Ribolution

The project “RIBOLUTION – Integrated Platform for the Identification and Validation of Innovative RNA-based Biomarkers for Personalized Medicine” is a research alliance supported by the Fraunhofer-Zukunftsstiftung (Fraunhofer Future Foundation).

New RNA-biomarkers will be identified for selected diseases using comprehensive genome-spanning screening. Their diagnostic application will be validated. RIBOLUTION also includes so-called non-coding RNAs that were recently discovered as a large reservoir of potentially valuable medical biomarkers.

Biomarkers are being sought that function as diagnostic indicators and reveal diseases, monitor their course, or predict the response to therapy. In addition, the process of biomarker-screening will be optimized and perfected by RIBOLUTION with the help of technical innovations.

The demographic change is an enormous challenge for the health care system. In particular cancer, chronic, inflammatory, and degenerative diseases demonstrate a strong age-dependent incidence.

Improved early disease diagnosis can prevent disease courses that are difficult and costly to treat. Better differential diagnostics would prevent diagnostic and especially therapeutic consequential costs that would result from wrong diagnoses. This makes an individual optimal therapy choice possible. However, the novel, validated biomarkers cannot keep up with the rapidly growing diagnostic demand. RIBOLUTION is breaking fresh ground to meet these needs.

Goals:

RIBOLUTION which is funded by the Fraunhofer-Zukunftsstiftung is a research alliance made up of 5 Fraunhofer institutes in cooperation with several universities. It has the goal to identify new RNS-biomarkers using a systematic genome-wide screening program and to validate their diagnostic application. At the same time the screening process itself will be technically perfected by automation and improved analytics.

Non-coding RNAs – a promising molecule class with great diagnostic potential:

Recent research has shown that a major part of the human genome is not used to encode proteins. These “non-coding” regions were initially assumed to be useless. Today it is clear that a huge number of different so-called non-coding RNAs (ncRNAs) are read which play a central role in cellular regulation. More and more of these ncRNAs are being linked to diseases. Therefore, they are a huge and mainly unknown reservoir of potential biomarkers for medicine.

Next-generation-transcriptome-sequencing and microarray-technologies will be used to search for RNA-based biomarkers. Biomarker candidates are being validated in large clinical cohorts using quantitative RT-PCR.

Clinical indications:

RIBOLUTION identifies novel RNA-biomarkers for selected diseases. This includes prostate cancer, the most common cancer in men with about 350 000 new cases per year in Europe. It also includes chronic-obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), a chronic airways inflammation that is currently the fourth most common cause of death. In Germany, almost 15% of persons over the age of 40 years suffer from this disease. For both diseases biomarkers are desperately needed to predict the course of the illnesses and to have the best therapy choice.

Biomarker-screening is being done on tumor samples from prostate cancer patients in cooperation with the University Clinic Dresden and the international COPD-study ECLIPSE (funded by GlaxoSmithKline).

Technical perfection of biomarker-screening:

In addition the biomarker-screening process will be optimized and perfected by RIBOLUTION with the help of technical innovations. This will make it even more reliable and cost efficient.

RIBOLUTION’s focus of non-coding RNAs (ncRNAs) exploits a new molecule class with high biomarker potential that so far has hardly been used. This recently developed area of research allows access to a gigantic pool of promising biomarkers that are mainly uncharacterized. Preliminary results confirm the exceptional diagnostic potential of these ncRNA-biomarkers.

Aside from screening for new biomarkers, RIBOLUTION is concurrently developing methods that efficiently identify and validate such biomarkers and allow high cost efficiency and reduced project risk. This includes the development of a modular, flexible automation system for the analysis of any biomarker-issue in large cohorts, a powerful and precise nanoliter-dosing-system as part of the automation and miniaturization of high throughput validation processes, and a permeable inline process and quality control.

With quality control and continuous documentation, a certified automated biomarker identification and validation process will be established by the end of the project. At the same time the developed technologies can be offered individually or as a package to equipment and system designers.

