Fraunhofer BioArchiv – »high tech«-biobanking

More than 10 years of interdisciplinary research and technological development in cryobiotechnology at the Fraunhofer Institute for Biomedical Engineering IBMT have led to the leading international biobank network, both with regard to technology and content. This network is the “Fraunhofer-BioArchiv”. The implemented and commercially available biobank technology platform is based on more than 40 patent families of the Fraunhofer IBMT.

The Fraunhofer IBMT is a system provider for therapeutic and diagnostically focussed biobanks. It offers its partners from industry und research services for the development of new cryomedia, optimized freezing protocols, contract storage, as well as planning and validation of cryobanks. Our key expertise is the support of client-specific projects in the area of cryotechnology and guidance in establishing clients' cryobanks. Together with companies in the fields of substrate, equipment, and software, the Fraunhofer IBMT is currently the only system provider worldwide, that offers industrially scaled cryobanks for temperature ranges below -130° C.

We still benefit today in nearly all fields of science from the 19th century natural history museum records. The value of soundly established collections increases over the decades. This is proven by the pathological collections of clinics and DNA banks. It will most likely also be true for our time and future collections. So far, the focus of our records is on documents, increasingly on electronic media.

What about materials especially biological objects? There are numerous biobanks in clinics, institutes, and companies that store liquids, cells, tissue, and organs. They can be roughly divided into dead and living samples. Live samples, because thanks to low temperature conservation it is possible to reversibly freeze and thaw certain biological material. Without doubt, these biomaterial banks are the backbone of our future strongly biotechnology and recycling oriented society. These banks are a comprehensive record and a kind of back-up insurance.

The Fraunhofer IBMT's BioArchiv is one of the most modern and the best equipped cryobank in the world. The full automatic nitrogen supply, the multi-redundant monitoring system, an interruption-free power supply and emergency standby power system, full electronic personnel and access monitoring with alarm forwarding and video recording ensure the best possible security for the stored samples and guarantee their quality.

Due to technical demand, the Fraunhofer IBMT has been working on the development and industrial implementation of cryobank technology since 1999. After more than 10 years of development a cryotechnology platform is available in form of a system solution for the implementation of small, intermediate, and large scale banks. Their key elements are the connection between the already common plastic sample tubes and an electronic memory chip, RFID, etc. and the prevention of ice formation using hood systems.

The special difference of this commercially available hybrid is the electronic contact with each sample in the cryotank and its readability as well as describability of electronic memory at temperatures as low as minus 180°C. This makes completely new biobank and databank structures possible. The biobanks can perform computerized inventories, data synchronizations, and search for samples without the need to open the cryotanks. Newly developed hood systems over the tanks prevent ice formation and provide a refrigerated transition room during sample withdrawal and storage. There is less time pressure for processes that are performed and gapless refrigeration and temperature monitoring is ensured. The road to automated biobanks has been paved by a complete lab management system. The chip itself, attached to the sample tube, monitors its handling, transportation, and processing procedures such as data storage. At the same time it documents everything.   

In 2007 Fraunhofer-BioArchiv was expanded by an S3 laboratory with an integrated cryobank. This has made research with and storage of organisms classified as S3 according to the biomaterial ordinance and the genetic engineering law possible. The complete lab wing may be viewed as an inverse clean room. There is constant negative pressure while research projects registered with the appropriate authorities are being performed. This negative pressure in unison with numerous other measures such as the flush-mount sealing of all crevices and openings ensures that nothing – not even the smallest particle – can escape from the lab to the surrounding room. The rooms are ventilated using so called HEPA-filters (high efficiency particulate air filter). Waste from the laboratory is sterilized in a pass-through autoclave using high pressure and 120°C steam. The first large project that was done in these rooms was the integrated GHRC (Global HIV Vaccine Research Cryorepository) project supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates-Foundation.

