Business Unit 4

The New Potential of Biotechnology: The Challenge to Learn from Nature for Industrial Exploitation

Overview

An increasing number of vegetable raw materials are becoming interesting as feedstocks for high-quality products. The refinement of these highly diverse raw materials requires completely new synthesis processes. Learning from processes occurring in nature, where complex reactions are single-step, enzymatic, and take place under mild conditions, the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences is developing novel biotechnology processes geared to the principles of “sustainable development” and “responsible care”. The Group is laying the foundations to make sure that the required biomass is not only reliably available in the required quantity and quality, but also suits the requirements of the biotechnological manufacturing processes to the highest possible degree. One aim of the Fraunhofer experts is to transfer process steps into the plant production system. This would enhance the competitiveness of the final products. Blue biotechnology likewise occupies a fixed place in the services offered by the Group. Marine microorganisms – algae, bacteria, and zooplankton – are certainly interesting options for mass production of new materials. Enzyme-catalyzed reactions instead of the traditional synthesis paths can often substantially reduce the cost of production and waste disposal. The Group’s potential to optimize existing enzymes and systematically search for novel enzymes is based on methods of, for example, genomics, metagenomics, and proteomics. Enzyme optimization for industrial use is achieved by means of molecular evolution and combinatorial libraries.

This know-how is particularly beneficial for research in the new domain of yellow biotechnology, i.e. insect biotechnology. In this area, a so far unknown number and variety of new enzymes and antibiotic substances are providing the impetus for intensive research activity. Completely in line with the sustainability concept, the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences will search for new possible uses for residues from the food industry, agriculture, and forestry for its clients, including development of the required processes up to pilot scale. In the near future, the critical step from the laboratory to industrial application will be supported by the Fraunhofer Center for Chemical Biotechnological Processes, Leuna, Germany. The concept of this biorefinery is highly flexible, allowing a wide range of different raw materials, according to requirements, to be used and tested as feedstocks for chemical products.

-> Back to top of page

 

Renewable raw materials and valuable residues

Surging crude oil prices and crises in the petroleum-producing countries have increased people’s awareness of dependence and of the finiteness of our natural resources. The consequent search for novel raw materials for industry has led to surprising results, showing very impressively that nature’s diversity is far from having been completely exploited. Furthermore, in view of ever more stringent regulations and the worldwide quest for sustainable development, the design of sustainable industrial processes in the chemical, pharmaceutical, and food industries is becoming more and more important.

Biomass is the only alternative to fossil raw materials for the manufacture of chemical and pharmaceutical products. Plants with their enormous diversity offer a broad range of potential raw materials. Photosynthesis leads to a huge spectrum of widely differing chemical compounds, which so far have only been partially exploited. A particularly interesting option is the use of these renewable raw materials as chemical intermediates for polymers and special chemicals. A challenge for the future is to expand the industrial use of raw materials from plants, while at the same time safeguarding the production of food and animal feed and protecting areas of unspoiled nature.

In order to improve and increase the industrial use of bio-based raw materials and biotechnological processes, new approaches for research, development, and manufacturing are required: approaches geared to the general principles of “sustainable development” and “responsible care”.

For the use of renewable resources, the product tree is a lot more branched than that for the mineral oil-based line. Synthesis processes taking place in nature can be exploited, for example, by isolating and, if need be, modifying individual fractions of renewable resources; another path using enzymatic biodegradation leads to platform products – the base products for biotechnological or chemical syntheses.

Both these possibilities for exploring new sources of raw materials are being intensively studied by scientists in the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences.

White and green biotechnologies going hand in hand

The content of valuable components in a plant for use in industrial biotechnology depends on the type of plant and on its treatment by the grower.

The basis for targeted improvement of a plant’s properties includes systematic analysis of its metabolic pathways and comprehensive knowledge of its ingredients and their respective properties. This has been facilitated by technological progress in functional genomics, proteomics, and metabolomics. The efficiency of biotechnological manufacturing processes in industry can be increased by tailoring the plants which provide the raw material to the particular manufacturing process. Matching the plant properties to the technological and commercial requirements enables specific and broader use of biogenic raw materials for industrial biotechnology. A transfer of process steps into the plant as a production system is another option. Both approaches are being pursued within the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences.

