Theravision – Platform Technology for the Development, Production and Testing of oncolytic Viruses

Viruses are capable of efficiently penetrating cells. There they produce their own proteins, multiply, and ultimately kill the infected cells. Based on these characteristics viruses have great potential in cancer therapy. Clinical studies on oncolytic (cancer-killing) viruses are very promising. However, there is a significant need for optimization with regard to virus specificity and efficacy, in production methods, as well as in models for preclinical testing. Therefore, based on a clinical isolate of the Herpes simplex virus type 1 (HSV1), MAVO TheraVision is establishing a broadly applicable platform technology for combinatorial oncolytic virus-immunotherapy based on three pillars a) engineering of therapeutic virus vectors, b) production of viruses with robust and scalable methods, and c) testing using novel and meaningful preclinical in vitro and in vivo models.

Cancer is a disease that affects many of us directly or indirectly. It is the second most frequent cause of death in Germany, preceded only by cardiovascular diseases. Worldwide, about 8 million people were victims of cancer in 2018 with an increasing tendency especially because of the growing population and the increasing life-expectancy.

Conventional therapies (surgery, radio- and chemotherapy) have dominated cancer treatment over many years with moderate success. Only in the last decade have alternatives and increasingly personalized therapy concepts led to significant progress in cancer therapy. Very promising approaches include immunotherapies and oncolytic viruses. With the help of these treatments, it is the goal to reduce side effects that arise with conventional therapies, to increase the number of patients who respond to therapy, as well as to achieve sustainable, long-lasting therapy success. 

Although, it has long been known that viruses can kill cancer cells, their therapeutic potential has only come into focus in the last decade. First results of preclinical and clinical studies with oncolytic viruses are promising. A HSV1-based virus called Imlygic® was approved in 2015 by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as the first oncolytic viral therapeutic for the treatment of malignant melanomas. Subsequently, it was approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA). This breakthrough has a stimulating effect on the development of new viral therapeutics. So called immunomodulators, particularly in the form of immunocheckpoint-inhibitors, are in the focus of research and development as an alternative to virus therapies.  Currently, combining immunomodulatory therapies with alternative treatment approaches is stirring up hope. Especially, the combination of virus and immune therapies by co-application of these treatment forms is a promising possibility. It is currently being tested in first clinical studies.

In the present project, an oncolytic platform virus was developed. By integrating transgenes in the virus vector it is possible to express immunomodulators in the cancer cells during virus multiplication. Thus, the groundwork has been lain for combinatorial virus-immunotherapy where at the site of infection both forms of treatment can function in a concentrated and synergistic way. It is expected that this highly-innovative combination therapy will effectively, safely, and sustainably kill tumors as well as metastases and at the same time minimize the risk of systemic side effects.

The aim of MAVO TheraVision is to establish a broadly applicable platform technology for combinatorial oncolytic virus-immunotherapy based on three pillars i) engineering of next generation therapeutic Herpes simplex virus type 1 (HSV1)-vectors, ii) development of suitable production procedures for the use  of viruses as pharmaceutical agents, and iii) testing using novel and meaningful preclinical models. An oncolytic virus is being developed as a proof of concept study to treat non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC), which has a high mortality rate.

 

Vector / Virus Engineering

A clinical isolate with high potency and acyclovir sensitivity was chosen to establish an HSV1-platform virus. The HSV1-isolate’s genome was cloned as a bacterial artificial chromosome(BAC) in E. coli to make easy and targeted manipulations using bacterial genetics possible. The reconstructed viruses from these BACs had comparable growth characteristics to the clinical isolate. Two insertion sites were identified in the herpes viral genome to integrate the foreign genes into this HSV1-BAC. The result was the so called platform vector used for modular insertion of foreign genes and thus for the diverse functionalization of the virus. Potent functionalized viruses develop as a result of the insertion of transgenes, which express the coded proteins when the virus multiplies.

 

Production Process Development

As part of MAVO TheraVision a robust and scalable production process for therapeutic viruses will be established. The project will take the necessary GMP-requirements (Good Manufacturing Practice) for the subsequent production of clinical investigational products into account. In particular, critical process parameters in up- and down-stream processing, the use of resources, and the impurity profile, as well as the stability of intermediates and of the product itself will be addressed. The virus production is based on bioreactor cultivation of adherent vero-cells on so called microcarriers. By optimizing the processes, which focus on a finely-tuned balance between cell density, infection time point, and ratio of infecting viruses and living cell number, we have achieved virus titers of up to 6x107 pfu/mL culture supernatant. The procedure is characterized by high robustness and scalability on a scale that is necessary for the clinical material required. Process-associated modeling can also help to optimize the infection and harvesting time points with regard to the target function’s yield, performance, and purity. The corresponding purification sequence will include the combined use of classic and novel chromatography materials. The total process yield reaches purified bulk amounts, which are sufficient for phase I and II clinical studies.

