EcoBug

Since no chemically synthesized pesticides and fertilizers are allowed in organic farming, the Fraunhofer IGB in cooperation with partners is developing cabbage root fly repellent pellets made of cyanobacteria from the family Oscillatoriales. These bacteria have a confirmed repellent activity against the cabbage root flies.

Digestates from cow manure for example contain valuable nutrients that are essential for plant growth. The aim of the project is to process these digestates as fertilizer and to combine them with cyanobacteria biomass in pellets which repel cabbage root flies. Fertilizer-pesticide-pellets with two different cyanobacteria concentrations have already been produced. The pellets’ fertilizing effects and repellent activity have been tested and confirmed in cabbage-growing field trials.

EU project EcoBug

The use of chemically synthesized pesticides and fertilizers is not allowed in organic farming. As a result, cabbage or rape seed grown according to the guidelines of organic farming are often plagued by cabbage root flies, a common pest. This causes great damage in crop yield.

Digestates contain valuable plant nutrients such as nitrogen, phosphorous, and potassium that are essential for plant growth. In addition there are a number of cyanobacteria, especially filamentous cyanobacteria from the Oscillatoriales family which display proven repellent activity against the cabbage root fly. By preventing the fly from depositing its eggs, it is no longer a threat to the plant.

This has led to the idea and goal of the EcoBug project of developing a new, combined product for organic farming: digestates processed to fertilizer pellets together with cyanobacteria that repel the cabbage root fly

Cultivating cyanobacteria

In flat-panel airlift (FPA) reactors developed by the Fraunhofer IGB even highly shear-sensitive microalgae can be cultivated photoautotrophically by simply using light, CO2 and mineral nutrients. In this project, processes for the repeated fed-batch as well as the continuous culture in FPA reactors were developed for the various filamentous cyanobacteria with proven repellent activity against the cabbage root fly. For the first time filamentous shear-sensitive cyanobacteria were cultivated in FPA reactors and both growth rates and the achievable biomass concentration were optimized. The most important cultivation parameter in this process is the ratio of light input by way of the reactor surface to the cell concentration in the reactor.

The digestion of cow manure and nutrient recovery

The fertilizer pellets were made with digestates from the digestion of cattle manure collected from selected organic farms. The anaerobic digestion of cattle manure to biogas was optimized in a two-step gas-lift reactor with a reactor volume of 2 x 100 liters. With only 14-day hydraulic retention time a biogas production of approx. 300 liters per kg of organic dry mass was achieved. The digestate was dried and the fertilizing qualities of the dried digestate were examined and confirmed in pot experiments with German ryegrass at the Fraunhofer IME. The advantage of ryegrass is that fructification pruning can be carried out three times within a short, three-month period. This way a high level of nutrient depletion by the plant can be attained.

Drying and pelletization

Through cultivating the cyanobacteria in the FPA reactors, we were able to produce a sufficient amount of biomass for two selected strains. These were then dried and combined with the dried manure digestate before pelletization. The cyanobacterial mass and digestate were dried with superheated steam (superheated steam dryer, SHS), developed by the Fraunhofer IGB, to form stable cyanobacterial flakes and digestate under atmospheric pressure (working temperature 120 – 160 °C, retention time 20 – 30 min). The use of superheated steam for drying provides excellent possibilities to optimize the drying process regarding drying time, energy consumption and other parameters such as product quality.

Further information:

www.ecobug.eu
→ www.igb.fraunhofer.de/en/competences/physical-process-technology/nutrients-management/ecobug-fertilizer-pellets.html

Combined fertilizer-pesticide pellets in field trials

This way we were able to create combined fertilizer-pesticide pellets with two different cyanobacteria contents. The fertilizing effects and repellent activity of the pellets were subsequently tested in field trials on cabbage fields in Hungary and Spain. Our project partners in both countries reached highly satisfying results:

kohlrabi and white cabbage plants which were fertilized with the combined pellets grew significantly better than non-fertilized plants. None of the plants fertilized with the combined pellets in the field trials were infested with the cabbage root fly.

Outlook

The positive outcome of the cabbage-growing field trials on repellent activity and fertilizing effects in Hungary and Spain has shown that now an excellent product, EcoBug-Pellets, for battling this pest is available for effective cabbage root fly control in organic farming. However, future endeavors will have to involve optimizing the various process steps in order to reduce production costs and offer the pellets at competitive prices. The fertilizer-pellet principle can also be applied to other digestates from the digestion of agricultural waste to make use of further organic residues as fertilizer pellets.