Blue and white biotechnologies acting together

The industrial production of novel ingredients by using marine organisms will become more and more important in the future. Marine organisms will be employed not only for the identification of such new ingredients, but will also be put to use for mass production. In this context, marine microorganisms such as single-cell algae or bacteria are of particular interest, as too are zooplankton or cultures of cells isolated from marine organisms. The Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences is in a position to maintain the corresponding organisms and to develop and offer special customized reactors for this purpose.

Productive use of valuable residues

Besides the targeted search for plants as sources of alternative raw materials, researchers in the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences have an interest in plant residues from the food industry, forestry, and agriculture. These often still contain valuable compounds such as proteins, fibers, oil, or phytochemicals, which can be further exploited. For further use in technical applications, they first have to be isolated using appropriate methods with preservation of their valuable properties. We have wide experience in the fractionation of different vegetable raw materials and vegetable residues from the food industry. The development of fractionation processes on a laboratory scale and also the scale-up to pilot scale are among the services offered by the Group.

In many cases, modification of proteins and other vegetable raw materials prior to their technical or energetic use can contribute to achieving the desired physico-chemical properties. The Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences develops innovative processes for the chemical and, in particular, biotechnological modification of useful plant fractions, to enable high-quality and low-cost substitution of petroleum-based products.

Sustainable ways to products with multiple benefits

Like higher plants, microalgae bind atmospheric carbon dioxide and produce a large variety of valuable chemical compounds such as dyes, unsaturated fatty acids, and active pharmaceutical ingredients via photosynthesis. They grow faster though, and have higher productivity than plants on land. This makes them an interesting alternative source of raw materials for industrial, white biotechnology.

Already today, native and modified biogenic raw materials are used in many different sectors: applications range from energetic uses as solid and liquid fuels to industrial uses as lubricants, adhesives, and coating materials. Due to our many years of experience and comprehensive expertise, the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences is a competent and attractive partner for the development, characterization, and industrial implementation of these innovative products.

-> Back to top of page

 

Enhanced range of raw materials for biotechnological processes

The main tasks in the biotechnological area are to make available low-cost substrates and to develop new or improved enzymes. Further challenges are to develop new biotechnological processes and optimize existing ones, to couple these with chemical processes in order to achieve process integration, and to develop new processing methods and optimize existing ones.

Biotechnological processes use sugars as a carbon source, obtained either directly from plants or created from starch-containing plants by hydrolysis of polysaccharides. In view of the worldwide debate about the competing use of sugar- and starch-containing plants for industrial purposes, it is becoming increasingly important to make available alternative raw materials for fermentation based on lignocellulosis. The institutes of the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences are investigating and developing novel enzymes and methods for substrate digestion based on lignocellulosis.

New biocatalysts

Microorganisms and their enzymes are of major importance for the manufacture of chemical and pharmaceutical products using biotechnological methods. New applications, for example the recovery or modification of special chemicals, require new or improved enzymes. Enzymes as bio-catalysts offer the benefit of high substrate specificity and stereo-selective reaction. This makes them attractive for technical industrial solutions such as the synthesis of enantiopure products or intermediates. The use of enzymes frequently allows substantial cost reductions both in production and waste disposal processes. Furthermore, this process technology opens up completely new market opportunities. In fact, it is often enzymes that make it possible for certain products to be manufactured at all.

The search for microorganisms and their enzymes involves traditional methods, but also innovative methods such as the complete screening of genes or proteins, which is referred to as genomics, metagenomics, and proteomics.

