samples stored in the bio-database continue to be safeguarded, as are the personal rights of the sample donors and the data privacy regulations. Studies on multifactorial diseases and individualized treatments require ever increasing numbers of samples and case cohorts, which a single clinic would not be able to collect or only over a very long time span. This is why medical bio-bases in particular have to also be networked to each other by means of bio-databases. Prerequisites for this include standardized sampling and sample asservation procedures as well as a data network which fulfills the relevant ethical and legal standards.

Human tissue samples are of particular relevance for research as they enable investigation of both locally restricted diseases (such as cancer or inflammation) and organ-specific manifestations of systemic conditions. In contrast to other body substances such as blood or serum, tissue samples are not reproducible. The consolidation of tissue banks in bio-databases – for example in the “Central Research Infrastructure for molecular Pathology” (CRIP) – therefore aims to overcome a bottleneck in research.

-> Back to top of page

 

Tissue engineering

The term tissue engineering refers to the reproduction of natural tissue from primary cells under laboratory conditions. This tissue can be used to support healing processes, to regenerate tissue that has become dysfunctional, and to replace destroyed tissue such as burnt skin. The procedure to manufacture a ready-for-use tissue engineering product involves two main phases. The first phase consists of establishing and verifying a procedure that leads to the desired product; the second phase consists of adapting this procedure to the medical regulatory requirements. This process is subject to a high degree of formalization and authorized documentation. The Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences as a competent research partner in medicine and medical technology develops tissue engineering processes and products, including appropriate carrier structures; GMP laboratories for the manufacturing of autologous transplants are also available.

Another focus is the development of three-dimensional test systems with organ-specific properties; these are suitable for in vitro testing of substances in medical engineering, cosmetics, and the pharmaceutical and chemical industries.

Manufacturing technology for tissue engineering

Tissue engineering has been a focus of research for several years already, and many biotechnological laboratories are producing tissues such as cartilage or skin. So far, however, the cultivation of transplants such as skin grafts is a costly process, because most steps are performed manually. The provision of tissue structures at reasonable price and above all quickly continues to be one of the major challenges of tissue engineering. Only by complete revision of the production technology, processes, and methods via interdisciplinary collaboration of researchers from the life sciences and the engineering sciences will it be possible to unleash the enormous potential of tissue engineering in an integrated approach.

This challenge has been taken on by the scientists in the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences: together with colleagues from the Fraunhofer institutes for manufacturing engineering and automation technology they are working on a fully automated tissue production process. The machine-based process has been subdivided into individual modules, so that the requirements for the manufacture of different tissues can be met. Further development work is required before the final machine for “tissue engineering on demand” will be ready for the market. But it is already clear today that this will open up a variety of new possibilities in the medical area.

Automated tissue engineering is also an interesting option for chemical, cosmetics, pharmaceutical, and medical companies that require tolerability testing of their products.

New stem cell sources for tissue engineering

The treatment of acute and chronic skin lesions has long been a domain of secondary health care with sophisticated plastic-reconstructive interventions. Every year, thousands of burned individuals and hundreds of thousands of patients with chronic wounds of different origins require their wounds to be closed in order to prevent loss of fluid and electrolytes, infections, metabolic dysfunction, immunosuppression, pain, and amputation. The development and use of artificial skin substitutes that are capable of achieving the most relevant properties of human skin allow wounds to be closed immediately and support regeneration.

Biological skin substitutes are three-dimensional systems consisting, for example, of collagen fibers and elastin, enabling immediate wound closure and serving as a fiber scaffold for permanent regeneration of functional autologous dermis. A further optimization of artificial skin substitution methods might be able to be achieved by combination with stem cells differentiating into skin structures or releasing growth factors that would accelerate and/or improve the regeneration process. One focus of the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences in the area of cell differentiation is the characterization and utilization of adult stem cells from exocrine glandular tissue. Multi-potent stem cell populations with similar properties can be isolated from pancreas tissue, salivary glands, and skin. Studies in this area have already demonstrated that a skin substitute colonized with pancreatic stem cells leads to accelerated wound healing and improved vascularization of total skin defects in a murine animal model.

Biomaterials are opening up new possibilities

The interaction between the material and the relevant biological system is of pivotal importance for the success of tissue engineering. By combining expertise in materials science and experience in cell biology, the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences develops bioactive, biocompatible, or bioinert materials for use in medicine and medical engineering – one example of the possibilities of interdisciplinary cooperation within the Group. Using plasma technology, for example, implant materials can be prepared in such a way that proteins will not adsorb non-specifically; on the other hand, a coating with growth factors may be applied so as to promote the adhesion of mammalian cells. The biocompatibility of surfaces is of great importance also for artificial extracellular carrier structures. Only good biocompatibility will guarantee the proper functioning of the adjacent biological systems.