Another biobank of the Fraunhofer EMB and the Fraunhofer IBMT is the CRYO-BREHM (“German cell bank for wild animals”). This is a biomaterial bank specifically for the collection and cryoconservation of prolifertive cell cultures of wild animals. In addition, there is a stem cell bank (hES, IPS, adult SC) as well as the pathology network CRIP (“Central Research Infrastructure for molecular Pathology”) a biodatabank that combines data from decentral biobanks that span different institutes. CRIP is a prototype for further biobanks e.g. the “Project-Portal in the German Biobank-Register (P2B2)”, which the Fraunhofer IBMT is establishing between 2010-2012 together with the TMF and 6 partner-biobanks. This will be the basis for a central German biobank-infrastructure.

Since January of 2012, the human sample collection of the Federal Environmental Biobank is also part of the Fraunhofer-BioArchiv. Together with the Fraunhofer IME (located in Schmallenberg), the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft manages the complete sample collection of the Federal Environmental Biobank. This biobank is a central element of the observation of the environment in Germany. For more than 30 years it has provided the Federal Ministry of Environment, Environmental Protection, and Reactor Safety (Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit (BMU)) with important scientific information to adopt and monitor the success of measures in environmental protection.

The environmental biobank is a permanent entity of the BMU and is under the aegis of the Federal Environmental Agency (UBA). Since January 2012, the task force "Federal Environmental Biobank – Human Samples" of the Fraunhofer-Institute for Biomedical Engineering has been collecting blood and urine samples for the Federal Environmental Biobank. Samples of 120 volunteers each at 4 locations in Germany (Münster, Halle, Ulm, Greifswald) are being collected for the UBA every year. Thus, the Fraunhofer IBMT receives 13200 individual samples per year that can be used to examine the effect of pollution on humans. Part of the samples are tested for clinical parameters (e.g. cholesterol content).

An initial characterization of the chemical burden is performed by the institute and the Clinic for Work, Social, and Environmental Medicine (IPASUM) of the Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nürnberg. However, the majority of the collected samples each year will be stored in cryoconserved form by the Fraunhofer IBMT for later retrospective analyses of environmentally relevant chemicals and compounds. They will be stored in the environmental biobank indefinitely and will remain completely unaltered. The human samples of the Federal Environmental Biobank give an overview of the pollutant burden on man. The repeated testing of comparable populations on a regular basis allows the long-term monitoring of pollutant trends. These are of fundamental importance for the development of legal measures and to control the success of these measures. With the indefinite and unaltered cryoconservation of the, it is possible to perform tests retrospectively or to repeat tests with newer more sensitive methods. Thus, even after decades substances can be detected that were not known or analyzable at the time the samples were collected or that were not considered important.

In the summer of 2010 at the location in Sulzbach BioKryo Ltd. started its service of cryostorage of therapeutically valuable biological material e.g. stem cells or tissue samples. BioKryo Ltd. is a spin-off of the Fraunhofer-Institute for Biomedical Engineering IBMT. It contributes more than 10 years of experience in cryotechnology and stem cell research. It can now also offer the highly specialized low temperature storage (e.g. storage of important cell lines as a back-up) for clients from e.g. the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industry. Aside from the storage of valuable biological material, BioKryo Ltd. together with other collaborating partners can perform diagnostic and logistic services such as HLA-typing or the worldwide transportation of samples.

Fraunhofer-BioArchiv offers external clients from research, clinics, and industry a service catalogue of cryostorage of biological samples.  

  • Consultation and support in defining and establishing own client-specific cryo/biobanks (planning, construction, support during construction and operation)
  • Project support during construction and operation
  • Back-up cryo-/biobank at Fraunhofer IBMT (back-up storage of sample collections)
  • Container care for collections
  • Test of technology and equipment systems
  • Development of cryoequipment and cryoautomation tools
  • Development of freezing and thawing protocols
  • Development of suitable cryoprotectives
  • Lab management system
  • Documentation and workflow
  • Electronic data management (“ChamaeleonLab”)

Fraunhofer BioArchiv – »High Tech«-Biobanking

Mehr als zehn Jahre interdisziplinäre Forschung und Technologieentwicklung in der Kryobiotechnologie haben am Fraunhofer-Institut für Biomedizinische Technik IBMT zu einem international technologisch wie inhaltlich führenden Biobankenverbund, dem »Fraunhofer-BioArchiv«, geführt. Die realisierte und kommerziell verfügbare Biobanken-Technologieplattform basiert auf mehr als 40 Patentfamilien des Fraunhofer IBMT.