In order to develop efficient and low-cost processes, the Fraunhofer researchers are concentrating on the following:

  • Identification and characterization of new or improved industrial enzymes, in particular by establishing culturing methods for microorganisms which to date have not been able to be cultured
  • Optimization of enzymes suitable for industrial use by molecular evolution and combinatorial libraries
  • Development of manufacturing and purification processes for recombinant technical enzymes
  • Immobilization of enzymes and coupling of biocatalysis and chemocatalysis



Experts reckon that the percentage of microorganisms which have not yet been able to be cultured is about 99% of the whole population. To enable this promising genetic resource to be used, Fraunhofer researchers in cooperation with partners from industry have set up metagenomic gene libraries based on environmental samples. For this purpose, they isolated the microbial DNA directly from the environmental sample and introduced it into a cultivable host species.

Metagenomics as an advanced level of genome research in prokaryotes systematically provides access to the whole complexity of genetic information obtained from microbial communities. By means of high-throughput assays, the gene libraries can be screened for desired enzyme activities. Using this method, a large number of enzymes have already been identified which were not in the known databases and thus can now be used without limitations.

Furthermore, the genomic information obtained in sequencing projects is used systematically in the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences in order to isolate novel enzymes for technical applications.

Enzyme diversity of yellow biotechnology

Insect biotechnology, also referred to as yellow biotechnology, is a promising research area of the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences. Insects are the organisms having the highest biodiversity. Four to six million species of insect exist, compared to only about 250,000 plant species. The evolutionary success of insects is due on the one hand to the large variety of antibiotic substances which provide effective protection against infection, and on the other hand to a large variety of enzymes which help them exploit almost any organic material as a food source. The exploration of this diversity of molecules occurring in insects and the systematic exploitation for red, green, and white biotechnology is a challenge for researchers.

The enormous diversity of enzymes which enables insects to use almost any organic material as a food source represents another very interesting resource for white biotechnology. Due to their novel properties, these may help open up new or expanded application areas, make methods of synthesis more economic, and enable material or energy recovery from waste material which hitherto has been used insufficiently or not at all.

Process development for fermentation and downstream processing

High demands on product quality and a renaissance of natural materials for industrial applications require new and efficient production and processing methods. The Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences is an attractive partner in this regard, thanks to its expertise in process development for biocatalysis, fermentation, and downstream processing as well as in upscaling up to pilot scale. It develops solutions for optimized fermentation and for the isolation, separation, and purification of biotechnical products using mechanic and thermal separation techniques. Membranes and membrane processes in particular are applied, because these processes can be used specifically to suit the particular chemical and physical properties of the product (size, charge etc.). Examples are membrane filtration, electrodialysis, and combinations of membrane with conventional separation techniques or with powerful chromatographic methods.

Scheme 1: Renewable raw materials for chemical products. Source: Fraunhofer IGB



-> Back to top of page

 

Fraunhofer Center for Chemical Biotechnological Processes, Leuna

Petroleum is a highly coveted feedstock for numerous products such as plastics, lacquers, detergents, adhesives, and cosmetics. Its availability, however, is limited. Renewable raw materials such as straw, wood, microalgae, and many others have the potential to replace petroleum. Chemical companies all over the world are working to develop novel processes. Today, however, the use of renewable raw materials on an industrial scale is still a financial and technological challenge for companies.

Aiming to support the critical step from the laboratory to industrial application, the German Land Saxony-Anhalt, the German federal government, and the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft have been planning to set up a chemical biotechnological process center which is now being established as Fraunhofer Center for Chemical Biotechnological Processes CBP at the German chemical industry center Leuna. The biorefinery concept, which can be used very flexibly, will offer innovative possibilities for the future use of biological raw materials based on oils and fats, cellulose, and of starch- or sugar-containing raw materials as precursors for chemical products. This will allow the development of new products and processes involving industrial biotechnology up to the point that they are ready for industrial use. The CBP will thus contribute to reducing our dependence on fossil fuels and to reducing carbon dioxide emissions.

By providing the required infrastructure and pilot plant/mini-plant facilities, the Fraunhofer CBP will enable cooperation partners from research and industry to develop and scale up biotechnological processes for the use of renewable raw materials up to industrial scale. Seven process plants for process development and scale-up will be set up consecutively.

