Global HIV Vaccine Research Cryorepository (GHRC)

Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences

View of the cryobank of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation for the development of vaccines against AIDS as part of the Collaboration for AIDS Vaccine Discovery (CAVD).
© Fraunhofer IBMT, photo: Bernd Müller

Global HIV Vaccine Research Cryorepository (GHRC)

At the Fraunhofer IBMT a trend-setting platform is available to collect, process, conserve, and distribute reagents and clinical samples for worldwide networks using optimal sample processing procedures and cryoconservation. A global S3 HIV-cryobank was established at the Fraunhofer IBMT. This was part of the global initiative on the development of an HIV-vaccine (Collaboration for AIDS Vaccine Discovery – CAVD) which was financed by the Bill & Melinda Gates-Foundation.

In this unique bank for viruses and other microorganism, diverse reagents for vaccine research and development are available. They may be used for comprehensive molecular biological and immunological characterization. The HIV cryobank is monitored by a certified quality assurance program which controls the processes according to the guideline of Good Clinical Laboratory Practice (GCLP). An additional development is the automated production of special agents (e.g. HIV-1 Env- pseudovirus strains).

These materials are used for further development and testing of vaccines against HIV and are prepared and tested under GCLP.

In June 2004 at the world economic summit in Sea Island (Georgia, USA), the G8-States called for a global initiative to develop a vaccine against human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) the pathogen that causes the immunodeficiency disease AIDS. One of these global initiatives for the development of HIV vaccines is the Collaboration for AIDS Vaccine Discovery (CAVD). Its goals include establishing coordinated global development centers (including the Fraunhofer IBMT consortium) for an HIV vaccine. These activities are funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates-Foundation.

The Bill & Melinda Gates-Foundation is the largest private foundation in the world. It supports programs to fight infectious diseases especially tuberculosis, HIV, and malaria. Projects that are selected are especially practical and have global medical benefits especially for third world countries.

This global activity is an important component of the HIV vaccine development. In this program the international consortium coordinated by the Fraunhofer-Institute for Biomedical Engineering (IBMT) was commissioned to develop and install one of the most modern global HIV cryobanks (Global HIV Vaccine Research Cryobank – GHRC).

The project is based on many years of preparatory work - on the one hand, the work of the HIV network coordinated by the WHO-UNAIDS and on the other hand on developments of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft in the field of cryotechnology. Partners in the project are renowned organizations from Europe and the US: the World Health Organization (WHO) in Geneva, the National Institute for Biological Standards and Control (NIBSC) in London, the San Raffaele Scientific Institute (DIBIT) in Milan, the University of Lund, the University of the Saarland, and regional laboratories in emerging nations (e.g. Stellenbosch University in Kapstadt, South Africa).

For the 3 year project, the consortium had a budget of a little more than 9 million dollars. 7.5 million US$ were from the Gates-Foundation and the rest from German cofinancing (about 1.2 million US$ from the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and 600.000 US$ from the Department of Commerce of the Saarland). The project is currently in its second renewal phase and is being supported with 6.5 million US$ in both extension periods by the already mentioned contributors.

In 2006 an international consortium coordinated by the Fraunhofer-Institute for Biomedical Engineering (IBMT) received the first project of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. As part of the Collaboration for AIDS Vaccine Discovery – CAVD, the project will establish exemplarily an HIV biobank for the vaccine development against AIDS.

The project is based on many years of preparatory work. On the one hand, the work of the HIV network coordinated by the WHO-UNAIDS and on the other hand on developments of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft in the field of cryotechnology. The HI-virus remains an unsolved problem. There is still no vaccine despite decades of research. This is partly due to the pronounced ability of these viruses to adapt. Their mutability has led to the spread of numerous virus variants worldwide and to their proliferation in cells of the immune system of infected persons. An essential tool for the research and vaccine development is, therefore, virus banks. These virus collections are becoming more valuable and extensive. They are currently decentrally distributed and technically insufficiently standardized. The attempt of the international consortium is to quickly plan and establish a central HIV bank in the form of an exemplary, modern cryobank. In this HIV bank viruses and cells of the immune system as well as derivational reagents will be perfectly conserved at temperatures of liquid nitrogen. They can be retrieved at any time.  