-> Back to top of page

Geschäftsfeld 2

Regenerative Medizin: Herausforderung qualifiziertes Biobanking und kontrollierte Selbstheilung

Zusammenfassung

Alle Stadien der Gewebebildung sind für die Selbstheilungskräfte des Organismus von eigener Bedeutung. Den Forschern des Fraunhofer-Verbunds Life Sciences ist es gelungen, alle diese Stadien, von der Stammzelle und deren Differenzierung zum Zellverbund, zum Gewebe bis hin zum Implantat, durch gezielte Anregung und Kontrolle zu beeinflussen. Auf jeder Stufe dieser Abfolge kann der Verbund auf Ergebnisse aus Forschung und Entwicklung zu neuen therapeutischen Ansätzen, auf eigene Techniken und spezielles Know-how zugreifen. Besonders gute Erfolge wurden mit adulten, aus Drüsengewebe gewonnenen Stammzellen erzielt. Gezielt differenziert sind sie derzeit in einem Herzinfarkt- und einem Hautersatzmodell im Test. Komplexe zelltherapeutische Konzepte haben sich zum Beispiel bei der Steuerung immunologischer Vorgänge oder zur Behandlung von Gewebeschäden nach Schlaganfällen bewährt.

Biologische Gewebe, besonders Knorpel und Haut, können zur Unterstützung des Heilungsprozesses oder als Ersatz bei großen Gewebeverlusten beim Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences mit allen entsprechenden arzneimittelrechtlichen Kompetenzen in eigenen GMP-Laboren gezüchtet werden. Bisher erfolgte dies überwiegend manuell, doch die Entwicklung neuer vollautomatisierter Anlagen für das Tissue-Engineering ist weit fortgeschritten.

Biomarker spielen in den Life Sciences eine Schlüsselrolle. Ihre Identifizierung und Validierung gelingt durch den Vergleich möglichst großer Probenzahlen und Fallkohorten. Ein Prototyp für vernetztes Biobanking ist die Biodatenbank CRIP (Central Research Infrastructure for Molecular Pathology). Hier werden Daten gespeichert, die in standardisierten Verfahren für Probenahme und Asservierung gewonnen wurden. Reale Proben werden in EUROCRYO, der europäischen Forschungsdatenbank bei der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, für spätere Verwendungszwecke eingelagert und erhalten. Damit steht eine in System und Inhalt weltweit einzigartige Probenbank zur Verfügung.

 

-> zurück zur Übersicht

 

Die Zelle ist die Basis

Heilungs- und Reparaturvorgänge, die im menschlichen Organismus kontinuierlich ablaufen, sind die Vorbilder für die regenerative Medizin. Diese körpereigenen Heilungs- und Abwehrmechanismen sind individuell unterschiedlich ausgeprägt. Sind bei einzelnen Läsionen die Grenzen der körpereigenen Möglichkeiten erreicht, können weitere Heilungsvorgänge mit den Mitteln der regenerativen Medizin stimuliert oder imitiert werden. So werden biologische Ersatzzellen beziehungsweise -gewebe eingesetzt und körpereigene Reparaturprozesse stimuliert, um Gewebe- und Organfunktionen wiederherzustellen.

Zu den Kernkompetenzen des Fraunhofer-Verbunds Life Sciences gehört der Umgang mit Stammzellen, insbesondere mit adulten Stammzellen. Die umfassende Erfahrung des Verbunds mit diesen Systemen bildet die Grundlage für die Entwicklung neuer Handhabungssysteme und Geräte für den Transfer, die Differenzierung und Dedifferenzierung sowie für das Klonen von Einzelzellen.

