Myoplant – Implants for bionic hand prosthesis

The focus of the project “Myoplant” is developing a bionic (i.e. simulating the human model) hand prosthesis. The complexity of the the hand prosthesis movement increases with the demand on its operation and the information interface for the prosthesis regulation. Ideally prostheses should operate intuitively i.e. without major training for the wearer. The prosthesis in the project “Myoplant” will be based on a myogen-regulated intelligent implant i.e. via muscle signals. The Fraunhofer IBMT is developing biological-technological interfaces (including processes and technology) for manufacturing and evaluating microimplants. In addition, the communication with the implant and the telemetric energy supply are being developed.

The hand is the most important part of the human locomotor system. It has 22 degrees of freedom and is capable of reaching a grip strength of 500 N for a weight of only 400g and a volume of 50 cm³. The number of sensors is 17 000 including those for position, movement, strength, pressure, acceleration, temperature, and pain. Therefore, the loss of an extremity is always a dramatic incident for the person concerned. To compensate, aside from functional aspects, cosmetic ones have to be considered.

To participate in everyday life as inconspicuously as possible, it is particularly important for the prosthesis wearer that the artificial limb is modeled as realistically as possible. However, the functionality of the prosthesis is also essential for its acceptance. Aside from purely motor aspects (the restoration of different grips), increasingly high expectations are put on the sensors. For example, if wearers hold a hot cup of coffee in their hand, grip strength, surface character, weight, and temperature are important. This requires the integration of actuators and sensors in the prosthesis and also the generation of interfaces between biological and technical systems.

Initial situation

The status quo in myoelectric hand prosthesis is the sequential regulation of individual prosthesis movements. Upward and downward movements of the wrist, for example, can only be performed using the same signal after the hand is opened or closed. The change between the two motion modes occurs by co-contractions or a switch. The muscle activity for regulation is registered by surface electrodes. Sensory feedback is currently not available.

Project goals

The goal of this project is to develop a bionic hand prosthesis based on myogenically regulated intelligent implants to significantly improve the prosthesis’s functionality and its wearing comfort. On the one hand, this will be achieved by providing the artificial limbs with complex motion procedures and on the other hand by multifunctional intuitive regulation.

This system will register, process, and transmit signals that will steer the hand prosthesis. The implant will be supplied wirelessly with energy and the communication will occur via transcutaneous interfaces. The necessary key components provide the best possible functionality for the preparation of intelligent implants considering intermediate term solutions.

The complete system will consist of the following components:

  • Implantable flexible microelectrodes for invasive registration of myogenic activity
  • Signal preparation and signal processing
  • Telemetric modules for wireless signal transmission
  • Inductive energy transmission
  • Pattern recognition and classification of the signals
  • Signal processing and recognition of the desired hand movement
  • Prosthesis regulation
  • The actual hand prosthesis
  • Surface electrodes for sensory feedback

For the development and implementation of bionic hand prostheses, the project partners will take over the following tasks in Myoplant:

  • Otto Bock HealthCare GmbH
    Pattern recognition and signal processing, supply of arm prosthesis, adaptation of prosthesis to telemetric interface, integration of sensors in the prosthesis, energy supply of the prosthesis, system integration, system evaluation, sensory feedback.
  • Werner-Wicker-Clinic
    Medical evaluation of the subsystems and complete system, development of implantation methods, implantation in animal models.
  • German Primate Center
    Preparation, care, and analysis of experiments in animal models.
  • Technical University Hamburg-Harburg
    Development and programming of highly integrated implant electronics.
  • Fraunhofer-Institute for Biomedical Engineering
    Microsystem technical interface for the divertion of myogenic signals in animal models, capsling, implant telemetric interface, wireless implant energy supply, surface electrodes for skin stimulation.

 

Funding: 16SV3697
Funding period: 08/2008 – 06/2011


The myoplant complete system has been implemented over several weeks in an animal model. The complete transmission path has been evaluated. At the Primate Center, the microelectrodes were epimyisally implanted on a Rhesus monkey’s triceps, biceps, and deltaideus. The implant module was positioned in the shoulder region. Energy was supplied without an energy buffer with an outside inductive link.

The myogenic signals that were registered in 4 channels are processed by the implant electronics. They are transmitted via an interface to an extracorporal base station. There a channel separation and data analysis takes place. Following a signal classification, these processed data will generate highly selective commands for the bionic hand prosthesis.

Myoplant – Implantat für bionische Handprothese

Im Projekt »Myoplant« steht die Vorbereitung der Anwendung einer bionischen, also dem menschlichen Vorbild nachgeahmten, Handprothese im Mittelpunkt. Die Komplexität der Bewegungen einer Handprothese steigt mit den Anforderungen an die Bedienung und die Informationsschnittstelle zur Steuerung der Prothese. Idealer Weise sollte eine Prothese intuitiv, d. h. ohne großen Lernaufwand durch ihren Träger, zu bedienen sein.

Die Prothese im Projekt »Myoplant« soll auf der Grundlage eines myogen-gesteuerten intelligenten Implantates, d. h. über Muskelsignale erfolgen. Das Fraunhofer IBMT entwickelt die biologisch-technischen Schnittstellen einschließlich der Technologien und Prozesse zur Fertigung und Evaluation des Mikroimplantats sowie die Kommunikation mit dem Implantat und die telemetrische Energieversorgung.

Die Hand ist der wichtigste Teil des menschlichen Bewegungsapparats. Sie verfügt über 22 Freiheitsgrade und kann bei einem Gewicht von nur 400 g und einem Volumen von 50 cm³ eine Griffkraft von mehr als 500 N entwickeln. Die Zahl der Sensoren beträgt 17 000, einschließlich der Sensoren für Position, Bewegung, Kraft, Druck, Beschleunigung, Temperatur und Schmerz. Daher stellt der Verlust der Extremität immer ein dramatisches Ereignis für die betroffene Person dar. Um dies weitgehend zu kompensieren, müssen neben den funktionellen auch kosmetische Aspekte in Betracht gezogen werden.

