p-medicine – An ICT-infrastructure for personalized medicine

“p-medicine - From data sharing and integration via VPH models to personalized medicine” is a 4 year integrated EU-project of the 7th Research Framework Program which develops new tools, IT-infrastructure, and simulation models for disease processes.

The purpose is to promote personalized medicine for the benefit of the patient. Nineteen partners from 9 European countries and Japan have joined forces in p-medicine to solve current problems of clinical research with new information and innovative technologies and to pave the way for stronger individualized therapies.

Information and knowledge from postgenetic research and from combined genetic and clinical studies, on the one hand, and progress in high performance computers and computer science, on the other hand, offers clinicians and scientists huge possibilities to improve the prognosis of cancer patients using individualized treatments. This makes the realization of personalized medicine possible.

Necessary conditions for the improvement of cancer therapies are the multi-level collection of data and biomaterial in clinical-genomic studies and their interdisciplinary analysis by clinicians, molecular biologists, and other specialists from life sciences.

For this purpose it is necessary to combine research data and results from biomolecular studies, imaging processes, scientific literature, and patients’ clinical data. This information must be analyzable by the user and available to all operators. The access to biomaterial with specific characteristics and its data also plays an important role. The p-medicine-partners combine their forces to establish an IT-infrastructure that promotes the transition from current practice to personalized medicine.


The telematic support of care in the health care system is becoming increasingly important. Due to the demographic change, personal health care systems and intelligent assistance for seniors and the chronically ill is necessary.

“Personalized medicine” is the new motto in health research and care: a patient’s molecular biological and clinical data will be more strongly linked, processed, and utilized to be able to diagnose earlier and to treat patients more effectively and with fewer side effects using individualized therapies.

New and continuously growing knowledge from basic science leads to an immense increase of clinical, genetic, and molecular information on the patients and their diseases. This flood of information can only contribute to further knowledge for individualized medical care if networking is augmented by ICT (information and communication technology)

The European ICT-large scale research project “p-medicine” was started in February 2011 and co-initiated by the Fraunhofer IBMT. In cancer research and treatment it will help improve individual therapies for cancer patients.

Comprehensive data from clinical studies (initially on kidney and breast cancer as well as leukemia) will allow physicians to simulate malignant disease on a computer. This will significantly support doctors in planning treatments. At the same time computer applications ("Apps") will better inform patients. It will help them decide on treatments and better inform them on the use of their tumor material for research.

The project will pave the way for personalized medicine with an innovative ICT-infrastructure and software tools. This will be the basis for more efficient, linked clinical research and the transfer of results to clinical practice. As a key IT-partner and co-initiator of the project “p-medicine”, the Department of Telematics & Intelligent Health Care Systems of the Fraunhofer IBMT contributes its many years of expertise in biobank information systems and clinical data collection and integration.

In the task force “Access to Biobanks” the partners’ tumor banks are linked to Fraunhofer’s know-how under reserve of the donors’ personal rights and the autonomy of the participating biobanks.

Project partner

The task forces Telematics & Intelligent Health Care Systems (location St. Ingbert) and biodatabanks (location Potsdam-Golm) of the Fraunhofer IBMT are working together with 19 other European, Israeli, and Japanese partner organizations in the project “p-medicine”. The EU is supporting the project for a period of 4 years with 13.3 million € as part of the 7th Research Framework Program.

Funding period: 02/2011 - 01/2014

www.p-medicine.eu

An innovative data management platform will combine patient related data, imaging data from radiology, as well as laboratory and molecular genetic patient data. It will be available in a data warehouse while adhering to data protection. Using further IT-tools these data will be accessible for clinical cancer research. The access to patients’ tumor material will significantly expand this database for scientists.

In the task force “Access to Biobanks” the partners’ tumor banks will be linked to Fraunhofer’s know-how under reserve of the donors’ personal rights and the autonomy of the participating biobanks. As a network concept the CRIP-toolbox of the IBMT-task force “Biodatabanks” will be integrated into the “p-medicine”-infrastructure. The Department of Telematics & Intelligent Health Care Systems will contribute its ontology based study management system ObTiMA that was developed with the University Clinic of the Saarland to implement multicenter studies to the ICT-infrastructure.