Qualifiziertes Biobanking

Der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences verfügt über eine weltweit einmalige Kompetenz in der Technik und den Verfahren zur Kryokonservierung von Zellen und kleinen Gewebesegmenten. Die Zellen können so ohne Qualitätseinbußen gelagert und anschließend für Forschungszwecke, biotechnologische Anwendungen oder zur Therapie eingesetzt werden. In der europäischen Forschungskryobank der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, EUROCRYO, werden wertvolle und einzigartige Zellsammlungen (Lebendproben) den Erfordernissen der modernen Biotechnologie entsprechend angelegt. Selbst nach Jahrzehnten ist damit eine retrospektive Untersuchung der jeweiligen Proben noch aussagekräftig. Kernelemente des Konzepts sind die Miniaturisierung und eine hochparallele Probenablage. Die hierfür entwickelte mikrosystembasierte Kryotechnologie erlaubt mit Hilfe neuartiger Lagersubstrate die Anzahl der möglichen Kryoproben im ersten Miniaturisierungsschritt um den Faktor 100 zu erhöhen. Um Verwechslungen auszuschließen, wird zusammen mit den Proben eine elektronische Speichereinheit abgelegt, die bis zu 1 GB aufnehmen und auch bei Temperaturen von -180 °C gelesen und beschrieben werden kann. Hohe Vitalitätsraten zeichnen die entwickelten Verfahren aus, sie eignen sich daher ganz besonders für die Stammzellforschung und -konservierung. Vor dem Hintergrund dieser Erfahrung bietet der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences die Planung, Baubegleitung und den Bau von Kryobanken und Kryospezialgeräten für die Medizin, Biologie und Pharmaforschung bis zur industriellen Skalierung an.

Neue Strategien zur gezielten Differenzierung von Stammzellen

Aktuelle Erkenntnisse der Stammzellforschung belegen, dass eine sehr effiziente Methode, Stammzellen in einen bestimmten Zelltyp differenzieren zu lassen, die Kokultur der Stammzellen mit anderen Zellen oder Gewebebiopsien darstellt. Dabei stützt man sich auf die Vermutung, dass wichtige externe Signale, die die Identität einer Zelle steuern, lokal vom Zielgewebe ausgehen; dass also beispielsweise eine adulte Stammzelle, die ins geschädigte Herz einwandert, vom Herzgewebe selbst die entscheidenden Signale erhält, in eine Herzzelle zu differenzieren.

Der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences kann in diesem Forschungsfeld auf die Ergebnisse mehrjähriger Erfahrung in der Stammzellforschung zurückgreifen. Glanduläre Stammzellen werden – je nach Zell- und Gewebetyp – in direktem oder indirektem Kontakt mit Gewebebiopsien kokultiviert. Bei direkter Kokultur werden Gewebebiopsien zu adhärent wachsenden Zellen in die Kultivierungsgefäße hinzugegeben. Für eine indirekte Kokultur werden Gewebebiopsien und Stammzellen in separate Kokulturgefäße platziert, um eine räumliche Trennung zu ermöglichen. Diese erlaubt zwar den Austausch von Botenstoffen und Signalen, verhindert aber gleichzeitig den Übergang von Zellen aus der Biopsie zu den Stammzellen. Die Methode konnte bisher erfolgreich zur induzierten Anreicherung von Nervenzellen über Hirnbiopsien wie auch von Herzmuskelzellen durch Herzbiopsien angewandt werden. Die ersten Ergebnisse dieser Untersuchungen finden bereits Anwendung in der Entwicklung von Strategien für die Herzgeweberegeneration. Dazu werden Stammzellen auf bioabbaubaren Netzen gezüchtet und in Kardiomyozyten-ähnliche Zellen differenziert. Diese Netze werden derzeit in einem Herzinfarktmodell getestet.

Reprogrammierung von Zellen

Nicht nur Stammzellen, sondern alle therapeutisch relevanten Zellpopulationen im Allgemeinen, bergen die Hoffnung, Krankheiten erfolgreich zu behandeln, die bisher als unbehandelbar galten. Das trifft insbesondere für Krankheiten zu, die mit einem Verlust an Zellen und damit an Funktionalität verbunden sind. Allerdings gehen die Möglichkeiten des therapeutischen Einsatzes weit über den eigentlichen Zellersatz hinaus. Auch bei der Verhinderung oder Abmilderung degenerativer Prozesse konnte ein Nutzen nachgewiesen werden.

Eine wesentliche Herausforderung hierbei ist für die Biomedizin, adulte Stammzellen in ausreichender Qualität und Quantität für therapeutische Zwecke zu gewinnen. Von den Fraunhofer- Wissenschaftlerinnen und -Wissenschaftlern wurde ein Verfahren entwickelt, um patientenspezifische, individualisierte Stammzelllinien aus somatischen Zellen nicht-viral und nicht genetisch modifiziert zu erzeugen (induzierte pluripotente Stammzellen – iPS). Diese iPS-Zellen zeigen die typischen Charakteristika wie embryonale Stammzellen, ohne dabei ethische Kontroversen zu berühren.