 

Preclinical Test Systems for a Combinatorial Virus-Immunotherapy

New preclinical models, which are as comparable as possible to the situation in the patient, are necessary to test the treatment efficacy of viruses with combined virus and immunotherapy. Proof of concept for combinatorial oncolytic virus immunotherapy will be done using the exemplary NSCLC model. 

TP3.1 in vitro 3D Tumor Model

As part of the preclinical test platform of the TheraVision-consortium, new tumor models used on intestinal tissue matrices (small intestinal submucosa with mucosa = SISmuc) are being implemented to closely test the in vivo situation. After about 10 days, models develop which have a tissue-like homeostasis. Using bioreactors, the tissue structure can be improved and the culture and therapy duration extended to several weeks. For the project, a disposable inexpensive silicon-bioreactor is being developed that can be used in S2-situations. The efficacy of the HSV1 was dose and time dependently demonstrated in a 3D lung carcinoma model in cell lines over a treatment period of three to seven days. The need for the virus optimization sought by the consortium becomes apparent by the incomplete killing of tumor cells in the deeper tissue structures. Quantification of the virus efficacy in a 3D model is possible using HE-staining, MTT-testing, and with the help of luminescence detection following luciferase-transduction.

TP3.2. Mouse Model with Tumor Cell Lines

The newly established platform virus is being tested with the help of immunodeficient mouse models with bioluminesced lung carcinoma cell lines. The luminescence is measured in the mouse with a highly sensitive light camera. Furthermore, transplantation of human hematopoietic stem cells into these immunodeficient mice can generate a partially functional immune system.  The combination of humanized mice with human tumor growth offers the chance to investigate effects, which are based on immune activation. All three methods have already been established with model viruses. They can now be used with the functionalized HSV1 for in vivo testing of the new therapy. In the future, this platform-testing-technology can be implemented in many different tumor therapy approaches.

TP3.3 PDX-Mouse Model

To test the efficacy of the virus directly on patient material, patient-derived xenograft (PDX) models were generated from primary tumors of patients with NSCLC. These models can be cultivated permanently, and the expression of the target molecules necessary for the virus therapy has been characterized. In addition to the transplanted PDX models, hematopoietic stem cells from umbilical cord blood samples were injected into immunodeficient animals to generate an additional human immune system (humanized mice).  Using these models, the efficacy of the oncolytic viruses including immune modulatory effects on primary tumors and metastases in the presence of human immune cells (especially T-cells) can now be analyzed directly on patient material.

 

Company / Institution

Contact

Address

Website

Fraunhofer IGB

Prof. Dr.

Susanne Bailer

Nobelstr. 12

D-70569 Stuttgart

Phone +49 (0)711 970 4180

Susanne.Bailer[at]igb.fraunhofer.de

www.igb.fraunhofer

Fraunhofer ITEM

Braunschweig

Dr. Kathrin Bohle

Inhoffenstr. 7

D-38124 Braunschweig

Phone +49 (0)531 6181-6346

kathrin.bohle[at]item.fraunhofer.de

www.item.fraunhofer.de

Fraunhofer ITWM

Prof. Dr.

Karl-Heinz Küfer

 

Fraunhofer-Platz 1

D-67663 Kaiserslautern

Phone +49 (0) 631 31600 4491

Karl-Heinz.Kuefer[at]itwm.fraunhofer.de

www.itwm.fraunhofer.de/opt

Fraunhofer ISC

Dr. Gudrun Dandekar

 

Röntgenring 11

D-97070 Würzburg

Phone +49 (0)931 31 82597

gudrun.dandekar[at]isc.fraunhofer.de

www.isc.fraunhofer.de/opt

Fraunhofer IZI

Dr. Thomas Grunwald

Perlickstrasse 1

D-04103 Leipzig

Phone: +49 (0)341/35536 5423

thomas.grunwald[at]izi.fraunhofer.de

www.izi.fraunhofer.de

 