A critical factor for the success of the biorefinery concept is collaboration with partners from industry from the very beginning. For every project, the industrial partners perform economic and ecological sustainability analyses. The design and conception of the different plants in each case allows a comprehensive efficiency analysis that can be extrapolated to large-scale production situations. In fact, this provides ideal preconditions for technology transfer.

www.cbp.fraunhofer.de

-> Back to top of page

Geschäftsfeld 4

Das neue Potenzial für die Biotechnologie: Herausforderung Lernen von der Natur für die industrielle Nutzung

Zusammenfassung

Immer mehr pflanzliche Rohstoffe werden als Ausgangsmaterialien für hochwertige Produkte interessant. Für die Veredlung dieser sehr unterschiedlichen Rohprodukte sind ganz neue Synthesehierarchien erforderlich. Nach dem Vorbild der Natur, wo komplexe Reaktionen einstufig unter milden Bedingungen enzymatisch erfolgen, entwickelt der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences die neuen Verfahren der Biotechnologie in Übereinstimmung mit den Leitlinien »Sustainable Development« und »Responsible Care«. Der Verbund schafft die Voraussetzungen dafür, dass die erforderliche Biomasse nicht nur in Menge und Qualität zuverlässig zur Verfügung steht, sondern auch möglichst weit an die Erfordernisse der biotechnologischen Produktionsverfahren angepasst ist. Ein Ziel der Fraunhofer-Spezialisten ist, Verfahrensschritte in das pflanzliche Produktionssystem zu verlagern. Dies würde zur Konkurrenzfähigkeit der Endprodukte beitragen. Auch die blaue Biotechnologie hat ihren festen Platz im Leistungsspektrum des Verbunds. Marine Mikroorganismen – Algen, Bakterien und Zooplankton – sind durchaus für die Massenproduktion neuer Stoffe von Interesse. Enzymkatalysierte Reaktionen statt klassischer Synthesewege können Produktions- und Entsorgungskosten oft deutlich senken. Das Potenzial des Verbunds zur Optimierung vorhandener und zur gezielten Suche nach neuen Enzymen umfasst Methoden wie Genomics, Metagenomics und Proteomics. Enzyme werden durch molekulare Evolution und kombinatorische Bibliotheken für den industriellen Einsatz optimiert.

Besonders vorteilhaft kann dieses Know-how für die Forschung auf dem neuen Feld der gelben, der Insektenbiotechnologie eingesetzt werden. Hier geben neue Enzyme und antibiotisch wirksame Substanzen in bisher nicht gekannter Zahl und Vielfalt Anlass zu intensiver Forschungstätigkeit. Ganz im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit bietet der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences die Suche nach neuen Nutzungen für Rest- und Abfallstoffe aus der Lebensmittelindustrie, Landund Forstwirtschaft an, zusammen mit der entsprechenden Prozessentwicklung bis hin zum Pilotmaßstab. Den Schritt vom Labor in die industrielle Produktion wird in naher Zukunft das Fraunhofer-Zentrum für Chemisch-Biotechnologische Prozesse, Leuna, begleiten. Das Konzept der Bioraffinerie ist äußerst flexibel angelegt, sodass je nach Bedarf verschiedenste Rohstoffe als Ausgangsmaterial für Chemieprodukte eingesetzt und getestet werden können.

-> zurück zur Übersicht

 

Nachwachsende Rohstoffe und wertvolle Reststoffe

Steigende Rohölpreise und Krisen in den Förderländern haben Abhängigkeiten und die Begrenztheit unserer Ressourcen ins Bewusstsein gerufen. Die darauf folgende Suche nach neuen Ausgangsstoffen für die Industrie hat zu überraschenden Ergebnissen geführt und eindrucksvoll gezeigt, dass die Vielfalt der Natur bei weitem noch nicht ausgeschöpft ist. Darüber hinaus gewinnt die nachhaltige Gestaltung von industriellen Prozessen in Chemie-, Pharmazie- und Lebensmittelindustrie zunehmend an Bedeutung vor dem Hintergrund der immer strengeren Regularien und des weltweiten Strebens nach einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung.