Im Fokus der Forschungsarbeiten steht insbesondere die Herstellung von iPS ohne den Einsatz von Viren. Verschiedene Arten der Reprogrammierung, unter anderem mit eigens entwickelten Medienkompositionen, können untersucht werden, zum Beispiel Fusion, Kerntransfer und Stammzellextrakte.

Immun- und Zelldiagnostik

Zur Darstellung von Zellen und Zellfunktionen im Gewebe und für die Prognose der therapeutischen Ansprechbarkeit bietet der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences verschiedene Analyseund Diagnosemethoden an: bildgebende Zelldiagnostik und Verlaufskontrolle, Zellfunktionsanalytik, innovative Gewebetypisierungen sowie Pharmakogenomik von Entzündungen. Anhand der vom Verbund entwickelten Zellen und Gewebekulturen können die Wissenschaftler die Funktionalität von diagnostischen und therapeutischen Konzepten praxisnah an komplexen Systemen untersuchen.

Immunmodulation und Zelltherapie

Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler im Fraunhofer- Verbund Life Sciences entwerfen Strategien für die immunologische Toleranzinduktion, das Toleranzmonitoring und die Steuerung von Funktionen des Immunsystems. Damit gelingt das immunologische Management von Gewebeabstoßungsreaktionen. Mit Hilfe von Zellisolierung und -aufbereitung, Zellapherese und Zellvermehrung in vitro entwickelt der Verbund Therapiekonzepte weiter. Die Wissenschaftler setzen dabei Zellsuspensionen, vornehmlich mit Vorläufer- (Progenitor-) und Stammzellen, ein. Einen Schwerpunkt bilden dabei neue zelltherapeutische Ansätze für die Behandlung von Gewebeschäden durch Schlaganfälle. Mit der Möglichkeit der Tieftemperaturkonservierung und einer standardisierten und patentierten Isolationsmethode kann der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences auf eine Reihe weltweit nur hier verfügbarer Stammzellkulturen zugreifen. Es handelt sich hierbei um Kulturen aus verschiedenen Geweben unterschiedlichster Tiere bis hin zu humanen Stammzellkulturen mit ausgezeichneten Vermehrungsraten, guten Differenzierungsmöglichkeiten und Langzeitkultivierbarkeit.

Herstellung von Zelltherapeutika

Die klinische Prüfung von Arzneimitteln für neuartige Therapien erfordert hochwertige klinische Prüfpräparate, die nach GMP-Richtlinien hergestellt werden müssen. Im Fraunhofer- Verbund Life Sciences stehen neben Reinraumanlagen zur Produktion von Biopharmazeutika auch Reinraumanlagen zur Verfügung, die speziell für die Herstellung von Zell- und Gewebepräparaten konzipiert wurden und die nach neuesten technischen und regulatorischen Standards ausgerüstet sind. Eine Besonderheit ist hierbei die Unterteilung der Anlagen in separat zu begehende Reinraumsuiten; so kann das individuelle Zellprodukt jedes einzelnen Kunden kontinuierlich zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Gleichbleibend hohe Qualität wird durch ein exzellent ausgerüstetes Qualitätslabor, hochqualifiziertes Personal und ein umfassendes Qualitätsmanagementsystem sichergestellt.

Die Behandlung onkologischer Erkrankungen mit Zelltherapeutika ist eine der aktuellsten Behandlungsstrategien, die derzeit weltweit in klinischen Studien geprüft wird. Im Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences besteht die Möglichkeit sowohl zytokininduzierte Killerzellen als auch dendritische Zellen patientenspezifisch herzustellen und zu optimieren. Sämtliche Arbeiten von der Prozessentwicklung bis zur Erlangung der Herstellerlaubnis erfolgen alle aus einer Hand.

In der fortgeschrittenen praktischen Umsetzung befindet sich der Aufbau eines GMP-konformen Herstellungsprozesses für eine autologe Zelltherapie des ischämischen Schlaganfalls.

Risikoanalyse regenerativer Strategien

Im Rahmen der Entwicklung neuer regenerativer Strategien ist es notwendig, eine möglichst umfassende Biokompatibilitätsprüfung der Produkte in murinen und humanen Systemen vorzunehmen. Dieses sichert eine zügige Entwicklung der Produkte hin zu präklinischen oder klinischen Anwendungen. Im Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences werden mit Hilfe von In-vitround In-vivo-Analysen Risikoprofile von Produkten erstellt. Diese berücksichtigen zum Beispiel die immunologische Verträglichkeit, zytotoxische, proliferative und stimulierende Effekte auf Primär-, Stamm- oder Tumorzellen sowie thrombogene, hämolytische oder genotoxische Aktivität. Für komplementierende Experimente in vivo werden verschiedenste, spezialisierte Mausmodelle genutzt.