Fraunhofer ITEM

Regensburg

Dr. Christian Werno

Am Biopark 9 

D-93053 Regensburg

Phone +49 (0) 941 298480 - 51

christian.werno[at]item.fraunhofer.de

www.item.fraunhofer.de

Theravision – Plattformtechnologie zur Entwicklung, Herstellung und Testung von Viren zur Tumortherapie

Viren sind fähig, effizient in Zellen einzudringen, darin eigene Proteine herzustellen, sich zu vermehren und schließlich die von ihnen infizierten Zellen abzutöten. Aufgrund dieser Eigenschaften haben Viren großes Potential in der Krebstherapie. Klinische Studien mit onkolytischen (krebszerstörenden) Viren sind vielversprechend, jedoch besteht erheblicher Optimierungsbedarf hinsichtlich Spezifität und Wirksamkeit der Viren, bei Verfahren zu ihrer Herstellung sowie bei Modellen zur präklinischen Testung. Im Rahmen der MAVO TheraVision wird daher auf Basis eines klinischen Isolates des Herpes Simplex Virus 1 (HSV1) eine breit einsetzbare Plattformtechnologie zur kombinierten onkolytischen Virus-Immuntherapie mit den drei Säulen a) Engineering von therapeutischen Virus-Vektoren, b) Herstellung der Viren mit robusten und skalierbaren Verfahren und c) Testung mittels neuer und aussagefähigerer präklinischer in vitro und in vivo Modelle entwickelt.

Krebs ist eine Krankheit, die viele von uns direkt oder indirekt betrifft. In Deutschland stellt Krebs nach den Herz-Kreislauferkrankungen die zweithäufigste Todesursache dar. Weltweit waren im Jahr 2018 ca. 8 Millionen Menschen Opfer von Krebs, mit zunehmender Tendenz insbesondere durch die wachsende Bevölkerung und die steigende Lebenserwartung.

Über lange Jahre dominierten konventionelle Therapieformen (Chirurgie, Radio- und Chemotherapie) mit mäßigem Erfolg die Behandlung von Krebserkrankungen. Erst im letzten Jahrzehnt konnten alternative und immer stärker personalisierte Therapie-Konzepte erhebliche Fortschritte in der Krebsbehandlung erzielen. Zu den großen Hoffnungsträgern gehören Immuntherapien und onkolytische Viren. Mit Hilfe dieser Therapieansätze sollen Nebenwirkungen, wie sie bei konventionellen Ansätzen auftreten, reduziert, die Anzahl der auf die Therapie ansprechenden Patienten erhöht sowie nachhaltige, langfristige Therapieerfolge erzielt werden.

Obwohl die Fähigkeit von Viren, Krebszellen abzutöten, seit langem bekannt ist, ist ihr therapeutisches Potential erst im letzten Jahrzehnt in den Fokus gerückt. Erste Ergebnisse aus präklinischen und klinischen Studien mit onkolytischen Viren sind vielversprechend. Ein HSV1-basiertes Virus, genannt Imlygic®, erhielt 2015 als erstes onkolytisches Virustherapeutikum die Zulassung von der Food and Drug Administration (FDA) zur Therapie des malignen Melanoms, und wurde in Folge von der European Medicines Agency (EMA) anerkannt. Dieser Durchbruch wirkt stimulierend auf die Entwicklung neuer viraler Therapeutika. Als eine Alternative zur Virustherapie stehen sogenannte Immunmodulatoren insbesondere in Form von Immuncheckpoint-Inhibitoren im Fokus der Forschung und Entwicklung. Aktuell besteht große Hoffnung in der Kombination von immunmodulatorischen Therapien mit alternativen Therapieansätzen. Insbesondere die Kombination aus Virus- und Immuntherapien durch Co-Applikation dieser Therapieformen stellt eine aussichtsreiche Alternative dar und wird derzeit in ersten klinischen Studien untersucht.

Im Rahmen des vorliegenden Projekts wurde ein onkolytisches Plattform-Virus entwickelt. Durch Integration von Transgenen in den Virusvektor ist es gelungen, Immunmodulatoren während der Virusvermehrung in Krebszellen zu exprimieren. Damit sind die Grundlagen für eine kombinierte Virus-Immuntherapie gelegt, bei der beide Therapieformen am Ort der Infektion konzertiert und synergistisch wirken können. Von dieser hochinnovativen Kombinationstherapie wird erwartet, dass sie eine effektive, sichere und nachhaltige Zerstörung von Tumoren sowie Metastasen ermöglicht und gleichzeitig die Gefahr von systemischen Nebenwirkungen minimiert.

