Lipid Rich Algae Biomass

An alternative to the production of biofuels from agricultural products (bioethanol from grain or sugar beets, biodiesel from rapeseed and soy oil) is biodiesel from microalgae. Some advantages of microalgae culturing are reduced need for water and the fact that no agricultural area is necessary. A requirement for the economic and efficient use of the production of algae-biomass to biofuel is a high lipid content.

The goal of this project is to establish a process that is stable under changing field conditions and that generates biomass with a high lipid content. Using the flat-panel airlift reactor that was developed at the Fraunhofer IGB, we established such a production process. We showed that high lipid content with low bio-dry mass concentrations and thus high relative light availabilities can be reached.

Currently, biofuels are mainly produced from plant-based raw materials, for example biodiesel from rapeseed or palm oil. In this country the arable land will no longer be available for food production; in Southeast Asia rainforests are being cleared for oil palm plantations. The high water consumption during the cultivation of land plants for the production of biofuels is also viewed critically. Moreover, the current production capacity and area available for this purpose cannot meet the demand for renewable resources for biofuels.

Biodiesel from microalgae represents an alternative to present-day biofuels. Compared with cultivating higher plants, the cultivation of microalgae has a considerable number of advantages. These include a higher productivity, reduced water consumption and the possibility of cultivating algae on land that is not suitable for agricultural purposes. At present we are examining a concept for the sustainable energetic use of microalgae within the framework of the research project EtaMax. Integrated in a cycle of materials and energy streams, algae biomass is produced from flue gas and wastewater streams.

Microalgae are cultivated autotrophically, solely by using sunlight. Oil produced from algae can be used as energy source and the resulting exhaust gas is returned to the process. The remaining biomass is fermented to produce biogas. This process permits high-quality biomass to be created from waste streams and the complete energy recovery of the biomass.

Requirements for the biomass and production process

The prerequisite for the economical use and an efficient downstream process of the algae biomass is a high lipid content. Furthermore, the spectrum of fatty acids should have a high proportion of saturated and monounsaturated fatty acids, as polyunsaturated fatty acids reduce the storage stability of the algae oil. The enrichment of fatty acids in the form of triglycerides can be induced by a nitrogen limitation of the microalgae culture. The triglycerides are deposited inside the cells as storage molecules. In laboratory experiments at the Fraunhofer IGB we were able to achieve lipid contents of up to 70 percent [w/w] under permanent artificial light.

When producing algae as energy source, it is necessary to transfer this process into an outdoor cultivation process. Here the challenge is to establish a process that runs well and remains stable under varying outdoor conditions, and also generates biomass with a high lipid content. It has to be taken into account that the recurrent day-night rhythm and changing weather conditions result in a variable process temperature and different light intensities.

Outdoor plant for lipid production

In 2010 and 2011 we operated an outdoor pilot plant with five south-facing 30-liter flat-panel airlift reactors to characterize the lipid production process with the microalgae Chlorella vulgaris. A two-stage batch process was established. Biomass was produced in a first growth phase from four to seven days with an optimum supply of nutrients. This was followed by the lipid production phase, in which the algae cells enriched lipids by means of nitrogen and phosphate limitation. The focus of the investigation was to maximize the lipid content of the algae and to determine a quantitative correlation between the relative light intensity and the biomass concentration in the reactor. The relative light intensity describes the ratio of light input to biomass concentration in the reactor and is specified as Einstein (1 mole of photons) per gram of dry mass and day.

Further information:

→ http://www.igb.fraunhofer.de/en/competences/environmental-biotechnology/microalgae/lipid-rich-algae-biomass.html

Factors influencing the lipid content

We succeeded in establishing a stable process under outdoor conditions, permitting the production of algae biomass with a very high lipid content. Thus with Chlorella vulgaris we were able to achieve a maximum lipid productivity of 0.3 g fatty acids/(L*d) in the outdoor pilot plant. It became clear that the flat-panel airlift reactor used here, which was developed several years ago at the Fraunhofer IGB, is ideal for this process. From the literature it is known, for example, that the cultivation of microalgae in photobioreactors developed and operated in Italy leads to a maximum lipid productivity of only 0.2 g fatty acids/(L*d) [1].

We determined the influence of the relative light intensity on the lipid content of the biomass by the parallel operation of flat-panel airlift reactors, each with different biomass concentrations. We were able to show that high lipid contents of over 45 percent [w/w] are achieved with a low dry mass concentration and related high relative light intensities.