Darüber hinaus steht ein kompetenter Partner mit einem akkreditierten diagnostischen Labor bei der Umsetzung von klinischen Studien zur Verfügung.

Biodatenbank CRIP – »Central Research Infrastructure for molecular Pathology«

»Biobanken« sind Sammlungen biologischer Materialien und zugehöriger Daten.

Eine Biobank- und Institutionen-übergreifende Infrastruktur – auch als »Biodatenbank« oder »meta-Biobank« bezeichnet – wird in der biomedizinischen Forschung und Entwicklung zunehmend für Aufgaben wie zum Beispiel die Identifizierung und Validierung von Biomarkern benötigt. Mit der »Central Research Infrastructure for molecular Pathology« CRIP wird innerhalb des Fraunhofer-Verbunds Life Sciences seit 2007 eine solche Biodatenbank betrieben und als Prototyp auch für andere Forschungsfragestellungen weiterentwickelt. Die Rechte der Partner-Biobanken einer Biodatenbank an ihren jeweiligen Daten und Proben bleiben ebenso gewahrt wie die Persönlichkeitsrechte der Probenspender und die Datenschutzgesetze. Zur Erforschung multifaktorieller Erkrankungen und individualisierter Therapien werden immer größere Probenzahlen und Fallkohorten benötigt, die in einzelnen Kliniken gar nicht oder nur über einen sehr langen Zeitraum gesammelt werden könnten. Daher müssen insbesondere medizinische Biobanken zusätzlich über Biodatenbanken untereinander vernetzt werden. Voraussetzung dafür sind unter anderem standardisierte Verfahren für Probenahme und -asservierung sowie ein Datenverbund, der den einschlägigen ethischen und rechtlichen Standards genügt.

Humane Gewebeproben sind von besonderer Bedeutung für die Forschung, denn an ihnen lassen sich sowohl lokal eingrenzbare Erkrankungen (wie zum Beispiel Krebs oder Entzündungen) als auch die organspezifische Ausprägung systemischer Erkrankungen untersuchen. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Körpersubstanzen wie Blut oder Serum sind Gewebeproben nicht reproduzierbar. Daher muss die Zusammenführung von Gewebebanken in Biodatenbanken – zum Beispiel mit der »Central Research Infrastructure for molecular Pathology« (CRIP) – einen Engpass für die Forschung überwinden.

-> zurück zur Übersicht

 

Tissue Engineering

Unter Tissue Engineering versteht man die Nachzüchtung von natürlichen Geweben aus primären Zellen unter Laborbedingungen. Mit diesem Gewebe können Heilungsprozesse unterstützt, kann funktionsuntauglich gewordenes Gewebe regeneriert sowie zerstörtes Gewebe, beispielsweise bei Verbrennungen der Haut, ersetzt werden. Der Weg zu einem anwendungsreifen Tissue-Engineering-Produkt gliedert sich in zwei Hauptabschnitte. Im ersten erfolgt die Etablierung und Verifizierung eines Verfahrens, das zum gewünschten Produkt führt; der zweite Abschnitt umfasst die Anpassung dieses Verfahrens an die arzneimittelrechtlichen Vorgaben. Hierzu gehört ein hoher Grad an Formalisierung und autorisierter Dokumentation. Der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences bietet als kompetenter Forschungspartner für Medizin und Medizintechnik die verfahrenstechnische Entwicklung von Tissue-Engineering-Produkten einschließlich geeigneter Trägerstrukturen an; GMP-Labore zur Herstellung autologer Transplantate stehen ebenfalls zur Verfügung.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die Entwicklung von dreidimensionalen Testsystemen mit organspezifischen Eigenschaften; diese eignen sich für die In-vitro-Substanztestung in Medizintechnik, Kosmetik, Pharma- und Chemieindustrie.

Produktionstechnik für das Tissue Engineering

Tissue Engineering steht bereits seit einigen Jahren im Fokus der Forschung, in vielen biotechnologischen Labors werden Gewebe wie Knorpel oder Haut gezüchtet. Bisher ist aber die Züchtung von Transplantaten beispielsweise Hauttransplantaten teuer, da die meisten Schritte des Verfahrens manuell durchgeführt werden. Die kostengünstige und vor allem schnelle Bereitstellung von Gewebestrukturen ist nach wie vor eine der größten Herausforderungen des Tissue Engineerings. Nur durch eine vollständige Überarbeitung von Produktionstechnologie, Prozessen und Methoden in einer interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit von Forschern der Lebens- und Ingenieurswissenschaften ist das enorme Potenzial des Tissue Engineerings in einem integrierten Ansatz zu erschließen.