Das Ziel der MAVO TheraVision ist die Etablierung einer breit einsetzbaren Plattformtechnologie zur kombinierten onkolytischen Virus-Immuntherapie auf Basis der drei Säulen i) Engineering der nächsten Generation therapeutischer Herpes Simplex Virus 1 (HSV1)-Vektoren, ii) Entwicklung geeigneter Herstellungsverfahren zum Einsatz der Viren als pharmazeutische Wirkstoffe und iii) Testung mittels neuer und aussagefähigerer präklinischer Modelle. Als proof of concept ist ein onkolytisches Virus zur Therapie des nicht-kleinzelligen Lungenkarzinoms (Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer; NSCLC), welches mit einer hohen Mortalitätsrate einhergeht, in Entwicklung.

Engineering eines Vektors / Virus

Zur Etablierung eines HSV1-Plattformvirus wurde ein klinisches Isolat mit hoher Potenz und Acyclovir-Sensitivität ausgewählt. Das Genom dieses HSV1-Isolats wurde als bakterielles Riesenchromosom (BAC; bacterial artificial chromosome) in E. coli kloniert, um es damit der einfachen und gezielten Manipulation durch bakterielle Genetik zugänglich zu machen. Aus diesen BACs rekonstitutierte Viren waren in ihren Wachstumseigenschaften dem klinischen Isolat vergleichbar. Zur Integration von Fremdgenen in diesen HSV1-BAC wurden zwei Insertionsstellen im herpesviralen Genom identifiziert. Das Resultat war der sogenannte Plattform-Vektor zur modularen Insertion von Fremdgenen und damit zur vielfältigen Funktionalisierung des Virus. Bei Insertion von Transgenen entstehen potente funktionalisierte Viren, die bei ihrer Vermehrung die kodierten Proteine exprimieren.

Entwicklung eines Herstellungsprozesses

Im Rahmen des MAVO TheraVision wird ein robustes und skalierbares Herstellungsverfahren für therapeutische Viren etabliert, das die nötigen GMP-Anforderungen (Good Manufacturing Practice) für die spätere Herstellung des klinischen Prüfpräparats berücksichtigt. Insbesondere werden hier kritische Prozessparameter im Up- und Downstream Processing, der Einsatz von Rohstoffen, das Verunreinigungsprofil, sowie die Stabilität von Intermediaten und des Produktes selbst adressiert. Die Virusproduktion basiert auf der Bioreaktorkultivierung von adhärenten Vero-Zellen auf sogenannten Microcarriern. Durch eine optimierte Prozessführung, in deren Fokus die abgestimmte Balance aus Zelldichte, Infektionszeitpunkt und Verhältnis infizierender Viren zur Lebendzellzahl steht, ist es gelungen Virustiter von bis zu 6x107 pfu/mL Kulturüberstand zu erreichen. Das Verfahren zeichnet sich durch hohe Robustheit und Skalierbarkeit in den für den klinischen Materialbedarf erforderlichen Maßstab aus. Prozessbegleitende Modellierungen können zudem dabei unterstützen, den Infektionszeitpunkt und den Erntezeitpunkt bezüglich der Zielfunktionen Ertrag, Leistung und Reinheit zu optimieren. Die korrespondierende Aufreinigungssequenz sieht den kombinierten Einsatz aus klassischen und neuartigen Chromatographiematerialien vor. Die Gesamtausbeute des Prozesses erreicht Purified Bulk Mengen, die für klinische Studien der Phasen I und II ausreichend sind.

 

Präklinische Testsysteme für eine kombinierte Virus-Immuntherapie

Zur Testung der Therapieeffekte von Viren mit kombinierter Virus- und Immuntherapie sind neue präklinische Modelle erforderlich, welche möglichst vergleichbar mit der Patientensituation sind. Der proof of concept für die kombinierte onkolytische Virus-Immuntherapie soll am Beispiel des NSCLC erbracht werden.

