Business Unit 5

Process, Chemical, and Pesticide Safety: The Challenge of Environmental and Consumer Protection

Overview

New laws and regulations such as REACH as well as a growing sense of environmental awareness have led to an increased demand for expert assessment and appraisal of new and existing substances. In order to reconcile people’s need for safety, legal assurance, and economic efficiency, costly analytical investigations must be planned with care. By considering exposure and environmental scenarios and structure-activity relationships, the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences can establish the first outline data. The large variety of data pools to which the Group has access thanks to its networked structure is of particular benefit here. Besides the traditional test methods in compliance with GLP and in accredited laboratories (DIN EN ISO/IEC 17025), the Group can also perform complex environmental simulations such as fate studies and micro- and mesocosm studies for the assessment of plant protection products.

Using new powerful screening methods such as in vitro tissue models or high-throughput systems for toxicological in vitro tests, the Group is paving the way: more safety with fewer animal experiments. The Group’s fish cell lines, for example, offer a promising alternative to conventional fish tests. The debate about the potential risks to man and the environment resulting from nanotechnology is still ongoing. The Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences utilizes all its expertise to achieve quick assessments.

A properly functioning water supply and disposal system is an essential requirement for any civilization. This covers the supply of clean drinking water and the hygienic disposal of wastewater. The result of DEUS 21, a research project in which the Group has played a pivotal role, provides an interesting model for efficient wastewater disposal – a decentralized solution without complex piping networks which can be adapted to local requirements. The on-line broadband sensor AquaBioTox means the Group is contributing to increasing the safety of drinking water.

-> Back to top of page

 

Testing and assessment of chemicals, biocides, and drugs

Various EU directives require the thorough testing of chemicals and biocides, including substances that are already on the market. The European REACH policy (Registration, Evaluation and Authorisation of Chemicals), for instance, demands extensive investigations on industrial chemicals.

 

Consulting and support

The Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences can advise you from the very beginning through to successful project completion, in all phases of chemical, biocide, and drug testing and assessment. Following a structured plan of the process, we proceed step by step towards the goal. In doing so, we utilize and link existing knowledge from a wide variety of data pools as a first important step towards filling data gaps. We have many years of experience in developing substance-specific strategies for generating valid data for uncovered endpoints. For this purpose, we resort to the evaluation of structure-activity relationships (QSAR), read-across, and chemical categories and analogy concepts. We use exposure scenarios to describe the ways in which there can be exposure to a substance; this enables us also to clarify whether exposure waiving – that is, the non-carrying out of certain studies due to the fact that there is no relevant exposure – can be applied. Environmental scenarios provide information about the behavior and fate of the chemical substance in the environment. All steps of this process are aimed at minimizing subsequent experimental studies.

 

Traditional methods

The Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences offers combined expertise in toxicology and ecotoxicology as well as laboratory testing capacity and has many years of experience in common methods for substance testing. Exposure to different groups of chemicals and their toxicological and ecotoxicological hazards are thus tested and evaluated by the Group in accordance with international guidelines. The tests are performed in compliance with GLP regulations or in accredited laboratories (DIN EN ISO/ IEC 17025). Expert reports and dossiers are prepared and a final risk assessment is compiled. Where the available data is insufficient, the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences develops testing strategies, scientifically supervises the tests, and performs the necessary analyses required for registration.

Innovative screening methods

Depending on the type of substance and the scope of testing, traditional methods are often too costly. The Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences develops novel procedures that save time and costs, in particular in the fields of chemical risk assessment and substance property screening. Existing exposure models for human beings and the environment are enhanced and databases for structure-activity relationships created. In addition to the competencies offered in the areas of structure-activity relationships (SAR) and inhalation toxicology, the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences establishes, for example, in vitro test models. These allow basic toxicological data to be obtained without animal experiments. The three-dimensional in vitro tissue models possess many typical properties which are characteristic of the corresponding organ in the organism. Cell-biological and molecular-biological analyses of the toxicity of chemicals, for instance of cell toxicity, genotoxicity, and embryo toxicity, can be performed close to the real-life situation. A certified in vitro skin model allows the skin penetration by chemicals to be mimicked, and it can also be used for toxicity tests. Coupling 3D cellular spheroids with a capillary chip even allows high-throughput systems for toxicological in vitro tests.