  • Naturland Verband für ökologischen Landbau e.V.
  • Felleskjøpet Agri SA
  • Associazione Italiana Agricoltura Biologica
  • Lithuanian association of ecological agriculture “Gaja”
  • Hungarian Biokultúra Federation
  • Bioskiva AS
  • Photon System Instruments
  • Haswell Moulding Technologies Ltd.
  • Siegfried Kriesten Garten- und Landschaftsbau GmbH
  • Talaš Jirí – Talaš Gardening
  • Coopaman
  • Geltz Umwelttechnologie GmbH
  • Vetek Kft.
  • Nor-tek
  • Institute of Plant Biology, Westungarische Universität
  • Heckmann Maschinenbau und Verfahrenstechnik GmbH

EcoBug

Da im Ökolandbau keine chemisch synthetisierten Pestizide oder Dünger verwendet werden dürfen, entwickelt das Fraunhofer IGB in Kooperation mit Partnern Kohlfliegen abweisende Pellets aus Cyanobakterien der Familie Oscillatoriales. Diese besitzen eine nachgewiesene Repellentaktivität gegen Kohlfliegen. Gärreste von beispielsweise Rindergülle enthalten wertvolle Nährstoffe, die für das Pflanzenwachstum essenziell sind.

Ziel des Projekts ist es, die Gärreste als Dünger aufzuarbeiten und mit Cyanobakterien­biomasse, die als Repellent gegen die Kohlfliege wirkt, in Form von Pellets zu kombinieren. Es konnten bereits kombinierte Dünger-Pflanzenschutz-Pellets mit zwei verschiedenen Cyanobakteriengehalten hergestellt werden. Die Düngewirkung und die Repellentaktivität der Pellets wurden in Feldversuchen im Kohlanbau überprüft und bestätigt.

EU-Projekt EcoBug

Im Ökolandbau dürfen keine chemisch synthetisierten Pestizide oder Dünger verwendet werden. Nach Richtlinien des Ökolandbaus angebaute Kohlsorten oder Raps werden daher recht häufig von Kohlfliegen, einem weit verbreiteten Pflanzenschädling, befallen. Dies führt mitunter zu starken Ernteeinbußen.

Gärreste enthalten wertvolle Pflanzennährstoffe wie Stickstoff, Phosphor und Kalium, die für das Pflanzenwachstum essenziell sind. Zudem gibt es eine Reihe von Cyanobakterien, insbesondere fädige Cyanobakterien aus der Familie der Oscillatoriales, die eine nachgewiesene Repellentaktivität gegen Kohlfliegen besitzen. Indem sie die Eiablage verhindern, wird der Kohl nicht vom Schädling befallen. Idee und Ziel des EcoBug-Projekts war es deshalb, ein neues, kombiniertes Produkt für den Ökolandbau zu entwickeln: Gärreste sollten als Dünger aufgearbeitet und mit Cyanobakterienbiomasse, die als Repellent gegen die Kohlfliege wirkt, in Form von Pellets kombiniert werden.

Kultivierung der Cyanobakterien

In den vom Fraunhofer IGB entwickelten Flachplatten-Airlift (FPA)-Reaktoren können auch besonders scherempfindliche Mikroalgen photoautotroph nur mit Licht, CO2 und mineralischen Nährstoffen kultiviert werden. Im Projekt wurden für verschiedene fädige Cyanobakterien mit nachgewiesener Repellentaktivität gegen Kohlfliegen Prozesse als Repeated Fed-batch als auch kontinuierliche Kultivierungen in FPA-Reaktoren entwickelt. Erstmals wurden fädige, scherempfindliche Cyanobakterien in FPA-Reaktoren kultiviert und sowohl die Wachstumsrate als auch die erzielbare Biomassekonzentration optimiert. Hier ist insbesondere die Lichtintensität auf der Reaktoroberfläche im Verhältnis zur Zellkonzentration im Reaktor der wichtigste Kultivierungsparameter.