TP3.1 in vitro 3D Tumormodell

Zur in vivo-nahen Testung werden innerhalb der präklinischen Testplattform des TheraVision-Konsortiums neuartige Tumormodelle auf einer intestinalen Gewebe-Matrix (Small Intestinal Submucosa with mucosa = SISmuc) eingesetzt. Nach etwa zehn Tagen entstehen Modelle mit einer gewebeähnlichen Homöostase. Durch Bioreaktoren kann der Gewebeaufbau verbessert und die Kultur- und Therapiedauer bis zu einigen Wochen verlängert werden. Für das Projekt wird ein Silikon-Bioreaktor entwickelt, der als Einwegreaktor kostengünstig im S2-Bereich einsetzbar ist. Die Wirksamkeit des HSV1 konnte im 3D Lungenkarzinommodell an Zelllinien dosis- und zeitabhängig in einem Therapiezeitraum von drei bis sieben Tagen demonstriert werden. Der Bedarf der im Konsortium angestrebten Optimierung des Virus wird durch eine unvollständige Abtötung der Tumorzellen in tieferen Gewebestrukturen verdeutlicht. Quantifizierungen der Viruswirksamkeit im 3D Modell sind anhand von HE-Färbungen, MTT-Testung und mit Hilfe von Lumineszenz-Detektion nach Luciferase-Transduktion möglich.

TP3.2. Mausmodelle mit Tumorzelllinien

Das neu etablierte Plattform-Virus wird mit Hilfe von immundefizienten Mausmodellen mit biolumineszenten Lungenkarzinom-Zelllinien, welche mit einer hoch-sensitiven Lichtkamera in der Maus nachgewiesen werden können, getestet. Des Weiteren kann durch die Transplantation von humanen hämatopoetischen Stammzellen in diese immundefizienten Mäuse ein teilweise funktionelles humanes Immunsystem generiert werden. Die Kombination aus humanisierten Mäusen mit einem humanen Tumorwachstum bietet die Möglichkeit, auch Effekte, die auf einer Immunaktivierung beruhen, zu untersuchen. Alle drei Testverfahren wurden bereits mit Modellviren etabliert, um nun das funktionalisierte HSV1 für die in vivo Testung des neuen Therapieverfahrens einzusetzen. Diese Plattform-Testverfahren-Technologie kann zukünftig für diverse Tumortherapieansätze eingesetzt werden.

TP3.3 PDX-Mausmodell

Um die Wirksamkeit der Viren direkt an Patientenmaterial zu testen, wurden patient-derived xenograft (PDX) Modelle aus Primärtumoren von NSCLC Patienten generiert. Diese Modelle können dauerhaft kultiviert werden und wurden in Bezug auf die Expression der für die Virustherapie notwendigen Zielmoleküle charakterisiert. Zusätzlich zu den transplantierten PDX Modellen wurden hämatopoetische Stammzellen aus Nabelschnurblutproben in immundefiziente Tiere injiziert, um so zusätzlich ein humanes Immunsystem zu generieren (humanisierte Mäuse). Mittels dieser Modelle kann nun die Wirksamkeit der onkolytischen Viren inklusive immunmodulatorischer Effekte auf Primärtumore und Metastasen in Anwesenheit humaner Immunzellen (insbesondere T-Zellen) direkt an Patientenmaterial analysiert werden. 

 

Firma/ Institut

Ansprechpartner

Adresse

Webseite

Fraunhofer IGB

Prof. Dr.

Susanne Bailer

Nobelstr. 12

D-70569 Stuttgart

Tel: +49 (0)711 970 4180

Susanne.Bailer@igb.fraunhofer.de

www.igb.fraunhofer

Fraunhofer ITEM

Braunschweig

Dr. Kathrin Bohle

Inhoffenstr. 7

D-38124 Braunschweig

Tel: +49 (0)531 6181-6346

kathrin.bohle@item.fraunhofer.de

www.item.fraunhofer.de

Fraunhofer ITWM

Prof. Dr.

Karl-Heinz Küfer

 

Fraunhofer-Platz 1

D-67663 Kaiserslautern

Tel: +49 (0) 631 31600 4491

Karl-Heinz.Kuefer@itwm.fraunhofer.de

www.itwm.fraunhofer.de/opt

Fraunhofer ISC

Dr. Gudrun Dandekar

 

Röntgenring 11

D-97070 Würzburg

Tel: +49 (0)931 31 82597

gudrun.dandekar@isc.fraunhofer.de

www.isc.fraunhofer.de/opt

Fraunhofer IZI

Dr. Thomas Grunwald

Perlickstrasse 1

D-04103 Leipzig

Tel.: +49 (0)341/35536 5423

thomas.grunwald@izi.fraunhofer.de

www.izi.fraunhofer.de

 

Fraunhofer ITEM

Regensburg

Dr. Christian Werno

Am Biopark 9 

D-93053 Regensburg

Phone: +49 (0) 941 298480 - 51

christian.werno@item.fraunhofer.de
therapy.html

www.item.fraunhofer.de