Outlook

Making use of the results generated under outdoor conditions, the high lipid content of the biomass can be selectively adjusted by means of process management. A defined, consistent quality of the biomass with high lipid content provides the ideal basis for the development of a downstream process to obtain biodiesel from algae. Working on the basis of these experiments the aim is to make the production process viable at the industrial scale and to further reduce the production costs.

  • Daimler AG
  • EnBW Baden-Württemberg AG
  • FairEnergie GmbH
  • Fraunhofer IVV
  • Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
  • Netzsch Pumpen und Systeme GmbH
  • Paul Scherrer Institut PSI
  • Stadt Stuttgart
  • Stulz Wasser- und Prozesstechnik GmbH

Lipidreiche Algenbiomasse als regenerativer Energieträger

Eine Alternative zur Produktion von Biokraftstoffen aus landwirtschaftlichen Erzeugnissen (Bioethanol aus Getreide oder Zuckerrüben, Biodiesel aus Raps- und Sojaöl) stellt Biodiesel aus Mikroalgen dar. Vorteile der Kultivierung von Mikroalgen sind ein verminderter Wasserbedarf und die Tatsache, dass keine landwirtschaftliche Nutzfläche benötigt wird. Voraussetzung für eine wirtschaftliche Nutzung und effiziente Aufarbeitung der Algenbiomasse zu Biokraftstoff ist ein hoher Lipidgehalt.

Ziel dieses Projekts ist es, einen Prozess zu etablieren, der auch unter variierenden Bedingungen im Freiland stabil läuft und Biomasse mit hohem Lipidgehalt generiert. Unter Nutzung des am Fraunhofer IGB entwickelten Flachplatten-Airlift-Reaktors konnten wir einen solchen Produktionsprozess etablieren. Wir konnten zeigen, dass hohe Lipidgehalte bei niedrigen Biotrocken­masse­konzen­­trationen und damit hohen relativen Lichtverfügbarkeiten erzielt werden können.

Derzeit werden Biokraftstoffe in erster Linie aus pflanzlichen Rohstoffen hergestellt, beispielsweise Biodiesel aus Raps- oder Palmöl. Hierzulande stehen die Ackerflächen dann nicht mehr für die Nahrungsmittelproduktion zur Verfügung, in Südostasien werden Regenwälder für Ölpalmplantagen gerodet.

Auch der hohe Wasserverbrauch beim Anbau von Landpflanzen zur Herstellung von Biokraftstoffen wird kritisch bewertet. Zudem kann die momentane Produktionskapazität und verfügbare Fläche den erforderlichen Bedarf an nachwachsenden Rohstoffen für Biokraftstoffe nicht decken.

Biodiesel aus Mikroalgen stellt eine Alternative zu heutigen Biokraftstoffen dar. Gegenüber dem Anbau höherer Pflanzen weist die Kultivierung von Mikroalgen eine Vielzahl von Vorteilen auf. Hierzu zählen ein höherer Ertrag pro Fläche, ein verminderter Wasserbedarf und die Möglichkeit, Algen auf landwirtschaftlich nicht nutzbarer Fläche zu kultivieren. Ein Konzept zur nachhaltigen energetischen Nutzung von Mikroalgen wird derzeit im Rahmen des Forschungsvorhabens EtaMax untersucht. Eingebunden in einen Stoff- und Energiekreislauf wird Algenbiomasse aus Abgasen und Abwasserströmen produziert.

Die Kultivierung der Mikroalgen findet ausschließlich autotroph unter Nutzung des Sonnenlichts statt. Von Algen produzierte Öle können energetisch als Biokraftstoff genutzt werden und entstehende Abgase werden in den Prozess rückgeführt. Die verbleibende Restbiomasse wird zu Biogas vergoren. Dieser Prozess ermöglicht es, aus Abfallströmen hochwertige Biomasse aufzubauen und diese vollständig energetisch zu verwerten.

Anforderungen an Biomasse und Produktionsprozess

Voraussetzung für eine wirtschaftliche Nutzung und effiziente Aufarbeitung der Algenbiomasse für die Produktion von Biodiesel ist ein hoher Lipidgehalt. Des Weiteren sollte das Fettsäurespektrum einen hohen Anteil gesättigter und monoungesättigter Fettsäuren aufweisen, da mehrfach ungesättigte Fettsäuren die Lagerstabilität des Algenöls herabsetzen. Die Anreicherung der Fettsäuren in Form von Triglyceriden kann durch eine Stickstofflimitierung der Mikroalgenkultur induziert werden. Die Triglyceride werden als Speichermoleküle im Zellinneren eingelagert. In Laborversuchen im Fraunhofer IGB konnten unter dauerhafter künstlicher Beleuchtung Lipidgehalte von bis zu 70 Prozent [w/w] erreicht werden.