Characteristic for the Fraunhofer technology platform is for example that biological samples can be deposited in tiny closed substrates which allow the retrieval of part of the individual samples at very low temperatures. The advantage of these methods that were developed as part of the microsystem technology and nanobiotechnology projects of the BMBF is that the remaining valuable samples remain in cold and safe storage. Another component of the chain of cryobank developments is the electronic memory chip which is suitable for very low temperatures and is fixed to the sample. It can be read and labeled even at -180 °C. This frozen cryoworld is comparable to temperatures as they occur on Neptune. This is an invention that was not just important for cryobanks, but also for travel into outer space. The cryotanks contain the information of the central databank on each sample without error. Thus, portions of the central databank exist decentralized. A wrongly deposited sample would for example be identified and corrected through the continuous communication of the central databank with the frozen chips in 2 m high cryotanks. This technology sets standards not only for HIV collection. At the same time it is a key element in the emerging cell banking of stem cells and their use in regenerative medicine.

However, aside from establishing a unique virus bank, the storage of various reagents that are necessary for vaccine research is important. They will be available for the comprehensive virological and immunological characterization and will form the basis for developing further vaccines as well as therapies. The samples and the important primary biological data that is gained from them for biocomputer science can be accessed by scientist throughout the world.

The first S3 cryobank worldwide, an HIV-cryorepository, was officially brought into service at the Fraunhofer IBMT at the Sulzbach location, following a 2-step positive evaluation by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation on September 14, 2007. Thus, the IBMT accommodates perhaps the most modern biobank in the world with electronic sample identification, chips fit for very low temperatures on every sample tube, and a high level of automation. In July 2009 the pilot-phase of this project was successfully completed in all points under the coordination of the Fraunhofer IBMT in close cooperation with 11 international partners. In 2009 the biobank and the associated laboratories were certified according to the European as well as the American GCLP-guidelines (Good Clinical Laboratory Practice).

Immediately after the project was completed the IBMT received an award of a second project. It will promote the expansion and international networking of the research bank on the one hand and develop urgently needed laboratory robots that will speed up vaccine development on the other hand. The expansion of the IBMT biobank technology can be used in many clinical and biotechnological applications. This project is also coordinated by Fraunhofer IBMT in close cooperation with the Medical Faculty of the University of the Saarland, the World Health Organization (WHO, Geneva), the National Institute for Biological Standards and Control (NIBSC, Great Britain), the University in Lund (Sweden), the San Raffaele Scientific Institute (DIBIT, Italy), the Instituto de Biologia Experimental e Tecnológica (IBET, Portugal), and the Universitat Pompeu Fabra (UPF, Spain), as well as a network of medical organizations in third world countries.

HIV Specimen Cyrorepository

  • Design and implementation of fully integrated, automated biobanks
  • Design of biobanks for infectious materials up to biosafety level
  • (BSL)-3Concepts and innovative hardware and software components in cryoprocessing and cryoequipment (smart cryovials, freezing/thawing as well as storage systems, lab & data management systems, development of mobile labs up to BSL-3)
  • Central backup-storage and sample management
  • Support services for clinical vaccine studies
  • Provision of cryomedia and protocols for controlled sample conservation

Social Bookmarks

Global HIV Vaccine Research Cryorepository (GHRC)

Eine zukunftsweisende Plattform zur Sammlung, Präparation, Konservierung und Verteilung von Reagenzien und klinischen Proben für weltweite Netzwerke unter Einsatz optimierter Prozesse der Probenaufarbeitung und deren Kryokonservierung steht am Fraunhofer IBMT zur Verfügung. Am Fraunhofer IBMT wurde im Rahmen der globalen Initiative zur Entwicklung eines HIV-Impfstoffes (Collaboration for AIDS Vaccine Discovery – CAVD), die von der Bill & Melinda Gates-Foundation finanziell getragen wird, eine globale HIV-Kryobank der Sicherheitsstufe S3 aufgebaut.

In dieser einzigartigen Bank für Viren und andere Mikroorganismen stehen die unterschiedlichsten für die Impfstoffforschung benötigten und daraus entwickelten Reagenzien zur Verfügung, die dann für eine umfassende molekularbiologische und immunologische Charakterisierung eingesetzt werden. Die HIV-Kryobank untersteht einem zertifizierten Qualitätssicherungsprogramm, das das Arbeiten nach den Richtlinien der Good Clinical Laboratory Practice (GCLP) kontrolliert.

Eine weitere Entwicklung ist ferner die automatisierte Produktion spezieller Agenzien (z. B. von HIV-1 Env- Pseudovirusstämmen). Diese Materialien, welche unter GCLP hergestellt und getestet werden, werden für die weitere Entwicklung und Testung von Impfstoffen gegen HIV genutzt.

