PlantsProFood – biofunctional food ingredients

Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences

Lupine seeds – source of nutritionally valuable food ingredients.
© Fraunhofer ITEM

PlantsProFood – Isolation of biofunctional “Food Ingredients” from lupine seeds for the food industry

Companies and research organizations have joined in the group PlantsProFood to focus on developing new food ingredients from regional blue sweet lupines (Lupinus angustifolius). The production of highly functional lupine protein isolates and fiber makes it possible for food producers to develop innovative plant derived food.

Lupine protein isolate from blue sweet lupine is superior to classic products from soy and domestic legumes. They solve taste and texture problems of classic products. In addition, they offer many unique characteristics, because worldwide there is currently no production of genetically engineered lupines. The core growth PlantsProFood was initiated with the support of BioCon Valley, the Network for Life Science, and the health economy of the state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. It will be funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) until 2013.

Strengthening of the domestic agriculture and food industry: Variety development, development of new innovative foods and food ingredients.

Blue sweet lupine seeds contain valuable protein and fiber. Ten businesses and four research organizations are involved in the regional core growth project PlantsProFood to make a broad application possible.

Blue sweet lupines are considered high in protein with a content of 35 %. Currently they are used mainly as a green fertilizer and feed crop. In contrast to soybean protein plants, its high cultivatable potential allows variety optimization without gene engineering. Sweet lupines are also of interest because they can be excellently grown in the Central European climate. Especially the light soil in the Mecklenburg-Vorpommern region offers ideal prerequisites.

The goal of the research project PlantsProFood is to prepare the industrial processing of lupines and to establish new application potentials. Aside from variety breeding optimization, gentle technical procedures are being developed to obtain functional protein isolates and fiber concentrates. Various project partners are working on product development of lupine protein foods such as sausages, pasta, and baked goods.

The project is being funded in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern as part of the innovation initiative “Neue Länder” of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research BMBF. The competitiveness of local farms and the food processing industry are supported by the use of domestic raw materials to isolate new food ingredients.

The research project is divided into seven group projects:

  • LUPIROH – New blue sweet lupine varieties as raw materials for the food industry (two project partners)
  • LUPIING – Development of a facility to prepare and extract ingredients from lupine seeds and to modify protein isolates (six project partners)
  • LUPIWURST – Development of low fat sausages as well as vegetarian sausage and meat surrogates (two project partners)
  • LUPIFEIN – Development of lupine protein based food emulsions (two project partners)
  • LUPIPASTA – Development of lupine protein based pasta (two project partners)
  • LUPIBACK – Development of lupine protein based baked goods (two project partners)
  • LUPISENS – Method development for the sensory evaluation of lupine based foods (one project partners)


Prolupin Ltd., a spin-off-company of the Fraunhofer-Institute for Process Engineering and Packaging plays an important role in the core growth. The Prolupin Ltd. manages the group project LUPIING. This new enterprise is currently building a pilot facility to process lupines. After this group project has been completed, it will implement the lupine technology at an industrial scale.

You can find further information on this research project at www.plantsprofood.eu

- Variety development: Only European-wide breeding research i.e.

  • Unique breeding material
  • Seed propogation
  • Seed marketing and culture consulting

- Protein isolate production: Patent for blue lupine protein especially for ice cream

  • Spin-off with patent-usage rights
  • Facility for protein production

- Food production: Food design (registered design)

  • Process and product tolerance
  • GMO-free
  • Modern (soft & smooth)
  • Without eggs, casein, meat
  • Positive ecobalance

ProLupin GmbH
Katrin Petersen
Seestraße 7a
D-17033 Neubrandenburg

www.prolupin.de

PlantsProFood – biofunktionelle Food Ingredients

Im Bündnis PlantsProFood haben sich Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen der Agrar- und Lebensmittelindustrie aus Mecklenburg-Vorpommern mit dem Ziel zusammengeschlossen, eigene Kompetenzen zur Gewinnung neuer Lebensmittelzutaten aus heimischen Rohstoffressourcen der Blauen Süßlupine (Lupinus angustifolius) zu fokussieren. Die Gewinnung hochfunktioneller Lupinenproteinisolate und Ballaststoffe versetzt die Lebensmittelproduzenten in die Lage, innovative pflanzenbasierte Lebensmittel zu entwickeln.

Lupinenproteinisolate aus Blauen Süßlupinen sind als Lebensmittelzutat den klassischen Produkten aus Soja und einheimischen Leguminosen überlegen. Sie lösen bestehende Probleme hinsichtlich Geschmack und Konsistenz und bieten aufgrund der Tatsache, dass es derzeit weltweit keine Produktion gentechnisch veränderter Lupinen gibt, eine Vielzahl an Alleinstellungsmerkmalen. Der Wachstumskern PlantsProFood wurde mit Unterstützung von BioCon Valley, dem Netzwerk für Life Science und Gesundheitswirtschaft des Landes Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, initiiert und wurde bis 2013 vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gefördert.