Validated fingerprints obtained by gene expression analysis allow the potential for inducing chronic and in particular also carcinogenic effects to be reliably estimated.

Marine ecosystems – development of alternative methods for the testing and risk assessment of chemicals

The increasing introduction of pollutants into the environment by man represents a considerable hazard for marine habitats. The ever growing number of chemical compounds getting into the sensitive ocean ecosystem makes it necessary to obtain information about the potential toxic effects of substances on marine organisms.

Over recent years, in vitro toxicity tests in cultured fish cells have become increasingly important. Primary fish cells and permanent fish cell lines not only represent an excellent alternative to traditional tests in fish (in-vivo fish assay according to the German standard DIN 38412) in aquatic (eco-)toxicology, but furthermore offer the possibility to investigate the mechanisms of toxicity of chemical compounds. The Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences has already established several fish cell lines and has gathered expertise in this domain. Fish cell cultures possess great self-renewal ability and are therefore highly suitable for use in in-vitro toxicity tests, in particular for investigating toxic substances which accumulate in the marine food chain. Compared to corresponding long-term cultures of human and murine cell lines, fish cell lines exhibited higher sensitivity to environmentally relevant toxic substances that are introduced into waters.

For further information about the testing and risk assessment of chemicals under the European chemicals policy REACH, please refer to the “REACH Consultancy and Support” brochure of the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences.

-> Back to top of page

 

Authorization of plant protection products

Plant protection products are necessary for economically sustainable agriculture. However, their active ingredients interact with the environment. In order to maintain the ecological balance and to protect human health, it has to be ensured that any effects on ecosystems are only of a minor and temporary kind.

 

Minimization of uncertainties in the assessment

The Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences tests and assesses plant protection products according to national and international regulations on plant protection. Besides standardized testing procedures to determine intrinsic substance properties, the Fraunhofer scientists also use complex environmental simulations. The experimental focuses include studies on behavior and fate in the environment (e.g. in lysimeters), micro- and mesocosm studies, fish full life cycle studies, and species sensitivity distributions. The scope of services is complemented by exposure and effect modeling, expert reports, and consulting. The Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences identifies and quantifies risks and minimizes assessment uncertainties (higher tier risk assessment). By integrating these methods early in the product development process, unnecessary development costs can be avoided. The Group also looks upon itself as a scientific intermediary between industry and authorities.

Metabolism studies

Authorization of a plant protection product requires not only information about the active ingredient, but also data on degradation and reaction products (metabolites). Studies to this end are performed in relevant plants and in productive livestock; the residue analyses also have to include processing studies so as to get insight into the impact of treatment and processing on the crop or foodstuff. In addition, it has to be elucidated whether the active ingredient remaining in the soil will be absorbed and metabolized by or accumulate in subsequent crops.

A major challenge in such studies on the metabolism of plant protection products in soils, plants, and productive livestock is the elucidation of the chemical structure of the degradation products. For this purpose, the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences has at its disposal state-of-the-art analytical equipment including high-resolution MS and LC-NMR. Metabolism studies can be performed in open-land facilities, greenhouses, or climate chambers. The spectrum of plants that can be used ranges from field farming plants that are common in central Europe via vegetable and fruit cultures through to cultures of subtropical agricultural crops such as peanuts, cotton, and rice. Depending on the precise issue to be investigated, different soils can be used; the Group always has access to reference soils accepted by the authorities.

In the area of animal metabolism, studies on the metabolism of lifestock and fish can be performed. Alternative concepts for fish studies based on in vitro tests and modeling approaches are under development.

All studies can be performed with 14C-labeled materials and in compliance with GLP guidelines. Many years of experience enable us to customize the test systems to our clients’ specific requirements.

-> Back to top of page

 

Risk assessment of new technologies

Anybody wanting to efficiently and sustainably use next-generation technologies such as nanotechnology is required to actively look into the potential consequences and carry out risk assessment of these technologies in good time.