Fraunhofer Institute for Cell Therapy and Immunology IZI
Prof. Dr. Friedemann Horn
Perlickstr. 1
04103 Leipzig
+49 341 35536-3305

http://www.izi.fraunhofer.de
Fraunhofer-Institute for Manufacturing Engineering and Automation IPA
Dipl.-Ing. Andreas Traube
Nobelstraße 12
70569 Stuttgart
+49 711 970-1233

www.ipa.fraunhofer.de
Fraunhofer-Institute for Interfacial Engineering and Biotechnology IGB
Molecular biotechnology
Dr. Kai Sohn
Nobelstr. 12
70569 Stuttgart
+49 711 970-4055

www.igb.fraunhofer.de
Fraunhofer-Institute for Toxicology and Experimental Medicine ITEM
Prof. Dr. Norbert Krug
Nikolai-Fuchs-Str. 1
30625 Hannover
+49 511 5350-602

www.item.fraunhofer.de
Fraunhofer-Institute for Applied Informationtechnology FIT
Prof. Dr. Harald Mathis
Schloss Birlinghoven
53754 Sankt Augustin
+49 2241 14-1512

www.fit.fraunhofer.de
Clinic and Policlinic for Urology
University Clinic Carl Gustav Carus of the Technical University Dresden
Prof. Dr. Dr. Manfred Wirth
Fetscherstraße 74
01307 Dresden

urologie.uniklinikum-dresden.de
Institute for Medical Informatics, Statistics, and Epidemiology
University Leipzig
Prof. Dr. Markus Löffler
Härtelstraße 16-18
04107 Leipzig

www.imise.uni-leipzig.de

Ribolution

Das Projekt »RIBOLUTION – Integrierte Plattform für die Identifizierung und Validierung innovativer RNA-basierter Biomarker für die Personalisierte Medizin« ist ein von der Fraunhofer-Zukunftsstiftung geförderter Forschungsverbund.

Durch umfassendes, genomweites Screening werden für ausgewählte Krankheiten neue RNA-Biomarker identifiziert und ihre diagnostische Anwendbarkeit validiert. Dabei erfasst RIBOLUTION auch sogenannte nichtkodierende RNAs, die jüngst als ein großes Reservoir von potenziell für die Medizin wertvollen Biomarkern entdeckt wurden.

Gesucht werden solche Biomarker, die als diagnostische Indikatoren eine Erkrankung anzeigen oder ihren Verlauf oder das Ansprechen auf Therapien prognostizieren können.  Zusätzlich wird der Prozess des Biomarker-Screenings durch RIBOLUTION mit Hilfe technischer Innovationen optimiert und perfektioniert.

Der demographische Wandel stellt eine enorme Herausforderung für unser Gesundheitssystem dar. Insbesondere onkologische, chronisch entzündliche und degenerative Erkrankungen zeigen eine stark altersabhängige Inzidenz.

Eine bessere Früherkennung von Erkrankungen kann schwere und aufwändig zu behandelnde Krankheitsverläufe verhindern. Eine verbesserte Differentialdiagnostik vermeidet diagnostische und vor allem therapeutische Folgekosten bei Fehldiagnose und ermöglicht die individuell optimale Therapiewahl. Die Zahl neuer, validierter Biomarker kann jedoch mit dem rasant wachsenden diagnostischen Bedarf nicht Schritt halten. RIBOLUTION geht neue Wege, um diesen Bedarf zu decken.

Ziele:

RIBOLUTION ist ein von der Fraunhofer-Zukunftsstiftung geförderter Forschungsverbund aus fünf Fraunhofer-Instituten in Kooperation mit mehreren Universitäten. Er hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, durch ein systematisches, genomweites Screeningprogramm neue RNA-Biomarker zu identifizieren und ihre diagnostische Anwendbarkeit zu validieren. Gleichzeitig wird der Screeningprozess selbst durch Automatisierung und verbesserte Analytik technisch perfektioniert.

Nichtkodierende RNAs – eine vielversprechende Molekülklasse mit großem diagnostischen Potenzial:

Jüngste Forschungen haben gezeigt, dass ein Großteil des menschlichen Genoms nicht genutzt wird, um für Proteine zu kodieren. Diese »nichtkodierenden« Bereiche wurden zunächst für sinnlose Sequenzen gehalten. Heute weiß man aber, dass von ihnen eine riesige Zahl verschiedener sogenannter nichtkodierender RNAs, ncRNAs, abgelesen wird, die eine zentrale Rolle bei der zellulären Steuerung spielen. Immer mehr dieser ncRNAs werden auch mit Krankheiten in Verbindung gebracht. Daher stellen sie ein gigantisches und weitgehend unerforschtes Reservoir von potenziell für die Medizin wertvollen Biomarkern dar.

Für die Suche nach RNA-basierten Biomarkern werden Next-Generation-Transkriptom-Sequencing und Microarray-Technologien eingesetzt. Biomarker-Kandidaten werden an großen klinischen Kohorten mittels quantitativer RT-PCR validiert.