Das Fraunhofer IBMT ist Systemanbieter für therapeutisch und diagnostisch ausgerichtete Biobanken und bietet Partnern aus Industrie und Forschung die Entwicklung neuer Kryomedien, optimierte Einfrierprotokolle, Auftragslagerung, sowie Planung und Validierung von Kryobanken an. Die Begleitung kundenspezifischer Projekte im Umfeld der Kryo-/ Biotechnologie und die Beratung beim Aufbau kundeneigener Kryobanken gehören zu den Kernkompetenzen. Zusammen mit Firmen aus dem Substrat-, Geräte- und Softwarebereich ist das Fraunhofer IBMT derzeit der einzige Systemanbieter weltweit, der industriell skalierte Kryobanken für den Temperaturbereich unter -130°C anbieten kann.


Von den Sammlungen der Naturkundemuseen des 19. Jahrhunderts profitieren wir heute noch in nahezu allen Wissenschaftsbereichen. Der Wert solide angelegter Sammlungen steigt über die Jahrzehnte, wie die pathologischen Sammlungen der Klinika und DNA-Banken beweisen. Dies sollte auch für unsere Zeit und zukünftige Sammlungen gelten. Bisher liegt das Schwergewicht unserer Überlieferungen auf Seiten der Dokumentation, zunehmend über elektronische Medien.

Wie aber verhält es sich mit Materialien, insbesondere biologischen Objekten? Hierzu existiert eine Vielzahl von Biobanken an Klinika, Instituten und Firmen, in denen Flüssigkeiten, Zellen, Gewebe und Organe abgelegt werden. Sie lassen sich grob in Tod- und Lebendablagen unterteilen. Lebendablagen, weil es Dank der Tieftemperaturkonservierung möglich ist, bestimmte biologische Materialien reversibel einzufrieren und aufzutauen. Diese Biomaterialbanken werden ohne Zweifel das Rückgrat unserer zukünftigen stark biotechnologisch und auf Recycling ausgerichteten Gesellschaft bilden. Sie stellen eine umfassende Dokumentation und eine Art Rückversicherung dar.




Das BioArchiv des Fraunhofer IBMT ist eine der modernsten und am besten ausgerüsteten Kryobanken der Welt. Die vollautomatische Stickstoffzufuhr, die mehrfach redundanten Überwachungssysteme, eine unterbrechungsfreie Stromversorgung und eine Netzersatzanlage, vollelektronische Personen- und Zugangsüberwachung mit Alarmweiterleitung und Videoaufzeichnung gewähren die maximal mögliche Sicherheit für die eingelagerten Proben und garantieren deren Qualität.

Aufgrund der technischen Erfordernisse hat sich das Fraunhofer IBMT beginnend im Jahre 1999 mit der Entwicklung und industriellen Umsetzung von Kryobanktechnologien beschäftigt. Nach über 10-jähriger Entwicklungsarbeit ist eine Kryotechnologieplattform in Form einer Systemlösung zum Aufbau kleiner, mittelgroßer bis hin zu Großbanken verfügbar, deren Kernelemente intelligente Substrate zur Aufnahme der Bioproben und lückenlose Dokumentation bilden. Stark vereinfacht dargestellt handelt es sich um die Verknüpfung der bereits üblichen Plastikprobenbehälter mit einem elektronischen Memory Chip, RFID, etc. und die Vermeidung jedweder Eisbildung über Haubensysteme.