The wide spectrum of possible applications in medicine, environmental protection, packaging technology, production engineering, and the economic potential make nanotechnology a truly compelling field of research and motivate mankind to exploit the benefits. Past experience, however, has shown that technological innovation may also involve risks. According to the precautionary principle, therefore, special research effort in the area of hazard assessment and safety evaluation is imperative. Many questions still remain unanswered, for example, what happens to nanoparticles when they enter the human body or the environment?

The special properties and high reactivity of nanomaterials are due to their small size. Indeed, this is the reason why existing methods for hazard and exposure assessment need to be modified in order to account for nano-specific aspects.

The institutes of the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences are researching a wide range of aspects of nanotechnology, for example new applications in medicine and novel methods for pollutant degradation to protect the environment. Another focus within the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences is sustainability, which aims foremost to ensure an appropriate balance between the preservation and use of resources. This is why Fraunhofer researchers are also intensively studying the potential hazards of nanotechnology and are pioneers in a novel scientific discipline – nanotoxicology. They are developing methods to show to what extent and under which conditions nanomaterials may have toxicological significance. They are conducting studies to find out whether nanomaterials have an impact on natural habitats such as water and soil, how they behave in biological systems such as cells, organs, and organisms, and to what extent nanoparticles in packaging materials may be released and migrate into the packaged goods. In addition, potential emissions of nanoparticles during the processing of nanoparticle-containing composites as well as the effect of nanoparticle additives in products are being investigated.

A high degree of safety in the field of nanotechnology can be achieved by developing preventive recommendations. In this regard, the Fraunhofer scientists are acting according to the precautionary principle – for the sake of man and the environment.

For further information about nanotechnology research in the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences, please refer to our brochure entitled “Nanotechnology Research for Man and the Environment”.

->Back to top of page

 

Water management

In Europe, the development of a properly functioning wastewater disposal system allowed the great epidemics to be overcome. And even though the human right to have access to safe drinking water has not been legally stipulated, the international debate has made clear the essential role of water as a comestible product. The researchers in the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences are contributing to ensuring that this basic need can be met in a safe, humane, and environmentally compatible manner even during times of increasing demand.

Wastewater disposal to protect man and the environment

Besides containing inorganic and organic contaminants, wastewater also contains pathogens which, if inadequately treated, will be spread via the material cycles and may lead to outbreaks of disease. In industrialized countries, high-tech solutions are available in many domains and these are mostly implemented in centralized systems and treatment plants. The quality standards are very high, but operation and maintenance of these systems also involves considerable costs, which are passed on to the users and hence society. An enormous cost factor is the highly branched network of pipes. Their maintenance costs a fortune, and substantial effort is required to ensure contaminants do not get into the drinking water supply network and to prevent contamination of the environment by wastewater. However, despite the large effort that is required, maintenance and repair are normally well managed.

If, however, an unforeseen incident occurs within such centrally organized and complex structures, the consequences could be beyond control, in particular in large and growing cities. In decentralized supply and disposal systems, failures and disturbances can be localized faster, and unwanted or detrimental impacts can be limited by appropriate measures.

Decentralized systems are manageable, and with the common control systems that are nowadays in use they can be operated by significantly less staff than would have been possible only a few years ago. The research project DEUS 21, which is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, initiated and coordinated by the Fraunhofer ITEM, and performed in collaboration with partners from industry, has shown that decentralized systems, when customized to the specific requirements of a particular location, can treat wastewaters very efficiently and safely in small quantities (Scheme 2).

Monitoring of water infrastructure systems

In Germany, sewage treatment plants as well as drinking water purification plants are subject to routine monitoring to ensure that they comply with the legal requirements for consumer protection. Drinking water is regarded as a comestible product and thus requires particularly careful monitoring. This is currently achieved by routine sampling and comprehensive chemical and microbiological analyses of the drinking water samples. German drinking water suppliers have to satisfy the high quality standards of the national Drinking Water Ordinance (2001, 2006).

The methods used for routine examination of in particular the piping network are in most cases rather time-consuming. Measurement methods which indicate unforeseeable incidents such as accidental or deliberate contamination that poses a threat to the water supply networks are vital so that immediate action can be taken to avert danger.