Biomasse stellt für die Erzeugung chemischer und pharmazeutischer Produkte die einzige Alternative zu fossilen Rohstoffen dar. Pflanzen repräsentieren dabei in ihrer Diversität ein sehr breites Rohstoffpotenzial. Über die Photosynthese entsteht ein riesiges, bisher unvollständig genutztes Spektrum unterschiedlichster chemischer Verbindungen. Von besonderem Interesse ist die Verwendung dieser nachwachsenden Rohstoffe als chemische Zwischenprodukte für Polymere und Spezialchemikalien. Eine der Herausforderungen für die Zukunft besteht darin, die industrielle Nutzung der pflanzlichen Rohstoffe auszubauen, unter gleichzeitiger Sicherung der Nahrungs- und Futtermittelproduktion und dem Schutz von Naturräumen.

Für die Verbesserung und verstärkte industrielle Nutzung biobasierter Rohstoffe und biotechnologischer Verfahren sind daher neue Ansätze in Forschung, Entwicklung und Produktion erforderlich: Ansätze, die sich an den Leitbildern »Sustainable Development« und »Responsible Care« orientieren. Der Produktstammbaum ist beim Einsatz nachwachsender Rohstoffe verzweigter als in der mineralölbasierten Linie. So können von der Natur erbrachte Syntheseleistungen genutzt werden, indem einzelne Fraktionen nachwachsender Rohstoffe isoliert und gegebenenfalls modifiziert werden. Ein anderer Weg führt über enzymatischen Bioabbau zu Plattformchemikalien – Ausgangsprodukte für biotechnologische oder chemische Synthesen.

Beiden Wegen zur Erschließung neuer Rohstoffquellen gehen die Forscher des Fraunhofer-Verbunds Life Sciences intensiv nach.

Weiße und grüne Biotechnologie gehen Hand in Hand

Der Gehalt an wertgebenden Inhaltsstoffen in der Pflanze für den Einsatz in der industriellen Biotechnologie ist sowohl von der Pflanzenart als auch von der züchterischen Bearbeitung abhängig.

Grundlagen für eine zielgerichtete Verbesserung der Pflanzeneigenschaften sind die systematische Analyse der pflanzlichen Stoffwechselwege sowie umfangreiche Kenntnisse zu den natürlichen pflanzlichen Inhaltsstoffen und ihren Eigenschaften. Dies wurde durch technologische Fortschritte in der funktionellen Genomik, Proteomik und Metabolomik ermöglicht. Die Effizienz biotechnologischer Produktionsverfahren in der Industrie kann erhöht werden, wenn die Pflanzen, die das Ausgangsmaterial liefern, auf den Produktionsprozess maßgeschneidert werden. Der Abgleich der Eigenschaften mit den technologischen und wirtschaftlich interessanten Anforderungen macht eine spezifische und breitere Nutzung biogener Rohstoffe für die industrielle Biotechnologie möglich. Die Verlagerung von Verfahrensschritten in das pflanzliche Produktionssystem ist eine weitere Option. Beide Ansätze bearbeitet der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences.

Blaue und weiße Biotechnologie wirken zusammen

Die industrielle Produktion neuer Inhaltsstoffe aus marinen Organismen wird in Zukunft weiter an Bedeutung gewinnen. Marine Organismen werden nicht nur zur Identifizierung dieser neuen Inhaltsstoffe herangezogen, sondern ebenfalls für die Massenproduktion eingesetzt werden. Interessant sind hier vor allem marine Mikroorganismen wie einzellige Algen oder Bakterien aber auch Zooplankton oder aus marinen Organismen isolierte Zellen in Zellkultur. Sowohl die entsprechenden Organismen können vom Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences unterhalten als auch speziell hierfür angepasste Reaktoren entwickelt und angeboten werden.