Das Besondere an diesem kommerziell verfügbaren Hybrid ist die elektronische Kontaktierung jeder Probe in den Kryotanks und die Lesbarkeit wie Beschreibbarkeit der elektronischen Speicher bis hinunter zu Temperaturen von minus 180°C. Dies erlaubt ganz neue Biobank- und Datenbankarchitekturen. So können die Biobanken Inventuren, Datenabgleiche und die Suche von Proben computergesteuert und ohne Öffnung der Kryotanks realisieren. Neu entwickelte Haubensysteme über den Tanks verhindern die Eisbildung und sorgen für einen tiefgekühlten Übergangsraum bei der Probenentnahme und Einlagerung. Über hochsichere Arbeitsbanken (Kryoworkbenches) werden die Prozesse zeitlich entzerrt und ist die lückenlose Kühlung und Temperaturerfassung gegeben. Komplettiert durch ein Labormanagementsystem, bei dem der Chip am Probenkörper seine eigene Verarbeitung, Verschickung und die Prozessabläufe wie Datenablage selbst steuert und dokumentiert, ist nunmehr der Weg zu einer Automatisierung der Biobanken frei.   

Im Jahr 2007 wurde das Fraunhofer-BioArchiv um ein Sicherheitslabor der Stufe 3 mit integrierter Kryobank erweitert. Diese Maßnahme ermöglichte es, Forschung an Organismen entsprechender Einstufung nach der Biostoffverordnung sowie dem Gentechnikgesetz durchzuführen und zu lagern. Der gesamte Labortrakt kann als inverser Reinraum angesehen werden. Dies bedeutet, dass während der Durchführung entsprechend bei den Behörden angemeldeter Forschungsprojekte ein steter Unterdruck herrscht. Dieser Unterdruck bewirkt, zusammen mit unzähligen weiteren Maßnahmen, wie der flächenbündigen Versiegelung aller Spalte und Öffnungen, dass nichts – auch nicht das kleinste Partikel – aus dem Labor in die umgebende Halle gelangen kann. Die Räume werden über sogenannte HEPA-Filter (high efficiency particulate air filter) be- und entlüftet. Abfälle aus dem Labor werden in einem Durchreicheautoklav bei Überdruck und 120°C mit Dampf sterilisiert. Als erstes großes Projekt in diesen Räumlichkeiten wurde das von der Bill & Melinda Gates-Stiftung geförderte integrierte Projekt GHRC (Global HIV Vaccine Research Cryorepository) durchgeführt.

Eine weitere Biobank der Fraunhofer EMB und des Fraunhofer IBMT ist der CRYO-BREHM (»Deutsche Zellbank für Wildtiere«), eine Biomaterialienbank, die auf die Sammlung und Kryokonservierung von vermehrungsfähigen Zellkulturen von Wildtieren spezialisiert ist. Desweiteren eine Stammzellbank (hES, IPS, adulte SC) sowie das Pathologienetzwerk CRIP (»Central Research Infrastructure for molecular Pathology«), eine Biodatenbank, die aus dezentralen Biobanken Daten institutionenübergreifend zusammenführt. CRIP ist Vorbild für weitere Biodatenbanken wie z. B. das »Projekt-Portal im Deutschen Biobanken-Register (P2B2)«, das das Fraunhofer IBMT 2010-2012 zusammen mit der TMF und sechs Partner-Biobanken als Basis einer zentralen deutschen Biobanken-Infrastruktur aufbaut.

Seit Januar 2012 zählt auch der Humanprobenteil der Umweltprobenbank des Bundes zum Fraunhofer-BioArchiv. Gemeinsam mit dem Fraunhofer IME (Standort Schmallenberg) verwaltet die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft den gesamten Probenbestand der Umweltprobenbank des Bundes. Die Umweltprobenbank des Bundes bildet ein zentrales Element der Umweltbeobachtung in Deutschland. Seit mehr als 30 Jahren liefert sie dem Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit (BMU) eine wichtige wissenschaftliche Grundlage, um Maßnahmen im Umwelt- und Naturschutz ergreifen und deren Erfolg kontrollieren zu können.

Die Umweltprobenbank ist eine permanente Einrichtung des BMU und arbeitet unter der Ägide des Umweltbundesamtes (UBA). Die Arbeitsgruppe »Umweltprobenbank des Bundes – Humanproben« des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Biomedizinische Technik sammelt im Auftrag des UBA seit Januar 2012 jährlich an vier Standorten in der Bundesrepublik (Münster, Halle, Ulm, Greifswald) Blut- und Urinproben von jeweils 120 freiwilligen Probandinnen und Probanden für die Umweltprobenbank des Bundes. Jährlich gewinnt das Fraunhofer IBMT somit bis zu 13 200 Einzelproben, die für die Untersuchung der Belastung des Menschen durch Umweltschadstoffe eingesetzt werden können. Ein Teil der Proben wird im Anschluss an die Probennahme auf klinische Parameter (wie z. B. den Cholesteringehalt) hin analysiert.