In the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences, Fraunhofer experts in information and data management are working with users and manufacturers of measurement devices for water body monitoring to develop sensors suitable for on-line monitoring. The higher safety standard thus achieved allows drinking water suppliers to respond quickly in the event of contamination of the drinking water. The AquaBioTox project, funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, has its focus on a broadband sensor. As the core element of this system, it combines microbiological and mammalian cell systems with a daphnia toximeter and with physico-chemical measurement parameters and reports any incidents or malfunctions to a decision-maker, who can then promptly initiate appropriate actions.

Scheme 2: Decentralized wastewater treatment plant. Source: Fraunhofer IGB


-> Back to top of page

Geschäftsfeld 5

Sicherheit bei Prozessen, Chemikalien und Pflanzenschutzmitteln: Herausforderung Umwelt- und Verbraucherschutz

Zusammenfassung

Neue Gesetze und Verordnungen wie REACH sowie zunehmendes ökologisches Verantwortungsbewusstsein steigern den Bedarf an gutachterlicher Beurteilung und Absicherung von neuen und bereits im Umlauf befindlichen Stoffen. Um Sicherheitsbedürfnis, Rechtssicherheit und Wirtschaftlichkeit in Einklang zu bringen, müssen teure analytische Untersuchungen sorgfältig geplant werden. Anhand von Expositions- und Umweltszenarien und Struktur-Wirkungsbeziehungen kann der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences erste Rahmendaten erheben. Besonders vorteilhaft dabei sind verschiedenste Datenpools, die dem Verbund aufgrund seiner vernetzten Struktur zur Verfügung stehen. Außer den klassischen Methoden der Stoffprüfung nach GLP und in akkreditierten Labors (DIN EN ISO/IEC 17025) können zur Bewertung von Pflanzenschutzmitteln auch komplexe Umweltsimulationen wie Fate-Studien, Mikro- und Mesokosmosstudien durchgeführt werden.

Mit neuen aussagekräftigen Screening-Methoden wie In-vitro-Gewebemodellen oder Hochdurchsatzsystemen für toxikologische In-vitro-Tests ist der Verbund wegweisend: mehr Sicherheit bei weniger Tierversuchen. So bieten zum Beispiel die Fischzelllinien des Verbunds eine viel versprechende Alternative zu konventionellen Fischtests. Die Diskussion, ob und welche Risiken für Mensch und Umwelt durch die Nanotechnologie entstehen, ist noch nicht abgeschlossen. Der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences beteiligt sich mit seiner ganzen Kompetenz an einer schnellen Bewertung.

Ein funktionierender Wasserhaushalt ist ein zentrales Bedürfnis jeder Zivilisation – ob es um die Bereitstellung sauberen Trinkwassers geht oder um die hygienisch einwandfreie Entsorgung des Abwassers. Das Ergebnis von DEUS 21, einem Forschungsprojekt mit maßgeblicher Beteiligung des Verbunds, ist ein interessantes Modell für effiziente Abwasserreinigung – dezentral ohne aufwändige Leitungssysteme und adaptierbar an lokale Anforderungen. Mit dem Online-Breitbandsensor AquaBioTox leistet der Verbund einen Beitrag zur Sicherheit des Trinkwassers.

-> zurück zur Übersicht

 

Prüfung und Bewertung von Chemikalien, Bioziden und Arzneimitteln

Verschiedene EU-Richtlinien fordern die intensive Prüfung von Chemikalien und Bioziden, auch für bereits auf dem Markt befindliche Stoffe. So erfordert beispielsweise die REACH-Verordnung (Registration, Evaluation and Authorisation of Chemicals) der EU umfangreiche Untersuchungen von Industriechemikalien.