Vergärung von Rindergülle und Nährstoffrückgewinnung

Die Pellets mit Düngewirkung wurden aus Gärresten der Güllevergärung von ausgewählten Höfen des Ökolandbaus erzeugt. Der anaerobe Abbau von Rindergülle zu Biogas wurde in einem zweistufigen Gas-Lift-Reaktor mit 2 x 100 Litern Reaktorvolumen optimiert. Bei nur 14 Tagen hydraulischer Verweilzeit wurde eine Biogasproduktion von rund 300 Litern pro kg organischer Trockenmasse erzielt. Die nicht weiter vergärbaren Reste wurden getrocknet und am Fraunhofer IME die Düngewirkung in einem Gefäßversuch mit deutschem Weidelgras untersucht und bestätigt. Weidelgras bietet den Vorteil, dass in einem relativ kurzen Zeitraum von nur drei Monaten drei Ertragsschnitte durchgeführt werden können und somit ein hoher Nährstoffentzug durch die Pflanzen erreicht werden kann.

Trocknung und Pelletierung

Durch die Kultivierung der Cyanobakterien in den FPA-Reaktoren konnte ausreichend Biomasse zweier ausgewählter Stämme produziert, diese getrocknet und vor der Pelletierung mit den getrockneten Gärresten aus der Güllevergärung vermischt werden. Die Trocknung der Cyanobakterienbiomasse und der Gärreste zu stabilen Cyanobakterienflocken und Gärresten erfolgte in einem ebenfalls am Fraunhofer IGB entwickelten Trockner mit überhitztem Dampf (SHS-Trockner, superheated steam) bei atmosphärischem Druck (Arbeitstemperatur 120–160 °C, Verweilzeit 20–30 min). Der Einsatz von überhitztem Dampf zur Trocknung bietet hervorragende Möglichkeiten, den Trocknungsprozess im Hinblick auf Trockenzeit, Energieverbrauch und weitere Parameter wie die Produktqualität zu optimieren.

Weiterführende Links:

www.ecobug.eu
www.igb.fraunhofer.de/de/kompetenzen/physikalische-prozesstechnik/naehrstoffmanagement/duengepellets.html

Kombinierte Dünger-Pflanzenschutzpellets in Feldversuchen

Auf diese Weise wurden kombinierte Dünger-Pflanzenschutz-Pellets mit zwei verschiedenen Cyanobakteriengehalten hergestellt. Die Düngewirkung und die Repellentaktivität der Pellets wurden anschließend in Feldversuchen im Kohlanbau in Ungarn und Spanien überprüft. Die Projektpartner in Ungarn und Spanien erzielten beide ein sehr positives Ergebnis: Kohlrabi und Weißkohl, die mit den kombinierten Pellets gedüngt wurden, wuchsen erheblich besser als nicht gedüngte Pflanzen. Bei keiner der im Feldversuch mit den kombinierten Pellets gedüngten Pflanzen wurde ein Befall mit Kohlfliegen festgestellt.

Ausblick

Die positiven Feldversuche im Kohlanbau zur Repellentaktivität und Düngewirkung in Ungarn und Spanien haben gezeigt, dass mit den EcoBug-Pellets ein hervorragend geeignetes Produkt für die bislang unzulängliche Schädlingskontrolle im Ökolandbau zur Verfügung steht. In Zukunft müssen allerdings die Herstellkosten der unterschiedlichen Prozessschritte noch optimiert werden, um die Pellets zu konkurrenzfähigen Preisen anbieten zu können. Das Prinzip Düngepellets ist auch auf andere Gärreste aus der Vergärung landwirtschaftlicher Abfälle übertragbar, um weitere organische Reststoffe als Düngepellets nutzen zu können.

  • Naturland Verband für ökologischen Landbau e.V.
  • Felleskjøpet Agri SA
  • Associazione Italiana Agricoltura Biologica
  • Lithuanian association of ecological agriculture “Gaja”
  • Hungarian Biokultúra Federation
  • Bioskiva AS
  • Photon System Instruments
  • Haswell Moulding Technologies Ltd.
  • Siegfried Kriesten Garten- und Landschaftsbau GmbH
  • Talaš Jirí – Talaš Gardening
  • Coopaman
  • Geltz Umwelttechnologie GmbH
  • Vetek Kft.
  • Nor-tek
  • Institute of Plant Biology, Westungarische Universität
  • Heckmann Maschinenbau und Verfahrenstechnik GmbH