Wertvolle Reststoffe nutzbringend eingesetzt

Neben der gezielten Suche nach alternativen Rohstoffpflanzen gilt das Interesse der Forscher im Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences den pflanzlichen Rückständen aus Lebensmittelindustrie, Forst- und Landwirtschaft. Diese enthalten häufig noch Wertstoffe wie Proteine, Fasern, Öl oder sekundäre Pflanzeninhaltsstoffe, die in weiteren Anwendungen genutzt werden können. Fachgerecht und werterhaltend müssen sie für eine Nutzung in technischen Anwendungen zunächst isoliert werden. Der Verbund verfügt über umfassende Erfahrung bei der Fraktionierung von verschiedenen pflanzlichen Rohstoffen und pflanzlichen Rückständen der Lebensmittelindustrie. Die Entwicklung von Fraktionierungsverfahren im Labormaßstab und auch das Scale-Up in den Pilotmaßstab gehören zum Leistungsspektrum des Verbunds.

Häufig trägt eine Modifikation der Proteine und anderer pflanzlicher Rohstoffe vor der technischen oder energetischen Nutzung dazu bei, die gewünschten physikalisch-chemischen Eigenschaften zu erzielen. Der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences entwickelt innovative Prozesse zur chemischen und vor allem biotechnologischen Modifikation von pflanzlichen Wertstofffraktionen, um die Substitution mineralölbasierter Produkte bei hoher Qualität und niedrigen Kosten zu gewährleisten.

Auf nachhaltigen Wegen zu Produkten mit vielfältigem Nutzen

Mikroalgen fixieren wie die höheren Pflanzen über die Photosynthese atmosphärisches Kohlendioxid und produzieren eine Vielzahl wertvoller chemischer Verbindungen wie Farbstoffe, ungesättigte Fettsäuren oder pharmazeutisch wirksame Substanzen. Dabei wachsen sie schneller und mit höherer Produktivität als die Pflanzen an Land. Sie sind somit eine interessante, alternative Rohstoffquelle für die industrielle, weiße Biotechnologie.

Native und modifizierte biogene Rohstoffe werden schon heute in den verschiedensten Bereichen eingesetzt: Die Anwendungskonzepte erstrecken sich von der energetischen Nutzung als fester oder flüssiger Brennstoff bis hin zur industriellen Verwendung als Schmierstoff, Klebstoff oder Coatingmaterial. Aufgrund langjähriger Erfahrung und umfangreichem Know-how ist der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences ein kompetenter und attraktiver Partner für die Entwicklung, Charakterisierung und industrielle Implementierung dieser innovativen Produkte.

-> zurück zur Übersicht

 

Erweiterte Rohstoffbasis für biotechnologische Prozesse

Hauptaufgaben auf biotechnologischem Gebiet sind die Bereitstellung preiswerter Substrate und die Entwicklung neuer oder verbesserter Enzyme. Hinzu kommen die Entwicklung neuer und die Optimierung bestehender biotechnologischer Prozesse, die Kopplung mit chemischen Prozessen mit dem Ziel der Prozessintegration sowie die Generierung neuer und die Optimierung bestehender Aufarbeitungsverfahren.

Biotechnologische Prozesse nutzen als Kohlenstoffquelle Zucker, die entweder direkt aus Pflanzen gewonnen oder über die Hydrolyse von Polysacchariden aus stärkehaltigen Pflanzen erzeugt werden. Vor dem Hintergrund der weltweiten Diskussion über die Konkurrenz bei der Nutzung zucker- und stärkehaltiger Pflanzen auch in industriellen Bereichen gewinnt die Bereitstellung alternativer Fermentationsrohstoffe aus Lignocellulose immer größere Bedeutung. Die Institute des Fraunhofer- Verbunds Life Sciences untersuchen und entwickeln neue Enzyme und Verfahren zum Substrataufschluss auf der Basis von Lignocellulose.

Neue Biokatalysatoren

Bei der Herstellung chemischer und pharmazeutischer Produkte durch biotechnologische Verfahren kommt den Mikroorganismen oder deren Enzymen hohe Bedeutung zu. Neue Anwendungen, zum Beispiel die Gewinnung oder Modifizierung von Spezialchemikalien, erfordern neue oder verbesserte Enzyme. Enzyme als Biokatalysatoren zeichnen sich vor allem aus durch die hohe Spezifität für ihre Substrate und die stereoselektive Reaktion. Dies macht sie attraktiv für technisch-industrielle Lösungen wie die Synthese enantiomerenreiner Produkte oder Zwischenstufen. Mit dem Einsatz von Enzymen lassen sich Produktions- und Entsorgungskosten oft deutlich senken. Darüber hinaus eröffnet dieser Verfahrensweg ganz neue Marktchancen, denn vielfach machen Enzyme die Herstellung bestimmter Produkte erst möglich.