So ist es den Prothesenträgern besonders wichtig, dass die künstliche Gliedmaße möglichst naturgetreu nachgebildet wird, um unauffällig am alltäglichen Leben teilnehmen zu können. Für die Akzeptanz einer Prothese ist aber auch die Funktionalität entscheidend. Neben rein motorischen Aspekten, der Wiederherstellung unterschiedlicher Griffe, werden zunehmend immer höhere Erwartungen auch an die Sensorik gestellt. Hält ein Betroffener beispielsweise eine Tasse mit heißem Kaffee in der Hand, so sind Informationen über die Griffkraft, Oberflächenbeschaffenheit, Gewicht und Temperatur für ihn interessant. Dies erfordert die Integration von Aktuatoren und Sensoren in die Prothese aber auch die Schaffung einer bidirektionalen Schnittstelle zwischen dem biologischen und technischen System.


Ausgangslage

Derzeitiger Stand der Technik bei myoelektrischen Handprothesen ist die sequenzielle Ansteuerung einzelner Prothesenbewegungen. Aufwärts- und Einwärtsdrehungen des Handgelenks können beispielsweise über dasselbe Steuersignal nur nach einem Öffnen oder Schließen der Hand durchgeführt werden. Das Umschalten zwischen den beiden Bewegungsmodi erfolgt über eine Co-Kontraktion oder über einen Schalter. Die für die Steuerung eingesetzten Muskelaktivitäten werden mittels Oberflächenelektroden erfasst. Ein sensorisches Feedback ist derzeit nicht möglich.

Projektziele

Das Ziel des Projekts ist die Entwicklung eines bionischen Handprothesensystems auf der Basis eines myogen-gesteuerten intelligenten Implantats zur wesentlichen Steigerung der Funktionalität und des Tragekomforts der Prothesen. Dies soll zum einen durch die Bereitstellung komplexer Bewegungsabläufe der künstlichen Gliedmaße und zum anderen durch die Ermöglichung einer multifunktionalen intuitiven Steuerung erreicht werden. Dieses System soll der Erfassung, Vorverarbeitung und Übertragung von Signalen dienen, welche die Handprothese steuern sollen.

Das Implantat wird kabellos mit Energie versorgt und die Kommunikation mittels transkutaner Schnittstelle realisiert. Die erforderlichen Schlüsselkomponenten dienen dem Erreichen einer bestmöglichen Funktionsfähigkeit unter mittelfristigen Lösungen notwendiger technologischer Fragestellungen der Mikrosystemtechnik bei der Fertigung von intelligenten Implantaten.

Das Gesamtsystem soll aus folgenden Komponenten bestehen:

  • Implantierbare flexible Mikroelektroden für die invasive Erfassung myogener Aktivitäten
  • Signalaufbereitung und Signalvorverarbeitung
  • Telemetriemodul zur kabellosen Signalübertragung
  • induktive Energieübertragung
  • Mustererkennung und Klassifizierung der Signale
  • Signalverarbeitung und Erkennung der gewünschten Handbewegung
  • Prothesensteuerung
  • die eigentliche Handprothese
  • Oberflächenelektroden für das sensorische Feedback

 

Für die Entwicklung und den Aufbau der bionischen Handprothese werden von den Projektpartnern innerhalb von Myoplant folgende Aufgaben übernommen:

  • Otto Bock HealthCare GmbH
    Mustererkennung und Signalverarbeitung, Bereitstellung Armprothese, Adaption der Prothese an die Telemetrieschnittstelle, Integration von Sensoren in die Prothese, Energieversorgung der Prothese, Systemintegration, Systemevaluierung, sensorisches Feedback
  • Werner-Wicker-Klinik
    Medizinische Evaluierung der Sub-Systeme und des Gesamtsystems, Entwicklung der Implantationsmethode, Implantation am Tiermodell.
  • Deutsches Primatenzentrum
    Vorbereitung, Betreuung und Auswertung der Experimente am Tiermodell.
  • Technische Universität Hamburg-Harburg
    Entwicklung und Programmierung der hochintegrierten Implantatelektronik.
  • Fraunhofer-Institut für Biomedizinische Technik
    Mikosystemtechnische Schnittstelle zur Ableitung von myogenen Signalen am Tiermodell, Kapselung, Telemetrieschnittstelle des Implantats, kabellose Energieversorgung des Implantats, Oberflächenelektroden zur Stimulation der Haut.

 

Förderung: 16SV3697
Förderzeitraum: 08/2008 – 06/2011

Das entwickelte Myoplant-Gesamtsystem wurde über mehrere Wochen im Tiermodell erfolgreich eingesetzt und die gesamte Übertragungsstrecke evaluiert. Am Deutschen Primatenzentrum wurden die Mikroelektroden epimysial auf Trizeps, Bizeps und Deltoideus eines Rhesus-Makaken implantiert. Das Implantatmodul wurde im Schulterbereich positioniert. Die Energieversorgung erfolgt ohne Energiepufferung mit einem induktiven Link von außen.

Die vierkanalig erfassten myogenen Signale werden von der Implantatelektronik vorverarbeitet und über eine Funkschnittstelle zu einer extrakorporalen Basisstation versendet. Dort findet die Kanaltrennung und Datenanalyse statt. Die so aufbereiteten Daten sollen nach einer Signalklassifizierung hochselektive Steuerbefehle für die bionische Handprothese generieren.