Beratung und Unterstützung

Der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences berät Sie von den ersten Fragen bis zum erfolgreichen Projektabschluss in allen Phasen der Prüfung und Bewertung von Chemikalien, Bioziden und Arzneimitteln. Anhand eines strukturierten Prozessplans nähern wir uns schrittweise dem Ziel. Dabei nutzen und vernetzen wir bestehendes Wissen aus unterschiedlichsten Datenpools als einen ersten wichtigen Schritt, um bestehende Datenlücken zu schließen. In der Entwicklung stoffspezifischer Strategien zur Generierung valider Daten für nicht belegte Endpunkte haben wir langjährige Erfahrungen. Dabei kommen die Bewertung von Struktur-Wirkungs-Beziehungen (QSAR), Read-across sowie Stoffgruppen- und Analogiekonzepte zum Einsatz. In Expositionsszenarien beschreiben wir die Möglichkeit, mit einer Substanz exponiert zu werden; hierdurch kann auch geklärt werden, ob expositionsbezogenes Waiving – also der Verzicht auf die Durchführung bestimmter Studien aufgrund fehlender Expositionsrelevanz – zum Tragen kommen kann. Umweltszenarien geben Aufschluss über das Verhalten und den Verbleib des chemischen Stoffes in der Umwelt. Alle Schritte dieses Prozesses haben zum Ziel, nachfolgend mit einem Minimum an Untersuchungen auszukommen.

 

Klassische Methoden

Der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences vereint toxikologische und ökotoxikologische Kompetenz sowie laborexperimentelle Prüfkapazität und bringt jahrzehntelange Erfahrung in den klassischen Methoden der Stoffprüfung mit. So prüft und evaluiert der Verbund die Exposition und das toxikologische und ökotoxikologische Gefährdungspotenzial verschiedener Chemikaliengruppen nach internationalen Richtlinien. Die Prüfungen werden GLP-konform beziehungsweise in akkreditierten Labors (DIN EN ISO/IEC 17025) durchgeführt. Gutachten und Dossiers werden erstellt und eine abschließende Risikobewertung angefertigt. Für bestehende Datenlücken optimiert der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences Prüfstrategien, begleitet die Prüfungen wissenschaftlich und bereitet sie für die Zulassung auf.

 

Innovative Screening-Methoden

Je nach Stoffart und Prüfumfang sind die klassischen Methoden oft zu teuer. Der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences entwickelt neue, zeit- und kostensparende Verfahren, insbesondere zur Gefährdungsbeurteilung von Chemikalien und zum Screening von Stoffeigenschaften. Er verbessert bestehende Expositionsmodelle für Mensch und Umwelt und erstellt Datenbanken für Struktur-Wirkungsbeziehungen. Neben den Kompetenzen auf den Gebieten Structure Activity Relationship (SAR) und Inhalationstoxikologie etabliert der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences zum Beispiel In-vitro-Testmodelle. Hierdurch können toxikologische Basisinformationen ohne Tierversuche ermittelt werden. Die dreidimensionalen In-vitro-Gewebemodelle besitzen viele der typischen Eigenschaften, die das jeweilige Organ im Körper auszeichnen. Zell- und molekularbiologische Analysen zur Toxizität von Chemikalien wie Zell-, Gen- oder Embryotoxizität können realitätsnah durchgeführt werden. An einem zertifizierten In-vitro-Hautmodell kann die Penetration von Chemikalien durch die Haut nachgestellt werden, ebenso können damit Tests zur Toxizität durchgeführt werden. Durch die Kopplung von 3-D-Zellsphäroiden mit einem Kapillarchip sind sogar Hochdurchsatzsysteme für toxikologische In-vitro-Tests möglich.

Validierte Fingerprints aus der Genexpressionsanalyse ermöglichen, das Potenzial für chronische und besonders auch kanzerogene Wirkungen zuverlässig abzuschätzen.

Marine Ökosysteme – Entwicklung alternativer Methoden zur Chemikalienprüfung und -bewertung

Der zunehmende anthropogene Schadstoffeintrag in die Umwelt stellt für die marine Lebensgemeinschaft ein beträchtliches Gefährdungspotenzial dar. Durch die ständig steigende Zahl von chemischen Verbindungen, die in das sensible Ökosystem Meer gelangen, wird es nötig, Informationen über eine möglicherweise toxische Wirkung auf marine Organismen zu gewinnen.

