Organotypic co-culture systems

There is an increasing demand for better and more meaningful in-vitro test and model systems in biomedical research. Since pre-clinical data obtained from animal models in particular can often not be extrapolated to the human condition, it is expedient to validate at least fundamental biological parameters in human cells with organotypic systems.

The processes that are associated with cell transplantations, such as paracrine interactions, can be simulated by means of co-culture systems, where stem cells are co-cultured in vitro with the target tissue. These systems offer possibilities for analysis and evaluation both in basic research and in the development of innovative cell-based clinical applications.

There is an increasing demand for better and more meaningful in-vitro test and model systems in biomedical research. Since pre-clinical data obtained from animal models in particular can often not be extrapolated to the human condition, it is expedient to validate at least fundamental biological parameters with human cells in organotypic systems. In particular in the field of personalized medicine, there is an urgent need for investigations into cell-tissue interactions in the context of cell transplantations to understand the impact and fate of the donor cells.

The frequently observed benefit of a treatment with stem cells seems to depend to a considerable degree on paracrine interactions between the stems cells and the recipient’s tissue and immune system. These processes can be simulated by means of co-culture systems, where stem cells are co-cultured in vitro with the target tissue. Two different experimental systems are available for this:

I. To study direct interactions between cells and tissue, these are co-cultured, so that actual cell-cell contacts can be analyzed.

II. To enable investigation of paracrine interactions via soluble growth factors, cells and tissue are cultured in a two-chamber system with a porous membrane. This allows for signal crosstalk of stem cells and tissue cells, which can be studied in detail by analyzing the culture medium.

Recently published experimental data have already demonstrated that xenogenic co-culture of different adult stem cell populations with rat brain biopsies induces neuronal differentiation of the stem cells, enabled by the release of growth factors by both stem cells and brain cells (1). In addition, the co-culture was found to cause an increased release of immunomodulatory and angiogenic cytokines by the stem cells. This is beneficial in the context of cell-based therapeutic strategies, as the transplanted cells can expedite wound healing and/or angiogenesis. 

An adaptation of the system to other tissue and cell types is principally possible, although each new tissue requires additional development and adjustment steps. Numerous techniques, methods, and tools have been developed for this at the Fraunhofer EMB and, thanks to many years of experience, scientists of this research institution have managed to successfully culture even critical tissue and organs, such as heart and liver. Furthermore, besides stem and progenitor cells they can meanwhile cryoconserve also tissue samples (e.g. skin), so that the availability of these systems can be guaranteed independently of the delivery of donor tissue.

These co-culture models thus offer possibilities for analysis and evaluation that may give valuable insights both in basic research and in the development of innovative cell-based clinical applications. 

Literature:

(1) Petschnik AE, Fell B, Tiede S, Habermann JK, Pries R, Kruse C, Danner S. A novel xenogenic co-culture system to examine neuronal differentiation capability of various adult human stem cells. PLoS One. 2011;6(9):e24944.

Organotypische Ko-Kultursysteme

In der biomedizinischen Forschung ist der Bedarf an besseren und aussagekräftigeren In-vitro-Test- und Modellsystemen gestiegen. Nachdem vor allem präklinische Daten, die in Tiermodellen erzeugt wurden, häufig nicht auf den Menschen übertragbar sind, erscheint es sinnvoll, zumindest grundlegende biologische Parameter mit humanen Zellen in organotypischen Systemen zu validieren.

Die Vorgänge bei Zelltransplantationen, u. a. parakrine Wechselwirkungen, können mit Ko-Kultur-Systemen, in denen man die Stammzellen mit dem Zielgewebe in vitro ko-kultiviert, simuliert werden. Sie bieten Analyse- und Evaluierungsmöglichkeiten sowohl für die biologische Grundlagenforschung wie auch für die Entwicklung innovativer klinischer Zellapplikationen.

In der biomedizinischen Forschung ist der Bedarf an besseren und aussagekräftigeren In-vitro-Test- und Modellsystemen gestiegen. Nachdem vor allem präklinische Daten, die in Tiermodellen erzeugt wurden, häufig nicht auf den Menschen übertragbar sind, erscheint es sinnvoll, zumindest grundlegende biologische Parameter mit humanen Zellen in organotypischen Systemen zu validieren. Vor allem im Bereich der individualisierten Medizin werden Untersuchungen zur Zell-Gewebeinteraktion im Falle von Zelltransplantationen dringend benötigt, um Aussagen über die Wirkung und den Verbleib der Spenderzellen zu treffen.

Der häufig beobachtete Nutzen einer Stammzelltherapie scheint nicht unwesentlich von parakrinen Wechselwirkungen der Stammzellen mit dem Gewebe und dem Immunsystem des Empfängers zusammenzuhängen. Eine Simulation dieser Vorgänge bieten Ko-Kultur-Systeme, in denen die Stammzellen mit dem Zielgewebe in vitro ko-kultiviert werden. Dies kann in zwei verschiedenen experimentellen Systemen bewerkstelligt werden:

I. Um eine direkte Interaktion der Zellen mit dem Gewebe zu untersuchen, werden diese direkt miteinander ko-kultiviert, so dass echte Zell-Zell-Kontakte analysiert werden können.

II. Um eine parakrine Interaktion über lösliche Wachstumsfaktoren untersuchen zu können, werden Zellen und Gewebe in einem Zwei-Kammer-System mit poröser Membran kultiviert. Hier kann ein Signal-Austausch der Stammzellen und Gewebezellen stattfinden und durch Untersuchung des Kulturmediums umfassend analysiert werden.

Anhand von kürzlich publizierten experimentellen Daten konnte bereits gezeigt werden, dass eine xenogene Ko-Kultur von verschiedenen adulten Stammzellpopulationen mit Biopsien des Rattenhirns eine neuronale Differenzierung der Stammzellen induziert, was über die Sekretion von Wachstumsfaktoren der Stammzellen und Hirnzellen ermöglicht wird (1).

Weiterhin konnte dokumentiert werden, dass die Ko-Kultur eine verstärkte Ausschüttung  immunmodulatorischer und angiogenetisch wirksamer Zytokine durch die Stammzellen bewirkt. Dies ist im Kontext von Zell-basierten Therapiestrategien vorteilhaft, da die transplantierten Zellen die Wundheilung und/oder die Gefäßneubildung beschleunigen können.

Eine Adaption des Systems für weitere Gewebe- und Zelltypen ist prinzipiell möglich, muss aber für jedes neue Gewebe entsprechend entwickelt und angepasst werden. Hierfür hat die Fraunhofer EMB zahlreiche Techniken, Methoden und  Werkzeuge entwickelt und konnte dank langjähriger Erfahrung selbst kritische Gewebe und Organe, wie Herz oder Leber, erfolgreich kultivieren. Zusätzlich können inzwischen neben Stamm- und Progenitorzellen sogar Gewebeteile (z. B. Haut) kryokonserviert werden, um die Verfügbarkeit dieser Systeme auch unabhängig vom Lieferzeitpunkt der Spendergewebe zu gewährleisten.

Mit diesen Ko-Kultur-Modellen bieten sich somit Analyse- und Evaluierungsmöglichkeiten an, die sowohl für die biologische Grundlagenforschung als auch für die Entwicklung innovativer klinischer Zellapplikationen wertvolle Einblicke geben können. 

Literatur:

(1) Petschnik AE, Fell B, Tiede S, Habermann JK, Pries R, Kruse C, Danner S. A novel xenogenic co-culture system to examine neuronal differentiation capability of various adult human stem cells. PLoS One. 2011;6(9):e24944.