Clinical Research Center Hannover

Clinical Research Center Hannover

  • go to the CRC Hannover homepage

The Clinical Research Center Hannover (CRC Hannover), set up on the grounds of the Fraunhofer Institute for Toxicology and Experimental Medicine ITEM, is the only medical research center of its kind in Germany. In close cooperation between the Fraunhofer ITEM, the Hannover Medical School, and the Helmholtz Center for Infection Research, new drugs that have not yet been approved are tested there for safety (phase-I studies) and efficacy (phase-II studies).

Patient-oriented research and cohort studies are also performed at the CRC Hannover. An optimal infrastructure for clinical studies is available on an area of 6000 square meters. This includes 30 intensive-monitoring beds, another 20 beds for study participants, outpatient rooms, and laboratories for special diagnostics and research.

Research-intensive early-phase clinical trials can be performed in the CRC Hannover for the pharmaceutical industry at highest quality standards.

The partners’ goal in the area of biomedical research is to achieve the transition from basic to applied industry-oriented research by establishing a joint study center for early-phase clinical research.

The center was built on the grounds of the Fraunhofer ITEM. The costs of about 40 million euros – building costs and equipment – were shared by the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft (BMBF funds) and the Land Lower Saxony. In addition, Lower Saxony will bear the costs for initial funding during the first five years. Thus, the CRC Hannover is an important project of the Translational Research Alliance in Lower Saxony (TRAIN).

The three CRC Hannover partners – Fraunhofer ITEM, MHH, and HZI – are jointly using the study center to perform early-phase clinical studies to develop and license new drugs as well as for patient-oriented research. The CRC Hannover allows professional cooperation, personnel sharing, and the joint use of space, services, and equipment. State-of-the-art technology is available for diagnostic imaging. A steering committee staffed by the cooperation partners is responsible for the utilization strategy of the study center.

Studies on various diseases can be offered at the study center: The Fraunhofer ITEM is contributing many years of experience with airways diseases (COPD, allergies). So far, the Hannover Medical School has participated mainly in clinical studies in the advanced phases of drug development. It is now also contributing early-phase clinical studies on other diseases in the new center. The HZI Braunschweig studies mainly infectious diseases and their defence. With the CRC Hannover it has expanded its focus “Infection Research of Airways Diseases”.

Clinical Research Center Hannover

Das Clinical Research Center Hannover – CRC Hannover – auf dem Gelände des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Toxikologie und Experimentelle Medizin ITEM ist ein Studienzentrum für die medizinische Forschung, das bundesweit einmalig ist. In enger Kooperation mit der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover und dem Helmholtz-Zentrum für Infektionsforschung werden dort seit Juli 2014 neue, noch nicht zugelassene Medikamente auf Sicherheit (Phase-I-Studien) und Wirksamkeit (Phase-II-Studien) untersucht.

Patientenorientierte Forschung und Kohortenstudien haben ebenfalls im CRC Hannover ihren Platz. Für die Studien steht auf insgesamt 6000 Quadratmetern Nutzfläche eine optimale Infrastruktur zur Verfügung. Dazu zählen: 30 Intensivüberwachungsbetten, 20 weitere Betten für die Studienteilnehmer, Ambulanzräume, Labors für Spezialuntersuchungen und Forschung.

Im CRC Hannover können forschungsintensive frühe klinische Studien auf höchstem Qualitätsniveau für die Pharmazeutische Industrie durchgeführt werden.

Ziel der Partner ist es, auf dem Gebiet der biomedizinischen Forschung den Übergang von grundlagenorientierter zu angewandter, industrieorientierter Forschung zu schaffen durch den Aufbau eines gemeinsamen Studienzentrums für frühe klinische Forschung.

Das Gebäude wurde auf dem Gelände des Fraunhofer ITEM gebaut. Die Kosten von rund 40 Millionen Euro – Baukosten und Geräteausstattung – wurden von der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft (BMBF-Mittel) und dem Land Niedersachsen getragen. Das Land Niedersachsen übernimmt außerdem eine Anlauffinanzierung für die ersten fünf Jahre. Das CRC Hannover ist damit ein wichtiges Projekt der Translationsallianz in Niedersachsen (TRAIN).

Die drei Partner im CRC Hannover – Fraunhofer ITEM, MHH und HZI – nutzen das Studienzentrum gemeinsam, um frühe klinische Studien für die Entwicklung und Zulassung neuer Medikamente durchzuführen sowie patientenorientiert zu forschen. Das CRC Hannover ermöglicht eine fachliche Zusammenarbeit, personelle Verknüpfungen und die gemeinsame Nutzung von Räumen, Dienstleistungen und Geräten. Für die diagnostische Bildgebung steht modernste Technik bereit. Ein von den Kooperationspartnern besetztes Lenkungsgremium ist für die Strategie zur Nutzung und Auslastung zuständig.

Im Studienzentrum können Studien zu verschiedenen Krankheitsbildern angeboten werden: Das Fraunhofer ITEM bringt langjährige Erfahrung mit Studien zu Atemwegserkrankungen ein (COPD, Allergien). Die Medizinische Hochschule Hannover hat bisher überwiegend an klinischen Studien in den fortgeschrittenen Phasen der Arzneimittelentwicklung teilgenommen und wird im neuen Zentrum auch frühe klinische Studien für andere Krankheiten einbringen. Das HZI Braunschweig erforscht insbesondere die Infektionskrankheiten und deren Abwehr und baut mit dem CRC Hannover den Schwerpunkt »Infektionsforschung im Bereich der Atemwegserkrankungen« aus.