ObTiMA will be supplemented by a special biobank module that allows the management of samples and analyzed data of a study cohort. Clinical data and sample data can be simply merged. Thanks to the ontology annotation, all data in the ObTiMA can be analyzed also spanning different studies. Furthermore, the biomaterial data collected in the ObTiMA may be linked for material requests to other biobanks using the CRIP-toolbox. Also the task force "p-medicine"-portal is developing a label for "p-medicine"-infrastructure, that will give scientists and clinicians access to the ICT-resources.

p-medicine – IKT-Infrastruktur für personalisierte Medizin

»p-medicine – From data sharing and integration via VPH models to personalized medicine« ist ein vierjähriges Integriertes EU-Projekt des 7. Forschungsrahmenprogrammes, das neue Werkzeuge, IT-Infrastrukturen und Simulationsmodelle für Krankheitsprozesse entwickelt, um die personalisierte Medizin zum Nutzen des Patienten voranzutreiben.

In p-medicine haben sich 19 Partner aus 9 europäischen Ländern und aus Japan zusammengeschlossen, um mit neuem Wissen und innovativen Technologien aktuelle Probleme der klinischen Forschung zu überwinden und den Weg zu stärker individualisierten Therapien zu ebnen.

Informationen und Wissen aus der postgenetischen Forschung und von kombinierten genetischen und klinischen Studien auf der einen Seite, sowie Fortschritte im Hochleistungsrechnen und der Informatik auf der anderen Seite, schaffen Klinikern und Wissenschaftlern enorme Möglichkeiten, die Prognose von Patienten mit Krebserkrankungen durch individualisierte Behandlung zu verbessern und so personalisierte Medizin zu verwirklichen.

Die vielschichtige Sammlung von Daten nebst Biomaterial in klinisch-genomischen Studien und deren interdisziplinäre Analyse durch Kliniker, Molekularbiologen und andere Spezialisten aus den Lebenswissenschaften ist notwendige Voraussetzung für die Verbesserung von Krebstherapien.

Dazu ist es erforderlich, Forschungsdaten und -ergebnisse aus biomolekularen Untersuchungen, bildgebenden Verfahren und der wissenschaftlichen Literatur sowie klinische Daten des Patienten zusammenzuführen und für Anwender analysierbar und gemeinsam nutzbar zu machen. Dabei spielt auch der Zugang zu Biomaterial mit spezifischen Eigenschaften und seinen Daten eine entscheidende Rolle. Die p-medicine-Partner bündeln ihre Kräfte um eine IT-Infrastruktur zu schaffen, die den Übergang von der aktuellen Praxis in die personalisierte Medizin fördert.   

Der Telematikunterstützung von Versorgungsabläufen im Gesundheitssystem kommt eine immer größere Bedeutung zu. Vor dem Hintergrund des demographischen Wandels werden persönliche Gesundheitssysteme und intelligente Assistenten für Senioren und chronisch Kranke notwendig.

»Personalisierte Medizin« heißt die neue Devise in der Gesundheitsforschung und der Gesundheitsversorgung: Molekularbiologische und klinische Daten eines Patienten sollen stärker verknüpft, verarbeitet und genutzt werden, um Diagnosen früher zu stellen und den Patienten mit einer auf ihn abgestimmten Therapie wirksamer und nebenwirkungsärmer zu behandeln.

Neue und stetig wachsende Erkenntnisse aus den Grundlagenwissenschaften führen zu einem immensen Anstieg klinischer, genetischer und molekularer Informationen über den Patienten und seine Erkrankung. Diese Informationsflut kann nur durch verstärkt vernetze klinische Forschung unter Nutzung von IKT (Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie) zum weiteren Erkenntnisgewinn für individualisierte medizinische Versorgung beitragen.