Für die Produktion von Algenbiomasse zur energetischen Verwertung ist eine Übertragung dieses Prozesses in das Freiland unter Nutzung des Sonnenlichts notwendig. Hier besteht die Herausforderung darin, einen Prozess zu etablieren, der auch unter  variierenden Bedingungen im Freiland stabil läuft und Biomasse mit hohem Lipidgehalt generiert. Denn der gegebene Tag-Nacht-Rhythmus und veränderliche Witterungsbedingungen resultieren in schwankenden Prozesstemperaturen und Lichtverhältnissen.

Freilandanlage zur Lipidproduktion

Zur Charakterisierung des Lipidproduktionsprozesses mit der Mikroalge Chlorella vulgaris wurde in den Jahren 2010 und 2011 eine Versuchsanlage mit fünf nach Süden ausgerichteten 30-Liter-Flachplatten-Airlift-Reaktoren im Freiland betrieben. Etabliert wurde ein zweistufiger Batch-Prozess. In einer ersten Wachstumsphase von vier bis sieben Tagen wurde bei optimaler Nährstoffversorgung Biomasse produziert. Darauf folgte die Lipidproduktionsphase, in der die Algenzellen nach Stickstoff- und Phosphatlimitierung Lipide anreicherten. Im Mittelpunkt der Untersuchung stand, den Lipidgehalt der Algen zu maximieren und einen quantitativen Zusammenhang zwischen der relativen Lichtverfügbarkeit und der Biomassekonzentration zu ermitteln. Die relative Lichtverfügbarkeit beschreibt das Verhältnis von Lichteintrag zur Biomassekonzentration im Reaktor und wird in Einstein (1 Mol Photonen) pro Gramm Trockenmasse und Tag angegeben.

weitere Informationen

Einflussgrößen auf den Lipidgehalt

Es ist gelungen, unter Freilandbedingungen einen stabilen Prozess zu etablieren, der die Produktion von Algenbiomasse mit einem sehr hohen Lipidgehalt erlaubt. So konnte mit Chlorella vulgaris eine maximale Lipidproduktivität im Freiland von 0,3 g Fettsäuren/(L*d) erzielt werden. Es zeigt sich, dass der hier eingesetzte Flachplatten-Airlift-Reaktor, der vor einigen Jahren am Fraunhofer IGB entwickelt wurde, für diesen Prozess optimal geeignet ist. Aus der Literatur ist beispielsweise bekannt, dass bei der Kultivierung in Photobioreaktoren, wie sie in Italien entwickelt und betrieben wurden, eine maximale Lipidproduktivität von nur 0,2 g Fettsäuren/(L*d) erreicht wurde.

Den Einfluss der relativen Lichtverfügbarkeit auf den Lipidgehalt der Biomasse wurde durch den parallelen Betrieb von Flachplatten-Airlift-Reaktoren mit jeweils unterschiedlichen Biomassekonzentrationen im Freiland ermittelt. Es konnte gezeigt werden, dass hohe Lipidgehalte von über 45 Prozent [w/w] bei niedrigen Biotrockenmassekonzentrationen und damit hohen relativen Lichtverfügbarkeiten erzielt werden.

Ausblick

Resultierend aus diesen Ergebnissen kann der hohe Lipidgehalt der Biomasse bei einer Produktion im Freiland gezielt durch die Prozessführung eingestellt werden. Eine definierte, gleichbleibende Qualität der Biomasse mit hohem Lipidgehalt stellt eine optimale Grundlage für die Entwicklung eines Aufarbeitungsprozesses zur Gewinnung von Biodiesel aus Algen dar. Aufbauend auf diesen Versuchen gilt es, den Produktionsprozess in den industriellen Maßstab zu übertragen und die Produktionskosten weiter zu senken.

  • Daimler AG
  • EnBW Baden-Württemberg AG
  • FairEnergie GmbH
  • Fraunhofer IVV
  • Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
  • Netzsch Pumpen und Systeme GmbH
  • Paul Scherrer Institut PSI
  • Stadt Stuttgart
  • Stulz Wasser- und Prozesstechnik GmbH