Eine analytische Erstcharakterisierung im Hinblick auf chemische Belastungen wird vom Institut und der Poliklinik für Arbeits-, Sozial- und Umweltmedizin (IPASUM) der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg durchgeführt. Der Großteil der jährlich gesammelten Proben wird jedoch vom Fraunhofer IBMT für eine spätere retrospektive Analyse auf umweltrelevante Chemikalien und Verbindungen in kryokonservierter Form unbefristet und veränderungsfrei in der Umweltprobenbank gelagert. Die Humanproben der Umweltprobenbank des Bundes erlauben einen Überblick über die umweltbedingte Schadstoffbelastung des Menschen. Die wiederholte Untersuchung von vergleichbaren Personengruppen in regelmäßigen Zeitabständen ermöglicht die langfristige Verfolgung von Schadstofftrends, die von grundlegender Bedeutung für die Entwicklung von gesetzlichen Maßnahmen und deren Erfolgskontrolle sind. Mit der zeitlich unbefristeten Kryokonservierung der gesammelten Proben und den damit gegebenen veränderungsfreien Bedingungen wird zudem die Voraussetzung geschaffen, auch zu späteren Zeitpunkten rückblickende Untersuchungen durchzuführen oder Untersuchungen mit neueren und möglicherweise sensibleren Messtechniken zu wiederholen. Somit lassen sich auch noch nach Jahrzehnten retrospektiv Substanzen nachweisen, die zum Zeitpunkt der Einlagerung der Proben noch nicht bekannt oder analysierbar waren bzw. bislang nicht für bedeutsam gehalten wurden.

Im Sommer 2010 nahm am Standort Sulzbach die BioKryo GmbH ihren Dienstleistungsbetrieb mit der Kryolagerung von therapeutisch wertvollem biologischem Material wie z. B. Stammzellen oder Gewebeproben auf. Die BioKryo GmbH ist ein Spin-Off des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Biomedizinische Technik IBMT, in der über zehn Jahre Erfahrung in der Kryotechnologie und der Stammzellforschung eingebracht werden. Nun ist es möglich, auch für Kunden aus z. B. der Biotechnologie- und der Pharmabranche, die angebotene hoch spezialisierte Tieftemperaturlagerung, in der sie z. B. wertvolle Zelllinien als Back-up aufbewahren können, anzubieten. Zusammen mit weiteren Kooperationspartnern ist die BioKryo GmbH neben der Lagerung des biologisch wertvollen Materials in der Lage, diagnostische und logistische Dienstleistungen wie z. B. die HLA-Typisierung oder die weltweite Versendung von Proben durchzuführen.






Das Fraunhofer-BioArchiv bietet externen Kunden aus Forschung, Kliniken und Industrie einen Dienstleistungskatalog im Bereich der Kryolagerung von biologischen Proben an.

  • Beratung und Unterstützung bei der Definition und beim Aufbau eigener kundenspezifischer Kryo-/Biobanken (Planung, Konstruktion, Baubegleitung, Betriebsbegleitung)
  • Projektbegleitung bei Aufbau und Betrieb
  • Back-up Kryo-/Biobank am Fraunhofer IBMT (Sicherheitseinlagerung von Probensammlungen)
  • Behälterfürsorge für Sammlungen
  • Erprobung von Technologie und Gerätesystemen
  • Entwicklung von Kryoequipment und Kryoautomatisierungstools
  • Erarbeitung von Einfrier-/Auftauprotokollen
  • Entwicklung geeigneter Kryoprotektiva
  • Labormanagementsystem
  • Dokumentation und Workflow
  • elektronische Datenverwaltung (»ChamaeleonLab«)