In den letzten Jahren haben vor allem In-vitro-Toxizitätstests an kultivierten Fischzellen stetig an Bedeutung gewonnen. Primäre Fischzellen und permanente Fischzelllinien stellen nicht nur eine ausgezeichnete Alternative zu konventionellen Fischtests (In-vivo-Fischtest DIN 38412) in der aquatischen (Öko-)Toxikologie dar, sondern bieten auch die Möglichkeit, Mechanismen der Toxizität chemischer Verbindungen zu untersuchen. Der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences hat bereits mehrere Fischzelllinien etabliert und Expertise auf diesem Gebiet gesammelt. Die Fischzellkulturen besitzen ein hohes Selbsterneuerungspotenzial und sind somit für den Einsatz in In-vitro-Toxizitätstests hervorragend geeignet. Dies gilt insbesonders für Untersuchungen toxischer Substanzen, die sich in der Nahrungskette von Meeresorganismen anreichern. Im Vergleich mit entsprechenden Langzeitkulturen humaner und muriner Zelllinien zeigten sich Fischzelllinien sensitiver gegenüber umweltrelevanten Giften, die in Wasserkörper eingeleitet werden.

Weitere Informationen zur Chemikalienprüfung und -bewertung im Rahmen der europäischen Chemikalienverordnung REACH finden Sie in der Broschüre des Fraunhofer-Verbunds Life Sciences »REACH Beratung und Unterstützung«.

-> zurück zur Übersicht

 

Pflanzenschutzmittelzulassung

Pflanzenschutzmittel sind für eine ökonomisch tragfähige Landwirtschaft unerlässlich, belasten jedoch die Umwelt als Fremdstoffe. Um das ökologische Gleichgewicht zu erhalten und die Gesundheit des Menschen zu schützen, muss sichergestellt werden, dass die Auswirkungen auf Ökosysteme nur geringfügig und temporär sind.

 

Minimierung von Bewertungsunsicherheiten

Der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences prüft und bewertet Pflanzenschutzmittel gemäß der nationalen und internationalen Pflanzenschutzgesetzgebung. Neben standardisierten Testverfahren zur Ermittlung intrinsischer Stoffeigenschaften setzen die Fraunhofer-Wissenschaftler dabei auch komplexe Umweltsimulationen ein. Experimentelle Schwerpunkte sind Studien zum Verhalten und Verbleib in der Umwelt (zum Beispiel in Lysimetern), Mikro- und Mesokosmosstudien, Fish-Full-Life-Cycle-Tests und Art-Empfindlichkeitsverteilungen. Ergänzt wird das Leistungsspektrum durch Expositions- und Wirkungsmodellierung, Gutachten und Beratung. Der Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences identifiziert und quantifiziert Risiken und minimiert Bewertungsunsicherheiten (Higher Tier Risk Assessment). Durch eine frühzeitige Einbindung dieser Methoden in den Produktentwicklungsprozess können unnötige Entwicklungskosten vermieden werden. Der Verbund versteht sich auch als wissenschaftliche Vermittlungsinstanz zwischen Industrie und Behörden.

 

Metabolismusuntersuchungen

Für die Zulassung von Pflanzenschutzmitteln werden neben Informationen zum Wirkstoff selbst auch Daten zu Abbau und Reaktionsprodukten (Metabolite) gefordert. Untersuchungen hierzu erfolgen in relevanten Pflanzen sowie landwirtschaftlichen Nutztieren; weiterhin sehen die rückstandsanalytischen Untersuchungen auch Verarbeitungsstudien vor, die über den Einfluss der Be- und Verarbeitung des Ernteguts beziehungsweise Lebensmittels Aufschluss geben. Darüber hinaus ist zu klären, ob Nachbaukulturen die Wirkstoffe aus dem Boden aufnehmen und metabolisieren oder anreichern.

Bei diesen Studien zum Metabolismus von Pflanzenschutzmitteln in Böden, Pflanzen und Nutztieren ist eine wesentliche Herausforderung die Aufklärung der chemischen Struktur der Umwandlungsprodukte. Hierfür steht im Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences eine moderne analytische Geräteausstattung mit hochauflösender MS und LC-NMR zur Verfügung. Metabolismusuntersuchungen können in Freilandanlagen, Gewächshäusern oder Klimakammern durchgeführt werden. Das Spektrum der einsetzbaren Pflanzen reicht von verbreiteten mitteleuropäischen Flächenkulturen, Gemüse- und Obstkulturen bis hin zu Kulturen subtropischer Nutzpflanzen, wie zum Beispiel Erdnuss, Baumwolle und Reis. Hierbei ist, je nach Fragestellung, die Verwendung unterschiedlicher Böden möglich; es besteht jederzeit Zugriff auf behördlich akzeptierte Referenzböden.