Das im Februar 2011 gestartete und vom Fraunhofer IBMT mitinitiierte, europäische IKT-Großforschungsprojekt »p-medicine« soll in der Krebsforschung und Krebstherapie dabei helfen, die individuelle Therapie für Krebspatienten zu verbessern.

Dazu sollen dem Arzt künftig umfangreiche Daten aus klinischen Studien (zunächst zu Nieren- und Brustkrebs sowie Leukämie) die Computersimulation der Tumorerkrankung erlauben, um damit seine Therapieplanung entscheidend zu unterstützen. Gleichzeitig sollen Patienten mit Computeranwendungen (»Apps«) bei ihren Entscheidungen über ihre Behandlung und bei der Verwendung ihres Tumormaterials für die Forschung besser informiert werden.

Das Projekt legt mit einer innovativen IKT-Infrastruktur nebst zugehörigen Softwarewerkzeugen die Basis für eine effizientere, vernetzte klinische Forschung und den Transfer ihrer Ergebnisse in die klinische Routine und ebnet so den Weg für eine personalisierte Medizin. Als zentraler IT-Partner und Mitinitiator des Projekts »p-medicine« bringt die Abteilung Telematik & Intelligente Gesundheitssysteme des Fraunhofer IBMT ihre langjährige Expertise auf dem Gebiet der Biobankeninformationssysteme, der klinischen Datenerhebung und Datenintegration ein.

So werden im Arbeitspaket »Zugang zu Biobanken« mit Fraunhofer-Know-how die Tumorbanken der Partner unter Wahrung der Persönlichkeitsrechte der Probenspender und der Autonomie der beteiligten Biobanken vernetzt.

Projektpartner

Im Projekt »p-medicine« arbeiten die Arbeitsgruppen Telematik & Intelligente Gesundheitssysteme (Standort St. Ingbert) und Biodatenbanken (Standort Potsdam-Golm) des Fraunhofer IBMT mit 19 weiteren Partnerinstitutionen aus Europa, Israel und Japan zusammen. Die EU fördert das Projekt im 7. Forschungsrahmenprogramm über vier Jahre mit 13,3 Millionen €.

Förderzeitraum: 02/2011 - 01/2014

www.p-medicine.eu

Eine innovative Datenmanagementplattform wird patientenbezogene klinische Daten, bildgebende Daten aus der Radiologie, Labor- und molekulargenetische Daten eines Patienten in einem Datawarehouse unter Berücksichtigung des Datenschutzes zusammenführen und für die klinische Krebsforschung durch weitere IT-Werkzeuge nutzbar machen. Für die Forscher wird diese Datenbasis durch den Zugang zu Tumormaterial der Patienten entscheidend ergänzt.

Dazu werden im Arbeitspaket »Zugang zu Biobanken« mit Fraunhofer-Know-how die Tumorbanken der Partner unter Wahrung der Persönlichkeitsrechte der Probenspender vernetzt. Als Vernetzungskonzept wird die CRIP-Toolbox der IBMT-Arbeitsgruppe »Biodatenbanken« in die »p-medicine«-Infrastruktur integriert. Die Abteilung Telematik & Intelligente Gesundheitssysteme bringt ihr in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Uniklinikum des Saarlandes entwickeltes, ontologiebasiertes Studienmanagementsystem ObTiMA zur Durchführung multizentrischer Studien in die IKT-Infrastruktur ein.

ObTiMA wird dabei um ein spezielles Biobankmodul ergänzt, das die Verwaltung von Proben einer Studienkohorte und ihrer Analysedaten ermöglicht. Damit können klinische Daten und Probendaten auf einfachste Weise zusammengeführt werden und dank der Ontologieannotation aller Daten in ObTiMA auch studienübergreifend analysiert werden. Die über ObTiMA erhobenen Biomaterialdaten werden ferner über die CRIP-Toolbox für Materialanfragen mit anderen Biobanken vernetzt werden können. Zudem entwickelt die Arbeitsgruppe mit dem »p-medicine«-Portal das Aushängeschild der »p-medicine«-Infrastruktur, das Forschern und Klinikern Zugang zu den IKT-Ressourcen gewähren wird.