Bei der Suche nach Mikroorganismen beziehungsweise deren Enzymen spielen konventionelle Methoden eine Rolle, aber auch innovative Methoden wie das komplette Screening der Gene oder Proteine, das man als Genomics, Metagenomics und Proteomics bezeichnet.

Um effiziente und kostengünstige Prozesse zu entwickeln, konzentriert sich die Fraunhofer-Forschung auf

  • die Identifizierung und Charakterisierung neuer oder verbesserter industrieller Enzyme, vor allem durch Etablierung von Anzuchtverfahren bisher nicht kultivierbarer Mikroorganismen,
  • die Optimierung industriell nutzbarer Enzyme durch molekulare Evolution und kombinatorische Bibliotheken,
  • die Entwicklung von Prozessen zur Herstellung rekombinanter technischer Enzyme und deren Reinigung,
  • die Immobilisierung von Enzymen und die Kopplung von Bio- und Chemokatalyse.



Experten schätzen, dass der Anteil der nicht-kultivierbaren Mikroorganismen rund 99 Prozent der gesamten Population ausmacht. Um diese vielversprechende genetische Ressource nutzen zu können, wurden von den Fraunhofer-Forschern in Zusammenarbeit mit Industriepartnern metagenomische Genbibliotheken aus Umweltproben angelegt. Dafür wird die mikrobielle DNA direkt aus der Umweltprobe isoliert und in einen kultivierbaren Wirtsstamm eingebracht.

Die Metagenomik als weitere Stufe der Genomforschung an Prokaryoten erschließt die ganze Komplexität der genetischen Informationen von Mikrobengemeinschaften systematisch. Die Genbanken können mit Hochdurchsatz-Assays auf gewünschte Enzymaktivitäten gescreent werden. Auf diesem Weg konnte bereits eine Vielzahl neuer Enzyme identifiziert werden, die noch nicht in bekannten Datenbanken vertreten waren und damit uneingeschränkt nutzbar sind.

Weiterhin werden Genominformationen aus Sequenzierungsprojekten im Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences systematisch genutzt, um neue Enzyme für technische Anwendungen zu isolieren.

Enzymvielfalt der gelben Biotechnologie

Die Insektenbiotechnologie oder gelbe Biotechnologie stellt ein zukunftsträchtiges Forschungsfeld für den Fraunhofer- Verbund Life Sciences dar. Insekten sind die Organismen mit der größten Biodiversität. Vier bis sechs Millionen Insektenarten stehen hier zur Verfügung gegenüber nur etwa 250.000 Pflanzenarten. Der Erfolg der Insekten in der Evolution beruht einerseits auf einer Vielfalt antibiotischer Substanzen, mit denen sie sich erfolgreich vor Infektionen schützen können, andererseits aber auch auf einer Vielfalt von Enzymen, die ihnen dabei helfen, fast alle organischen Materialien als Nahrungsquelle zu erschließen. Diese Diversität an Molekülen, die in Insekten vorkommen, zu erforschen und gezielt für die rote, grüne und weiße Biotechnologie zu nutzen, ist eine Herausforderung für die Forschung.

Die enorme Enzymvielfalt, die es Insekten erlaubt, nahezu alle organischen Materialien als Nahrungsquelle zu nutzen, stellt eine weitere sehr interessante Ressource für die weiße Biotechnologie dar. Diese kann dabei helfen, aufgrund neuartiger Eigenschaften neue oder erweiterte Anwendungsbereiche zu erschließen, Synthesewege ökonomischer zu gestalten und bisher nicht oder nur unzulänglich genutzte Reststoffe für die stoffliche oder energetische Nutzung zu erschließen.