Im Bereich Tiermetabolismus werden Metabolismusuntersuchungen mit landwirtschaftlichen Nutztieren und Fischen angeboten. Alternative Konzepte für Fischstudien auf Basis von in vitro-Tests und Modellierungen sind in der Entwicklung.

Alle Studien können mit 14C-markierten Materialien und gemäß GLP durchgeführt werden. Langjährige Erfahrungen erlauben die gezielte Modifikation von Testsystemen, angepasst an die spezifischen Fragestellungen unserer Kunden.

-> zurück zur Übersicht

 

Risikobewertung neuer Technologien

Wer Zukunftstechnologien wie beispielsweise die Nanotechnologie effizient und nachhaltig nutzen will, muss sich auch frühzeitig mit potenziellen Technikfolgen und Risikobewertung aktiv auseinandersetzen.

Ihre vielen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten in Medizin, Umweltschutz, Verpackungs- oder auch Produktionstechnik sowie ihr wirtschaftliches Potenzial machen die Nanotechnologie verlockend. Sie ermutigen geradezu, den Fortschritt konsequent zu nutzen. Der Blick in die Geschichte zeigt aber auch, dass mit technologischen Innovationen Risiken verbunden sein können. Deshalb gebietet allein schon das Vorsorgeprinzip verstärkte Anstrengungen in der Gefährdungsabschätzungs- und Sicherheitsforschung. Viele Fragen sind noch offen, beispielsweise: »Was passiert mit Nanopartikeln, wenn sie in den menschlichen Körper oder die Umwelt gelangen?«

Die besonderen Eigenschaften und die hohe Reaktivität von Nano-Objekten beruhen auf ihrer geringen Größe. Doch gerade weil deren Strukturen so winzig sind, müssen bestehende Verfahren zur Gefährdungs- und Expositionsanalyse modifiziert werden, um den nanospezifischen Aspekten gerecht zu werden.

Die Institute des Fraunhofer-Verbunds Life Sciences erforschen die Nanotechnologie in verschiedener Weise. Sie suchen nach neuen Anwendungen in der Medizin. Oder sie entwickeln für den Umweltschutz innovative Verfahren zum Schadstoffabbau. Ebenso wichtig ist dem Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences aber auch das Thema Nachhaltigkeit, deren oberstes Prinzip die Balance zwischen Ressourcenschutz und Ressourceneinsatz ist. Daher befassen sich die Fraunhofer-Forscher auch intensiv mit potenziellen Gefährdungen durch die Nanotechnologie und sind Vorreiter dieser neuen wissenschaftlichen Disziplin – der Nanotoxikologie. Sie erarbeiten Methoden, die zeigen, inwieweit und unter welchen Voraussetzungen Nanomaterialien toxisch relevant werden könnten. Sie erforschen, ob sich Nano-Objekte auf Lebensräume wie Wasser oder Boden auswirken, wie sie sich in biologischen Systemen wie Zellen, Organen und Organismen verhalten und in welchem Maß Nanopartikel aus Verpackungsmaterialien aus- und auf verpackte Ware übertreten können. Auch potenzielle Emissionen von Nanopartikeln bei der Bearbeitung von nanopartikelhaltigen Kompositen werden untersucht, ebenso wie die Wirkung nanopartikulärer Zusätze in Produkten.