Stärkung der heimischen Agrar- und Lebensmittelindustrie: Sortenentwicklung, Entwicklung von neuen, innovativen Lebensmitteln und Lebensmittelzutaten

Der Samen der Blauen Süßlupine enthält wertvolle Proteine und Ballaststoffe. Um diese für eine breite Anwendung nutzbar zu machen, engagieren sich zehn Wirtschaftsunternehmen und vier Forschungseinrichtungen aus Mecklenburg-Vorpommern im regionalen Wachstumskern-Verbundvorhaben PlantsProFood.

Die Blaue Süßlupine gilt mit 35 % Proteingehalt als besonders eiweißreich. Bisher wird sie vorwiegend als Gründüngungs- und Futterpflanze genutzt. Ihr hohes züchterisches Potenzial lässt im Gegensatz zur Eiweißpflanze Soja eine Sortenoptimierung ohne Gentechnik zu. Interessant macht die Süßlupine auch, dass sie hervorragend im mitteleuropäischen Klima angebaut werden kann. Gerade die leichten Ackerböden in der Region Mecklenburg-Vorpommern bieten optimale Voraussetzungen.

Ziel des Forschungsprojektes PlantsProFood ist es die industrielle Lupinenverarbeitung vorzubereiten und neue Verwendungspotenziale im Lebensmittelbereich zu erschließen. Neben der züchterischen Sortenoptimierung werden schonende technische Verfahren zur Gewinnung der funktionellen Proteinisolate und Ballaststoffkonzentrate entwickelt. Verschiedene Projektpartner arbeiten an der Produktentwicklung lupinenproteinbasierter Lebensmittel, wie z. B. Wurst-, Back- und Teigwaren.

Das Projekt wird im Rahmen der Innovationsinitiative »Neue Länder« des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung BMBF in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern gefördert. Mit der Nutzung heimischer Rohstoffe zur Gewinnung neuer Lebensmittelzutaten wird die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit regional ansässiger Landwirtschaftsbetriebe und der verarbeitenden Lebensmittelindustrie gestärkt.

Das Forschungsvorhaben unterteilt sich in sieben Verbundprojekte:

  • LUPIROH – neue Sorten der Blauen Süßlupine als Rohstoff für die Lebensmittelindustrie (zwei Projektpartner)
  • LUPIING – Entwicklung einer Anlage zur Aufbereitung und Extraktion von Lupinensamen sowie zur Modifikation von Proteinisolaten (sechs Projektpartner)
  • LUPIWURST – Entwicklung fettarmer Brüh- und Kochwürste sowie pflanzlicher Wurst- und Fleischsurrogate (zwei Projektpartner)
  • LUPIFEIN – Entwicklung lupinenproteinbasierter Lebensmittelemulsionen (zwei Projektpartner)
  • LUPIPASTA – Entwicklung lupinenproteinbasierter Teigwaren (zwei Projektpartner)
  • LUPIBACK – Entwicklung lupinenproteinbasierter Back- und Konditoreiwaren (zwei Projektpartner)
  • LUPISENS – Methodenentwicklung zur sensorischen Bewertung lupinenbasierter Lebensmittel (ein Projektpartner)


Eine zentrale Rolle im Wachstumskern kommt der Prolupin GmbH, einem Spin-off-Unternehmen des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Verfahrenstechnik und Verpackung IVV, zu. Die Prolupin GmbH leitet das Verbundprojekt LUPIING. Das junge Unternehmen errichtet momentan eine Pilotanlage zur Lupinenverarbeitung und wird im Anschluss an das Verbundvorhaben die industrielle Umsetzung der Lupinentechnologie im größeren Maßstab realisieren.

- Sortenentwicklung: Einzige europaweite Züchtungsforschung, d. h.

  • Einzigartiges Zuchtmaterial
  • Saatenvermehrung und –vertrieb
  • Vermarktung von Saatgut und Anbauberatung

 

- Proteinisolatgewinnung: Patent für Proteine aus Blauen Lupinen speziell für Speiseeis

  • Spin-off mit Patent-Nutzungsrechten
  • Anlage zur Proteingewinnung

 

- Lebensmittelgewinnung: Lebensmitteldesign (Gebrauchsmuster)

  • Prozess- und Produktverträglichkeit
  • GMO-frei
  • Zeitgemäß (soft & smooth)
  • Verzicht Ei, Kasein, Fleisch
  • Positive Ökobilanz


ProLupin GmbH
Katrin Petersen
Seestraße 7a
D-17033 Neubrandenburg

www.prolupin.de