Klinische Indikationen:

RIBOLUTION identifiziert neue RNA-Biomarker für ausgewählte Krankheiten. Hierzu zählen u.a. der Prostatakrebs, mit europaweit ca. 350.000 Neuerkrankungen pro Jahr die häufigste Krebserkrankung bei Männern, und die chronisch-obstruktive Lungenerkrankung (COPD), eine chronische Atemwegsentzündung, die derzeit die vierthäufigste Todesursache darstellt. In Deutschland leiden nahezu 15% der über 40-jährigen an der Erkrankung. Für beide Erkrankungen sind dringend Biomarker nötig, die den Krankheitsverlauf prognostizieren können und so die optimale Therapiewahl ermöglichen.

Das Biomarker-Screening wird mit Hilfe von Tumorproben von Prostatakarzinom-Patienten in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Universitätsklinikum Dresden durchgeführt, sowie in Kooperation mit der von GlaxoSmithKline finanzierten internationalen COPD-Studie ECLIPSE.

Technische Perfektionierung der Biomarker-Screenings:

Zusätzlich wird der Prozess des Biomarker-Screenings durch RIBOLUTION mit Hilfe technischer Innovationen optimiert und perfektioniert, so dass er in Zukunft noch zuverlässiger und kostengünstiger durchgeführt werden kann.


Die Fokussierung von RIBOLUTION auf nicht-kodierende RNAs (ncRNAs) erschließt eine neue Molekülklasse mit hohem, bisher kaum ausgeschöpftem Biomarker-Potenzial. Durch dieses erst jüngst erschlossene Forschungsfeld erhalten wir  Zugriff auf einen gigantischen Pool vielversprechender Biomarker, die überwiegend uncharakterisiert sind. Erste Ergebnisse belegen das außerordentlich hohe diagnostische Potenzial dieser ncRNA-Biomarker.

Neben dem Screening auf neue Biomarker entwickelt RIBOLUTION gleichzeitig Verfahren und Methoden, die eine effiziente Identifizierung und Validierung solcher Biomarker mit großer Kosteneffizienz und verringertem Projektrisiko ermöglichen. Hierzu gehören die Entwicklung eines modularen, flexiblen Automatisierungssystems für die Analyse beliebiger Biomarker-Fragestellungen in großen Kohorten,  eines leistungsfähigen und präzisen Nanoliter-Dosiersystems als Teil einer Automatisierung und Miniaturisierung von Highthroughput-Validierungsprozessen sowie einer durchgängigen Inline-Prozess- und Qualitätskontrolle.

Am Ende des Projekts wird ein automatisierter, durch Qualitätskontrolle und durchgehende Dokumentation zertifizierbarer Prozess zur Biomarker-Identifizierung und -Validierung stehen. Die entwickelten Technologien können gleichzeitig Geräte- und Anlagenentwicklern einzeln oder als Paket angeboten werden.

Fraunhofer-Institut für Zelltherapie und Immunologie IZI
Prof. Dr. Friedemann Horn
Perlickstr. 1
04103 Leipzig
+49 341 35536-3305

www.izi.fraunhofer.de
Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionstechnik und Automatisierung IPA
Dipl.-Ing. Andreas Traube
Nobelstraße 12
70569 Stuttgart
+49 711 970-1233

www.ipa.fraunhofer.de
Fraunhofer-Institut für Grenzflächen- und Bioverfahrenstechnik IGB
Molekulare Biotechnologie
Dr. Kai Sohn
Nobelstr. 12
70569 Stuttgart
+49 711 970-4055

www.igb.fraunhofer.de
Fraunhofer-Institut für Toxikologie und Experimentelle Medizin ITEM
Prof. Dr. Norbert Krug
Nikolai-Fuchs-Str. 1
30625 Hannover
+49 511 5350-602

www.item.fraunhofer.de
Fraunhofer-Institut für Angewandte Informationstechnik FIT
Prof. Dr. Harald Mathis
Schloss Birlinghoven
53754 Sankt Augustin
+49 2241 14-1512

www.fit.fraunhofer.de
Klinik und Poliklinik für Urologie
Universitätsklinikum Carl Gustav Carus der Technischen Universität Dresden
Prof. Dr. Dr. Manfred Wirth
Fetscherstraße 74
01307 Dresden

urologie.uniklinikum-dresden.de
Institut für Medizinische Informatik, Statistik und Epidemiologie
Universität Leipzig
Prof. Dr. Markus Löffler
Härtelstraße 16-18
04107 Leipzig

www.imise.uni-leipzig.de