Durch die Ausarbeitung vorbeugender Empfehlungen ist ein hohes Maß an Sicherheit im Umgang mit der Nanotechnologie realisierbar. Fraunhofer-Wissenschaftler und -Wissenschaftlerinnen handeln hier nach dem Vorsorgeprinzip – für Mensch und Umwelt.
Weitere Informationen zur Nanotechnologieforschung im Fraunhofer-Verbund Life Sciences finden Sie in unserer Broschüre: »Nanotechnologieforschung für Mensch und Umwelt.«

-> zurück zur Übersicht

 

Wassermanagement

Mit der Entwicklung einer funktionierenden Abwasserentsorgung wurden in Europa die großen Seuchen besiegt. Und selbst wenn das Menschenrecht auf Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser letztendlich nicht festgeschrieben wurde, macht doch die internationale Diskussion die zentrale Bedeutung des Lebensmittels »Wasser« deutlich. Die Forscherinnen und Forscher des Fraunhofer-Verbunds Life Sciences tragen dazu bei, dass auch bei steigendem Bedarf dieses Grundbedürfnis sicher, menschen- und umweltgerecht gestillt werden kann.

Abwasserentsorgung zum Schutz von Mensch und Umwelt

Abwässer enthalten neben anorganischen und organischen Verunreinigungen, die beseitigt werden müssen, Krankheitserreger, die bei ungenügender Behandlung über die Stoffkreisläufe verteilt werden und Erkrankungen hervorrufen können. In den industrialisierten Ländern sind in vielen Bereichen Lösungen auf hohem technischem Niveau zugänglich und werden meist in zentralen Systemen und Behandlungsanlagen realisiert. Die Qualitätsstandards sind dabei hoch, ihr Betrieb und die Instandhaltung verursachen allerdings auch hohe Kosten, die auf die Nutzer umgelegt und damit sozialisiert werden. Einen enormen Kostenfaktor stellen die weit verzweigten Rohrleitungssysteme dar. Ihre Instandhaltung verschlingt hohe Summen und es erfordert einen großen Aufwand, um das Eintreten von Verunreinigungen ins Trinkwassernetz dauerhaft zu vermeiden oder der Kontamination der Umwelt mit Abwässern vorzubeugen. Trotz des damit verbundenen Aufwands werden die Wartungs- und Instandhaltungsmaßnahmen in der Regel gut beherrscht.

Treten bei zentral organisierten und komplexen Strukturen jedoch unvorhergesehene Störfälle auf, sind die Folgen insbesondere bei großen und wachsenden Städten unübersehbar. In dezentralen Ver- und Entsorgungssystemen lassen sich Störfälle rascher lokalisieren und unerwünschte oder schädliche Auswirkungen mit geeigneten Maßnahmen begrenzen.

Dezentrale Systeme sind überschaubar und mit den heute üblichen Steuer- und Regelungseinheiten mit deutlich geringerem Personalaufwand zu betreiben, als das noch vor wenigen Jahren denkbar und möglich war. Das vom BMBF geförderte Forschungsprojekt DEUS 21, das von Fraunhofer initiiert, koordiniert und gemeinsam mit Industriepartnern realisiert wurde, zeigt, dass dezentrale Systeme in der Lage sind, adaptiert an die Anforderungen der jeweiligen Standorte, sehr effizient und sicher in kleineren Einheiten Abwässer zu reinigen (Schema 2).

Überwachung von Wasserinfrastruktursystemen

Die Anlagen zur Behandlung von Abwässern oder zur Aufarbeitung von Trinkwasser werden in Deutschland regelmäßig überwacht, um sicherzustellen, dass sie den gesetzlichen Anforderungen zum Schutz des Verbrauchers entsprechen. Trinkwasser gilt als Lebensmittel und bedarf damit einer besonders sorgfältigen Überwachung. Im Trinkwasserbereich erfolgt diese derzeit durch regelmäßige Probenahme und eine umfassende chemische und mikrobiologische Analyse des Wassers. Hohe Qualitätsanforderungen der Trinkwasserverordnung (2001, 2006) müssen von den Trinkwasserversorgern eingehalten werden. Die routinemäßig eingesetzten Verfahren zur Überwachung insbesondere der Rohrleitungsnetze sind meist zeitaufwändig. Messverfahren, die unvorhersehbare Ereignisse, wie Unfälle oder gezielte Anschläge, die die Wasserversorgungsnetze bedrohen, anzeigen, sind erforderlich, so dass unverzügliches Handeln zur Abwehr von Gefahren erfolgen kann.

Schema 2: Dezentrale Kläranlage in Heidelberg-Neurott. Quelle: Fraunhofer IGB



-> zurück zur Übersicht