Dieser Herausforderung haben sich die Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen des Fraunhofer-Verbunds Life Sciences gestellt: zusammen mit ihren Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus den Fraunhofer-Instituten für Produktions- und Automatisierungstechnologie arbeiten sie an der vollautomatisierten Herstellung von Geweben. Der maschinelle Ablauf ist in einzelne Module unterteilt, so dass die Anforderungen zur Herstellung unterschiedlicher Gewebe erfüllt werden können. Bis die fertige Maschine für das »Tissue Engineering on Demand« auf den Markt kommt, ist noch weitere Entwicklungsarbeit zu leisten. Klar ist aber heute schon, dass dadurch der Medizin eine Reihe neuer Möglichkeiten eröffnet wird.

Darüber hinaus ist das automatisierte Tissue Engineering auch für Chemie-, Kosmetik-, Pharma- und Medizintechnikunternehmen interessant, die die Verträglichkeit ihrer Produkte testen müssen.

Neue Stammzellquellen für das Tissue Engineering

Die Behandlung akuter und chronischer Hautwunden ist lange eine Domäne der sekundären Versorgung durch aufwändige plastisch-rekonstruktive Eingriffe gewesen. Jährlich bedürfen Tausende von Brandverletzten sowie Hunderttausende von Patienten mit chronischen Wunden unterschiedlicher Genese eines Wundverschlusses um Flüssigkeits- und Elektrolytverluste, Infektionen, Stoffwechselentgleisungen, Immunsuppression, Schmerzen und Amputationen zu verhindern. Die Entwicklung und der Einsatz von artifiziellen Hautersatzmatrices, die die wesentlichen Eigenschaften menschlicher Haut erreichen, ermöglichen einen sofortigen Wundverschluss und unterstützen die Regeneration.

Biologische Hautersatzmatrices sind dreidimensionale Systeme, beispielsweise aus Collagenfasern und Elastin, welche einen sofortigen Wundverschluss ermöglichen und als Fasergerüst für die permanente Regeneration funktionaler autologer Dermis dienen. Eine weitere Optimierung künstlicher Hautersatzverfahren könnte durch die Kombination mit Stammzellen erreicht werden, die in Hautstrukturen differenzieren oder durch Abgabe von Wachstumsfaktoren die Regeneration beschleunigen und/oder verbessern. Ein Fokus des Fraunhofer-Verbunds Life Sciences im Bereich der Zelldifferenzierung ist die Charakterisierung und Nutzbarmachung von adulten Stammzellen aus exokrinem Drüsengewebe. Multipotente Stammzellpopulationen mit ähnlichen Eigenschaften lassen sich aus Pankreasgewebe, Speicheldrüse und Haut isolieren. Hier konnte bereits gezeigt werden, dass eine mit pankreatischen Stammzellen besiedelte Hautersatzmatrix im Mausmodell für eine beschleunigte Wundheilung und eine bessere Vaskularisierung von Vollhautdefekten sorgt.

Biomaterialien eröffnen neue Möglichkeiten

Für den Erfolg des Tissue Engineering spielt die Wechselwirkung zwischen Material und dem jeweiligen biologischen System eine herausragende Rolle. Durch Kombination materialwissenschaftlicher Kompetenzen und zellbiologischer Erfahrungen werden bioaktive, biokompatible oder bioinerte Materialien für den Einsatz in Medizin und Medizintechnik entwickelt – ein Beispiel für die Möglichkeiten fachübergreifender Kooperation innerhalb des Fraunhofer-Verbunds Life Sciences. So werden zum Beispiel Implantatmaterialien mit Hilfe der Plasmatechnik so präpariert, dass Proteine nicht unspezifisch adsorbieren; andererseits sorgt eine Beschichtung mit Wachstumsfaktoren dafür, dass Säugerzellen besser anwachsen. Die Biokompatibilität der Oberflächen ist auch bei künstlichen extrazellulären Trägerstrukturen von enormer Bedeutung. Nur durch gute Biokompatibilität ist die Funktionsfähigkeit der angrenzenden biologischen Systeme gewährleistet.

-> zurück zur Übersicht