Im Juni 2004 riefen die G8-Staaten auf ihrem Weltwirtschaftgipfel in Sea Island (Georgia, USA) zu einer globalen Initiative auf, die der Entwicklung eines Impfstoffes gegen das Humane Immundefizienzvirus (HIV), des Erregers der Immunschwächekrankheit AIDS, dienen soll. Eine dieser globale Initiativen für die Entwicklung eines HIV-Impfstoffes ist die Collaboration for AIDS Vaccine Discovery (CAVD), welche unter anderem den Aufbau koordinierter globaler Entwicklungszentren (einschließlich des Fraunhofer IBMT Konsortiums) für einen HIV-Impfstoff zum Ziel haben. Diese Aktivitäten werden durch die Bill & Melinda Gates-Stiftung finanziell unterstützt.

Die Bill & Melinda Gates-Stiftung ist die weltweit größte private Stiftung und fördert Programme zur Bekämpfung von Infektionskrankheiten, insbesondere Tuberkulose, HIV und Malaria. Das Evaluationsverfahren wählt Projekte aus, die sich durch besondere Anwendungsnähe und einen globalen medizinischen Nutzen, insbesondere für Entwicklungsländer, auszeichnen.

Diese globale Aktivität gilt als ein wichtiger Baustein bei der Entwicklung eines HIV-Impfstoffs. In diesem Programm erhielt das internationale Konsortium unter Koordination des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Biomedizinische Technik (IBMT) den Zuschlag mit der Aufgabe der Entwicklung und Installation einer der modernsten globalen HIV-Kryobanken (Global HIV Vaccine Research Cryobank – GHRC).

Das Projekt geht auf langjährige Vorarbeiten zurück, einerseits auf die Arbeiten des WHO-UNAIDS-koordinierten HIV-Netzwerkes und andererseits auf die Entwicklungen der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft im Bereich der Kryotechnologien. Partner in dem Projekt sind namhafte Einrichtungen aus Europa und den USA: die Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) in Genf, das National Institute for Biological Standards and Control (NIBSC) in London, das San Raffaele Scientific Institute (DIBIT) in Mailand, die Universität Lund, die Universität des Saarlandes sowie regionale Labore in Schwellenländern (z. B. Stellenbosch University in Kapstadt, Südafrika).

Dem Konsortium stand in dem zunächst für drei Jahre angelegten Projekt ein Budget von etwas mehr als neun Millionen Dollar zur Verfügung, davon 7,5 Millionen US$ Zuwendung von der Gates-Stiftung und weiterhin deutsche Kofinanzierungen durch die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft mit rund 1,2 Millionen US$ und durch das Wirtschaftsministerium des Saarlandes mit 600.000 US$. Das Projekt befindet sich aktuell in der zweiten Verlängerung und wird weiterhin von den genannten Zuwendungsgebern mit 6,5 Millionen US$ in den beiden Verlängerungsperioden unterstützt.

Im Jahr 2006 erhielt ein internationales Konsortium, koordiniert durch das Fraunhofer-Institut für Biomedizinische Technik (IBMT), ein erstes Projekt der Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation zum Aufbau einer beispielhaften HIV-Biobank für die Impfstoffentwicklung gegen AIDS im Rahmen der Collaboration for AIDS Vaccine Discovery – CAVD.

Das Projekt geht auf langjährige Vorarbeiten zurück, einerseits auf die Arbeiten des WHO-UNAIDS-koordinierten HIV-Netzwerkes und andererseits auf die Entwicklungen der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft im Bereich der Kryotechnologien. Das HI-Virus stellt nach wie vor ein ungelöstes Problem dar. Ein Impfstoff existiert trotz jahrzehntelanger Forschung immer noch nicht. Dies liegt unter anderem an der ausgeprägten Anpassungsfähigkeit dieser Viren, deren Wandlungsfähigkeit mittlerweile zur Verbreitung zahlreicher Virusvarianten auf der Welt geführt hat, und ihrer Vermehrung gerade in den Zellen des Immunsystems der Infizierten.

Ein unabdingbares Instrument für die Forschung und Impfstoffentwicklung stellen deshalb Virensammlungen dar. Diese immer wertvoller und umfangreicher werdenden Virensammlungen sind zurzeit stark dezentral verteilt und technologisch unzureichend standardisiert. Der Vorstoß des internationalen Konsortiums war es nun, in kürzester Zeit eine zentrale HIV-Bank in Form einer beispielgebenden, modernen Kryobank zu konzipieren und zu errichten. In dieser HIV-Bank sollen Viren und Zellen des Immunsystems sowie andere daraus abgeleitete Reagenzien bei Temperaturen des flüssigen Stickstoffs perfekt konserviert werden und sind jederzeit abrufbar.