Prozessentwicklung für Fermentation und Downstream Processing

Hohe Anforderungen an die Produktqualität und eine Renaissance der industriellen Bedeutung von Naturstoffen erfordern neue und effiziente Produktions- und Aufarbeitungsverfahren. Der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences ist hier ein attraktiver Partner durch sein Know-how in der Entwicklung von Verfahren zur Biokatalyse, Fermentation und zum Downstream Processing sowie dem Upscaling bis zum Pilotmaßstab. Lösungen für eine optimierte Fermentation und für die Isolierung, Trennung und Aufreinigung von biotechnisch hergestellten Produkten mit mechanischen und thermischen Trennverfahren werden hier erarbeitet. Insbesondere kommen Membranen beziehungsweise Membranverfahren zur Anwendung, da diese Verfahren spezifisch entsprechend den jeweiligen chemischen und physikalischen Eigenschaften des Produkts wie Größe, Ladung etc. eingesetzt werden können. Als Beispiele seien Membranfiltration, Elektrodialyse und Kombinationen von Membran- mit herkömmlichen Trennverfahren oder trennstarken chromatographischen Verfahren genannt.

Schema 1: Nachwachsende Rohstoffe für chemische Produkte. Quelle: Fraunhofer IGB



-> zurück zur Übersicht

 

Fraunhofer-Zentrum für Chemisch-Biotechnologische Prozesse, Leuna

Mineralöl ist ein begehrter Ausgangsstoff für viele Produkte wie Kunststoffe, Lacke, Waschmittel, Klebstoffe oder Kosmetika. Doch seine Verfügbarkeit ist begrenzt. Nachwachsende Rohstoffe wie Stroh, Holz, Mikroalgen und viele weitere sind jedoch in der Lage, Erdöl zu ersetzen – weltweit arbeiten Chemieunternehmen an der Entwicklung ausgefeilter Verfahren. Jedoch ist die Nutzung nachwachsender Rohstoffe in industriellen Dimensionen heute für die Unternehmen noch ein finanzieller und technologischer Kraftakt.

Mit dem Ziel, diesen kritischen Schritt auf dem Weg vom Labor in die industrielle Anwendung zu unterstützen, haben das Land Sachsen-Anhalt, der Bund und die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft ein chemisch-biotechnologischen Prozesszentrum geplant, welches nun als Fraunhofer-Zentrum für Chemisch- Biotechnologische Prozesse CBP am Chemiestandort Leuna errichtet wird. Mit dem sehr flexibel einsetzbaren Bioraffineriekonzept bieten sich innovative Möglichkeiten, um zukünftig biologische Rohstoffe auf Basis von Ölen und Fetten, Cellulose, stärke- oder zuckerhaltigen Rohstoffen als Ausgangsstoffe für Chemieprodukte einzusetzen. So können neue Produkte und Verfahren unter Nutzung der industriellen Biotechnologie zur Anwendungsreife gebracht werden. Damit trägt das CBP dazu bei, die Abhängigkeit von fossilen Rohstoffen zu reduzieren und die Kohlenstoffdioxidemissionen zu mindern.

Durch die Bereitstellung von Infrastruktur und Technikums- Miniplant-Anlagen ermöglicht das Fraunhofer CBP Kooperationspartnern aus Forschung und Industrie die Entwicklung und Skalierung von biotechnologischen und chemischen Prozessen zur Nutzung nachwachsender Rohstoffe bis zum industriellen Maßstab. Sieben Prozessanlagen zur Verfahrensentwicklung und -skalierung werden sukzessive entstehen.

Ein wesentlicher Erfolgsfaktor des Bioraffinerie-Konzepts ist die Einbindung von Partnern aus der Industrie von Anfang an. Die Industriepartner führen für jedes Projekt eine ökonomische und ökologische Nachhaltigkeitsanalyse durch. Die Auslegung und Konzeption der verschiedenen Anlagen erlaubt jeweils eine umfassende Effizienzanalyse, die sich auf großtechnische Produktionsverhältnisse übertragen lässt. Damit sind hier beste Voraussetzungen für den Technologietransfer geschaffen.

www.cbp.fraunhofer.de

-> zurück zur Übersicht