Charakteristisch für die Fraunhofer-Technologieplattform ist beispielsweise, dass die biologischen Proben in kleinsten geschlossenen Substraten abgelegt werden, die die Entnahme einzelner Probenteile bei tiefsten Temperaturen erlauben. Der Vorteil dieser im Rahmen von Mikrosystemtechnik- und Nanobiotechnologie-Projekten des BMBF entwickelten Verfahren ist, dass der Rest der wertvollen Probe kalt und damit sicher aufbewahrt bleibt. Ein weiteres Glied in der Kette der Kryobank-Entwicklungen bilden tieftemperaturtaugliche elektronische Speicherchips, die fest mit der Probe verbunden sind. Sie lassen sich auch noch bei -180 °C, also in einer eiskalten Kryowelt wie sie vergleichsweise auf dem Planeten Neptun anzutreffen wäre, lesen und beschreiben. Auch das ist eine Entwicklung, die nicht nur für Kryobanken, sondern auch für die Raumfahrt bedeutungsvoll ist. In den Kryotanks liegen damit unverwechselbar mit jeder Probe verbunden noch einmal die Informationen der zentralen Datenbank portionsweise dezentral vor. Eine falsch abgelegte Probe würde z. B. durch die permanente Kommunikation der zentralen Datenbank mit den tiefkalten Chips in den 2 m hohen Kryobehältern automatisch erkannt und korrigiert werden. Diese Technologie setzt Standards nicht nur für die HIV-Ablage. Sie ist zugleich ein Kernelement des gerade beginnenden Zellbankings im Zusammenhang mit Stammzellen und deren Nutzung für die Regenerative Medizin.

In dem Projekt wird jedoch nicht nur eine einzigartige Virenbank aufgebaut, vielmehr ist geplant, daneben unterschiedlichste für die Impfstoffforschung benötigte und daraus entwickelte Reagenzien in der Bank abzulegen, die für eine umfassende virologische und immunologische Charakterisierung zur Verfügung stehen und die Basis für die weitere Entwicklung von Impfstoffen und auch neuer Therapien darstellen. Auf die Proben und daraus gewonnenen wichtigen biologischen Primärdaten für die Bioinformatik können dann Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt zugreifen.

Nach zweistufiger positiver Evaluierung durch die Bill & Melinda Gates Stiftung am 14. September 2007 wurde am Fraunhofer IBMT am Standort Sulzbach die weltweit erste Kryobank der Sicherheitsstufe S3, ein globales HIV-Cryorepository, offiziell in Betrieb genommen. Das IBMT beherbergt damit die wohl modernste Biobank der Welt, mit elektronischer Identifizierung der Proben, tieftemperaturtauglichen Speicherchips an jedem Probenröhrchen und einem hohen Grad an Automatisierung. Im Juli 2009 wurde die Pilot-Phase des Projekts unter der Koordination des Fraunhofer IBMT in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den 11 internationalen Partnern in allen Punkten erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Dabei wurde 2009 die Biobank mit den angegliederten Laboren nach den europäischen als auch amerikanischen GCLP-Richtlinien (Good Clinical Laboratory Practice) zertifiziert.

Unmittelbar nach Abschluss des Projekts erhielt das IBMT den Zuschlag für ein zweites Projekt, in dem einmal die Erweiterung der Forschungsbank und deren internationale Vernetzung vorangetrieben werden soll, zum anderen dringend benötigte Laborautomaten, die die Impfstoffentwicklung beschleunigen werden, aufzubauen sind. Der Ausbau der IBMT-Biobanktechnologie kann auf viele klinische und biotechnologische Anwendungen übertragen werden. Auch dieses Projekt wird vom Fraunhofer IBMT koordiniert, in enger Kooperation mit der Medizinischen Fakultät der Universität des Saarlandes, der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO, Genf), dem National Institute for Biological Standards and Control (NIBSC, Großbritannien), der Universität in Lund (Schweden), dem San Raffaele Scientific Institute (DIBIT, Italien), dem Instituto de Biologia Experimental e Tecnológica (IBET, Portugal) und der Universitat Pompeu Fabra (UPF, Spanien) sowie einem Netzwerk von medizinischen Einrichtungen in Entwicklungsländern.

HIV Specimen Cyrorepository

  • Design und Realisierung voll integrierter, automatisierter Biobanken
  • Design von Biobanken für infektiöses Material bis Biosicherheitsstufe (BSL)-3
  • Konzepte und innovative Hard- und Software-Komponenten im Bereich des Kryoprocessings und -equipments (smart cryovials, Einfrier-/Auftau- sowie Lagersysteme, Labor- & Datenmanagementsystem, Entwicklung mobiler Labore bis BSL-3)
  • zentrale Backup-Lagerung und Probenmanagement
  • Unterstützungsdienstleistungen für klinische Impfstoffstudien
  • Bereitstellung von Kryomedien und Protokollen für die kontrollierte Probenkonservierung